The FinTech World Is Looking East

According to KPMG studies, FinTech investments in North American and European are decreasing in Q1 of 2016, and have been growing by 20% in Asia, amounting to a total of US-$ 2.7 billion. At the heart of this market is SuperCharger, Hong Kong’s leading FinTech accelerator has partnered with Let’s Talk Payment for media and startup discovery.

Asia has billions of potential customers, most of which are currently underserved by traditional financial services institutions. Secondly, there is an alignment between national policymakers and regulators in developing their local FinTech ecosystems.

The Hong Kong government is actively coordinating its strategy. Its Monetary Authority & Central Bank (HKMA) has announced the launch of Regulatory Sandbox, while the Securities Future Commission (SFC) has initiated a FinTech contact point. Investment promotion is well under way with InvestHK recently appointing a FinTech Leader. Last but certainly not least, recorded FinTech investments in the city amount to US$165 million. Hong Kong displays more maturity but also is a clear attraction point for European and American FinTech companies looking at internationalizing their businesses. Hong Kong remains a highly attractive destination, for its status as a global financial center makes it a natural beacon in the region.

Two years were necessary for giving the necessary FinTech training to corporate partners and now, their implementation phase should enter in force. Entering the Asian market properly requires a detailed planning. Market information asymmetry is high and market stages (e.g. infrastructure, regulators, etc.) are highly fragmented. This is a juncture in which accelerators plays a critical role and SuperCharger aims to place itself.

The success of SuperCharger’s first program has been marked by an avid response to application – 161 applications in Hong Kong – and Demo Days. The second program has been bolstered by an even stronger network of investment partners and decision makers. This year, SuperCharger’s Main Partners include Standard Chartered and Fidelity International, a leading bank in Asia and a global asset and fund manager respectively. The second program will commence on 9 January and conclude in April 2017 with a Demo Day in Hong Kong. See also https://supercharger.typeform.com/ https://fintechsupercharger.com/   https://letstalkpayments.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Le monde des FinTechs est orienté vers l’Asie

Selon les études effectuées par KPMG, alors que les investissements FinTech en Amérique du Nord et en Europe ont diminué au premier trimestre de 2016, ceux effectués en Asie ont augmenté de 20 % atteignant un total de 2,7 milliards de dollars. Au cœur de ce dernier marché, le FinTech de Hong Kong, SuperCharger, a établi un partenariat avec Let’s Talk Payment pour son démarrage.

L’Asie dispose des milliards de clients potentiels, encore mal desservis par les institutions financières traditionnelles. D’autre part, les décideurs nationaux et les régulateurs se coordonnent  en vue du développement des écosystèmes FinTech. A Hong Kong, le gouvernement coordonne activement la stratégie. L’Autorité monétaire et la Banque centrale (HKMA) ont annoncé le lancement de Regulatory Sandbox, tandis que la Securities Future Commission (SFC) a lancé un point de contact FinTech. La promotion des investissements est bien engagée avec InvestHK. Les investissements FinTech enregistrés à Hong Kong s’élèvent à 165 millions de dollars. Hong Kong est un point d’attraction pour les entreprises européennes et américaines. L’opportunité de marché y a toujours été présente.

Il a fallu deux ans pour convaincre les acteurs financiers et les entreprises de l’avantage des FinTechs. Aujourd’hui, il faut travailler à leur mise en œuvre. L’introduction sur le marché asiatique nécessite une planification précise. L’asymétrie de l’information sur le marché est élevée et les étapes du marché (par exemple l’infrastructure, les régulateurs, etc.) sont très fragmentées. Dans ce contexte, les accélérateurs jouent un rôle critique et chacun, y compris SuperCharger, doit parvenir à se placer.

Le succès du premier programme de SuperCharger a été marqué par une réponse avide aux applications – 161 applications à Hong Kong – et deux jours de démonstrations. Le deuxième programme a été soutenu par un réseau encore plus fort de partenaires d’investissement et de décideurs. Cette année, les principaux partenaires de SuperCharger incluent Standard Chartered et Fidelity International, une banque leader en Asie et un gestionnaire d’actifs et de fonds mondial respectivement. Le deuxième programme débutera le 9 janvier et se terminera en avril 2017 avec une journée à Hong Kong. Voir également https://letstalkpayments.com/  https://fintechsupercharger.com/  https://supercharger.typeform.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -