Gemalto Acquires 3M Identity Management

Gemalto, an expert in digital security, entered into an agreement to acquire the Identity Management business of 3M. This includes “3M Cogent”, which provides a full range of biometric solutions for civil identification, border control and police forces, and 3M’s “Document Reader” and “Secure Materials” activities.

“3M’s Identity Management” business is present on three continents as a trusted partner of governments, police forces, border control, immigration agencies and civil identification organizations around the world. It offers complete, world-class biometrics solutions that enable identity verification. Consisting of approximately 450 qualified experts, it has developed biometric algorithms (fingerprint, face, iris, etc.) that are at the forefront of innovation.

This acquisition complements Gemalto’s offer of international biometric technology and commercial biometrics. As online and mobile transactions continue to grow, new forms of multifactor authentication and identification are needed in addition to physical identity documents. The combination of technologies and means of distribution of the “Identity Management” activity of 3M and Gemalto should allow the use of trusted trust identities associated with strong biometric authentication in the various sectors of the digital economy. See also www.vipress.net/  and www.gemalto.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Gemalto acquiert l’activité Identity Management de 3M

Gemalto, expert en sécurité numérique, a conclu un accord en vue d’acquérir l’activité Identity Management de 3M. Celle-ci comprend « 3M Cogent », qui fournit un éventail complet de solutions biométriques pour l’identification civile, le contrôle aux frontières et les forces de police, et les activités « Document Reader » et « Secure Materials » de 3M.

L’activité « Identity Management » de 3M est présente sur trois continents, à titre de partenaire de confiance des gouvernements, des forces de police, des organismes de contrôle aux frontières et d’immigration et des organismes d’identification civile dans le monde. Elle offre des solutions complètes de biométrie de niveau mondial qui permettent la vérification des identités. Constituée d’environ 450 experts qualifiés, elle a développé des algorithmes de biométrie (empreinte digitale, visage, iris, etc.) en pointe en matière d’innovation.

Cette acquisition vient à la fois compléter l’offre de Gemalto en technologie biométrique internationale et en biométrie commerciale. Les transactions en ligne et sur mobile ne cessant de croître, de nouvelles formes d’authentification multifactorielles et d’identification sont nécessaires en complément des documents d’identité physiques. La réunion des technologies et des moyens de distribution de l’activité « Identity Management » de 3M et de Gemalto devrait permettre l’utilisation des identités régaliennes de confiance associées à une authentification biométrique forte dans les différents secteurs de l’économie numérique. Voir aussi www.vipress.net/  et www.gemalto.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -