Cyber attacks on bank networks

Reuters reminds that the global network of financial messaging SWIFT suffered last June a series of hacker attacks on its subsidiaries, particularly those from Bangladesh.

According to the company eSentire, threat detection service provider and cyber management interference, attacks against small and medium enterprises, including small banks, greatly increase their defenses because cybersecurity is low compared to their larger competitors.

According to eSentire, provider of managed cyber threat detection and response services, attacks against small to midsize organizations, including small banks, have risen steeply because their cybersecurity defenses typically pale in comparison to that of their larger peers.

What is surprising is the omission from some so closely associated with the organization that SWIFT failed to address end user risk much sooner. Hackers commonly use small organizations as gateways to attack larger targets. Large enterprises should consider the risk of the end user as just as real and just as dangerous as a direct attack.

In the United States, regulators have implemented measures obliging institutions to protect themselves against risks. But the United States is one of the few countries that have formally introduced a series of measures and controls to ensure compliance. The attackers, who had knowledge of these facts have guided their actions targeting small banks in countries with limited defenses and nonexistent regulatory guidelines.

Cyber security is everyone’s responsibility and no one can ignore the growing and very real threats targeting small and medium organizations. It is obvious that the biggest risk is borne by lucrative targets such as hedge funds and alternative asset management companies.

ESentire announced that it had evidence that the Lazarus Group (the first suspect of hacker linked to North Korea suffered by Sony), had attacked not only banks in Asia, but also an American bank on Wall Street in New York, and this, several months before the hacking of banking facilities in Asia (August 2015). This confirms that the threat is not just about the US banking sites, but also secondary sites belonging to the global fund management. The attack on the SWIFT global network is another example of this evolution. See also www.reuters.com/   www.esentire.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Attaques informatiques sur les réseaux bancaires

L’agence Reuters rappelle que le réseau mondial de messagerie financière SWIFT a subi en juin dernier une suite de piratages sur ses filiales, en particulier sur celles du Bangladesh.

Selon la société eSentire, fournisseur de services de détection de menaces et d’intervention en cyber gestion, les attaques contre les petites et les moyennes entreprises, y compris les petites banques, augmentent fortement parce que leurs défenses en cybersécurité est faible par rapport à celles de leurs grands concurrents.

Ce qui est surprenant, c’est que SWIFT n’ait pas lancé de mises en garde à ses clients beaucoup plus tôt. Les pirates utilisent couramment les petites organisations comme passerelles pour attaquer des cibles plus importantes. Les grandes entreprises devraient considérer le risque de l’utilisateur final comme tout aussi réel et tout aussi dangereux qu’une attaque directe.

Aux États-Unis, les régulateurs ont mis en œuvre des mesures contraignant les institutions à se protéger contre les risques. Mais les États-Unis sont l’un des rares pays qui ont des mesures formellement introduites et une suite de contrôles pour en vérifier la conformité. Les attaquants, ayant eu connaissance de ces faits ont orienté leur action en ciblant des petites banques dans les pays présentant des défenses limitées et des directives réglementaires inexistantes.

La cybersécurité est la responsabilité de chacun et personne ne peut fermer les yeux sur les menaces croissantes et très réelles ciblant les petites et moyennes organisations. Il est évident que le plus grand risque est porté par des cibles lucratives telles que les fonds spéculatifs et les sociétés de gestion d’actifs alternatifs.

La société eSentire a fait savoir qu’elle avait la preuve que le groupe Lazarus (le premier suspect des piratages liés à la Corée du Nord dont a souffert Sony), avait attaqué non seulement des banques en Asie, mais aussi une banque américaine à Wall Street à New York, et ceci, plusieurs mois avant les piratages des sites bancaires en Asie (Août 2015). Ceci confirme que la menace ne concerne pas seulement les sites bancaires américains, mais aussi des sites secondaires appartenant à la gestion mondiale des fonds. L’attaque sur le réseau mondial de SWIFT constitue un nouvel exemple de cette évolution. Voir aussi www.reuters.com/   www.esentire.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -