Classical Press, Digital Newspaper and Digital Technics

If Gutenberg’s invention revolutionized the transmission of information and communication, it took Diderot for the whole of human knowledge can be disseminated by the Encyclopedias and then the French Revolution to the ideas brewing lead to proposals for new social and political organizations.

Certainly, the pace of history is accelerating and digital technics, with the Internet, will not make us waiting five centuries to change the world in which we live. The changes now appear continuously and company managers have difficulty making good decisions, ones that must lead to immediate improvements and to properly prepare the future. The example of current efforts by the daily press for its transformation to digital technics illustrates this.

The technology for the digital press is not complex in itself. Since typing text on the keyboard to the composition of the pages, all the difficulties of yesterday have disappeared through software and high performance computing platforms. Many jobs have been lost, without solving the basic problems of the newspaper publishers. For indeed, we must further reduce costs by means of a concentration that brings competitors (and compelled to join, sometimes – as the Digital Kiosk for Publishers). For example, CPI, a major player in printing in Europe (17 manufacturing facilities in 7 countries), chose to host his client platform, Highway, connected Interoute, so you can switch the controls to the most appropriate production units in need of its customers.

We must also increase the number of readers already oversaturated by information received on the different types of available terminals. Most newspapers and magazines now offer digital versions of their print edition as a “pdf” file. Reader can access this digital title via a subscription or purchases the file and reads his diary on his computer, his tablet or his mobile. Yet readership proves to be difficult, at least in France. The spread of digital press remains very mixed following titles and their periodicity. For daily newspapers, these sales represent on average between 2% and 3% of paper sales. What is not, it will be said, but these digital sales allow certain securities offset paper sales declines (it is however permitted to doubt). France championship is currently owned by Le Monde (13% of the distribution of newsprint). Abroad, some digital press issues represent 15% of total newspaper circulation and for some Anglo-Saxon titles, the number of digital subscriptions exceed sales of printed newspapers (Financial Times since late 2012 and The New York Times since 2015).

Several types of digital media are being tested, in some montages “global-PDF”, others “thematic sections”, with or without access to newspaper archives, subject to a small fee above 8 items per month, or a flat fee, etc.

The interactivity in digital media is an attractive mounting, but requires the presence of a expensive moderator filtering (but useful if the magazine known to use these resources).

The “Tablet” formula was presented as a way to guarantee success. Alas! It appeared in the reality, that the tablet is only suitable for some public and some types of information. Comfortable digital text reading is also possible with a computer. Ultimately, managing multiple models of custom devices is expensive and it does not necessarily increase readership.

The Digital Book performances in France are not better than those recorded recently in the United States. It seems that the media works have captivated audiences at the expense of the book, even presented in digital form. The multitude of offers in the non-standard format “liseuse” has probably caused a decline in readership expecting a best offer from Amazon (Kindle system).

French publishers of newspapers and magazines are too individualistic to share together the results of various experiments that have been tried. Each player in the publishing world is still looking for the best economic model of the future of the book. Everyone lives in a bubble and trusts to the sustainability of the book (paperback or connected). The French, obviously, do not want to believe in change!

Good digital readings on the Smart-Webzine and happy holidays to all!

Daniel BATTU
Editor

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La presse traditionnelle, le journal numérique et les techniques numériques

Si l’invention de Gutenberg a révolutionné la transmission de l’information et la communication, il a fallu attendre Diderot pour que l’ensemble du savoir humain puisse être diffusé par les Encyclopédies, puis la Révolution française pour que le brassage des idées conduise à des propositions de nouvelles organisations sociales et politiques.

Certes, le rythme de l’Histoire s’accélère et le numérique, avec l’Internet, ne nous fera pas attendre cinq siècles pour changer le monde dans lequel nous vivons. Les changements apparaissent désormais de façon continue et les responsables d’entreprise ont peine à prendre les bonnes décisions, celles qui doivent conduire à des améliorations immédiates et à préparer convenablement le futur. L’exemple des efforts actuels déployés par la presse quotidienne pour sa transformation vers le numérique illustre cette situation.

La technologie nécessaire à la presse numérique n’est pas complexe en elle-même. Depuis la frappe du texte sur le clavier à la composition des pages, toutes les difficultés d’hier ont disparu grâce à des logiciels et des plateformes informatiques très performantes. Un grand nombre d’emplois ont été supprimés, sans résoudre les problèmes de fond des éditeurs de presse. Car en effet, il faut encore réduire les coûts par une concentration de moyens qui rapproche les concurrents (et les astreint à s’associer, parfois –exemple du Kiosque Numérique des Editeurs). A titre d’exemple, CPI, un des acteurs majeurs de l’imprimerie en Europe (17 usines réparties dans 7 pays), a choisi d’héberger sa plateforme client, Highway, raccordée chez Interoute, de façon à pouvoir basculer les commandes vers les unités de production les mieux adaptées au besoin de ses clients.

Il faut aussi augmenter le nombre de lecteurs déjà sursaturés par des informations reçues sur les différents types de terminaux disponibles. La plupart des journaux et magazines proposent aujourd’hui une version numérique de leur édition papier sous la forme d’un fichier « pdf ». Le lecteur peut accéder à ce texte numérique via un abonnement ou par un achat au numéro et lire son journal sur son ordinateur, sa tablette ou son mobile. Pourtant, le lectorat se montre difficile, tout au moins en France. La diffusion de la presse numérique demeure très contrastée suivant les titres et leur périodicité. Pour les quotidiens, ces ventes représenteraient en moyenne entre 2% et 3% des ventes papier. Ce qui est peu, dira-t-on, mais ces ventes numériques permettraient à certains titres de compenser les baisses des ventes papier (il est cependant permis d’en douter). Le record de France serait actuellement détenu par le journal Le Monde (13 % de la diffusion du journal papier). A l’étranger, certaines versions numériques de presse représentent 15% de la diffusion totale des journaux et pour certains titres anglo-saxons, le nombre d’abonnements numériques peut dépasser les ventes des journaux imprimés (Financial Times depuis fin 2012 et The New York Times depuis 2015).

Plusieurs modèles de presse numérique sont actuellement expérimentées, certaines dans des montages « global-PDF », d’autres par « articles thématiques », avec ou sans accès aux archives du journal, sous réserve d’un supplément modique au-dessus de 8 articles par mois, ou d’un forfait, etc.

L’interactivité en presse numérique est un montage séduisant, mais qui exige la présence d’un filtrage modérateur coûteux (mais utile, si la revue sait en utiliser les ressources).

La formule « Tablette » avait été présentée comme une voie de succès garantie. Hélas ! Il est apparu dans les réalités, que la tablette ne convient qu’à un certain public et pour certains types d’information. Le confort de lecture des textes numériques est aussi possible sur ordinateur. Au bout du compte, la gestion de plusieurs modèles de terminaux personnalisés est coûteuse et elle ne fait pas obligatoirement augmenter le lectorat.

Les performances du Livre Numérique en France ne sont pas meilleures que celles enregistrées récemment aux Etats-Unis. Il semble que les œuvres multimédia aient séduit le public au détriment du livre, même présenté sous la forme numérique. La multitude d’offres en format « liseuse propriétaire » a sans doute provoqué un recul du lectorat qui attend de meilleures propositions d’Amazon (système Kindle).

Les éditeurs français de journaux et de magazines sont trop individualistes pour partager ensemble le résultat des diverses expériences qui ont été tentées. Chaque acteur du monde de l’édition recherche encore le meilleur modèle économique du livre de demain. Chacun vit dans sa bulle et veut croire à la pérennité du livre (broché ou relié). Les Français, c’est évident, ne veulent pas croire au changement !

Bonnes lectures numériques sur le Smart-Webzine et bonnes vacances à tous !

Daniel BATTU

Rédacteur en chef

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -