The Future of the Internet of Medical Objects

Cybersecurity spending on connected medical devices remains low, but according to ABI Research they are expected to triple by 2021. The Internet of Medical Objects aims to transform healthcare through intelligent devices. However, its future is threatened if security concerns are not resolved immediately, as this would raise doubts about the quality of health care infrastructure and seriously undermine patient safety and the quality of health care delivery.

According to ABI Research, spending by healthcare providers and OEMs on health care is expected to reach $ 5.5 billion by 2016. Of this amount, only $ 390 million will be dedicated to securing medical devices. The money spent on securing medical devices will primarily be due to OEMs embedding security in the hardware, reviewing, analyzing, pen testing, developing patches, and performing OTA updates, among other functions. The rest of the expenditure will focus on data protection. But medical devices suffer from numerous vulnerabilities, and many often compound several critical vulnerabilities: code errors in software, use of hardcoded passwords, disabling of firewalls, lack of authentication mechanisms, unencrypted communications, among many other issues.

Peripheral protection requires addressing technical issues, healthcare delivery and business challenges through collaboration with industry. In any case, spending on equipment should triple overall by 2021, resulting mainly from public and private efforts. Some companies already use the cyber security of medical devices, including Battelle, Coalfire, Dräger, Extreme Networks, Sensato, Synopsys, UL and WhiteScope.

Investing in cybersecurity for the benefit of medical devices is essential to deliver the full promise of next-generation health technologies. OEMs and health care providers will participate in the foundations of cybersecurity for medical devices.

These findings are from ABI Research’s “Securing Medical Devices”. This report is part of the company’s “Digital Security sector”, which includes research, data, and analyst insights. Visit also www.abiresearch.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Le futur de l‘internet des objets médicaux

Les dépenses en cybersécurité dédiées aux dispositifs médicaux connectés demeurent faibles, mais, selon ABI Research, elles devraient être triplées d’ici 2021. L’Internet des Objets médicaux vise à transformer les soins de santé grâce à des dispositifs intelligents. Cependant, son avenir est menacé si les problèmes de sécurité ne sont pas résolus immédiatement, car cela serait susceptible d’introduire des doutes sur la qualité de l’infrastructure des soins de santé et minerait sérieusement la sécurité des patients et la qualité de prestation de soins.

Les dépenses des fournisseurs de soins de santé et des équipementiers en cybersécurité pour les soins de santé devraient atteindre 5,5 milliards de dollars d’ici 2016, selon ABI Research. Sur ce montant, seulement 390 millions de dollars seront dédiés à la sécurisation des dispositifs médicaux. Les dépenses concerneront surtout les OEM liés à la sécurité du matériel, aux examens, aux analyses, aux vérifications d’écriture, au développement des correctifs et à l’exécution des mises à jour OTA, entre autres. Les autres dépenses porteront sur la protection des données. Mais les vulnérabilités potentielles, les erreurs de code dans les logiciels, l’utilisation de mots de passe cryptés, la désactivation des pare-feu, les mécanismes d’authentification, les communications non cryptées, devraient aussi être prises en compte.

La protection des périphériques nécessite d’aborder les problèmes techniques, la prestation des soins de santé et les défis commerciaux grâce à une collaboration avec l’industrie. De toute façon, les dépenses sur les équipements devraient tripler globalement d’ici 2021, résultant principalement des efforts publics et privés. Quelques entreprises utilisent déjà la cybersécurité des dispositifs médicaux, notamment Battelle, Coalfire, Dräger, Extreme Networks, Sensato, Synopsys, UL et WhiteScope.

L’investissement en cybersécurité pour le bénéfice des dispositifs médicaux est essentiel pour offrir la pleine promesse des technologies de la santé de nouvelle génération. Les équipementiers et les fournisseurs de soins de santé participeront aux fondements de la cybersécurité pour les dispositifs médicaux.

Le rapport « Sécurisation des dispositifs médicaux » rédigé par ABI Research, est inclus dans le dossier de la sécurité numérique de l’entreprise, qui comprend aussi des informations relatives aux travaux de recherche, ainsi que des données et des analyses. Voir aussi www.abiresearch.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -