Tunisia, a pioneer country in digital banking

Tunisia will soon be the first country to authorize the use of its virtual currency via an application running through Blockchain and Bitcoin. The service will deployed with the help of a partnership between the Tunisian Post and the Swiss company Monetas. Both entities use a digital register, shared on a network of connected computers. Each transaction is recorded on the register of Blockchain. This technology will enable La Poste Tunisienne to register and authenticate all monetary transactions made by users of e-dinar system, set of financial services deployed with the support of the Tunisian State.

Users of e-dinar will have a prepaid card (smart e-dinar or universal e-dinar) that can be recharged with dinars in the country’s Post Offices. They will pay for their purchases on the Internet via a computer or a smartphone, and also in shops. The Tunisian Post has obtained the authorization of the State for the collection of private savings and the associated payments operations.

The platform developed by Monetas in agreement with the Tunisian authorities allows users to pay their bills or transfer funds from user to user, with their smartphone, tablet or their computer. The costs of these transactions will remain below 0.9% of the amounts. The solvency control by Monetas reduces the commercial risk. To avoid illegal transactions, La Poste Tunisienne will control the circulation of money. Testing for this service started in October 2015 should be completed in March 2016, date of the official trade opening. The Swiss company Monetas is working with several African partners to open twelve new markets of this model in 2016. See also www.monetas.ch/  www.usine-digitale.fr/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La Tunisie, pionnière en transactions bancaires numériques

La Tunisie sera bientôt le premier pays à autoriser l’usage virtuel de sa monnaie nationale via une application fonctionnant grâce au Blockchain et au Bitcoin. Le service sera déployé grâce au concours d’un partenariat établi entre la Poste tunisienne et la société suisse Monetas. Ces deux entités utilisent un registre numérique, partagé sur un réseau d’ordinateurs connectés. Chaque transaction est enregistrée sur le registre du Blockchain. Cette technologie va permettre à La Poste tunisienne d’enregistrer et d’authentifier tous les échanges monétaires réalisés par les utilisateurs du système e-dinar, ensemble de services financiers déployés avec le soutien de l’Etat tunisien.

Les utilisateurs du e-dinar disposent d’une carte prépayée (e-dinar smart ou e-dinar universel) qui peut être rechargée avec des dinars dans les bureaux de poste du pays. Ils peuvent payer leurs achats sur Internet via un ordinateur ou un smartphone, et aussi chez les commerçants. La Poste tunisienne a obtenu l’autorisation de l’Etat pour la collecte de l’épargne des particuliers et pour les opérations de paiements associés.

La plate-forme développée par Monetas avec l’accord des autorités tunisiennes permet aux utilisateurs de payer leurs factures ou de transférer des fonds d’un utilisateur à un autre, avec leur smartphone, leur tablette ou leur ordinateur. Les coûts de ces transactions demeurent inférieurs à 0,9% des montants. Le contrôle de solvabilité assuré par Monetas permet de réduire le risque commercial. Pour éviter les transactions illégales, La Poste tunisienne contrôle la circulation de la monnaie. Les essais relatifs à ce service, commencés en octobre 2015 doivent s’achever en mars 2016, date de l’ouverture commerciale officielle. La société suisse Monetas travaille avec plusieurs partenaires africains à l’ouverture de douze nouveaux marchés de ce type en 2016. Voir aussi www.monetas.ch/  www.usine-digitale.fr/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -