Characteristics of the Aadhaar Identity Card Project in India

AdhaarThe Aadhaar Identity Card Project in India concerns access to government and private sector services related to the control of food rations, marriage certificates, entry examinations, concessions, train tickets, mobile phone cards and banking services. This Indian ID card contains a 12-digit Aadhaar number in relation to fingerprints and the iris scan of the holder that are stored in a centralized database. As of September 2016, this database already contained biometric data for more than 1,050 million people, more than 80% of the population of India and three times the population of the United States.

India’s Unique Identification project is the world’s largest biometrics-based identity programme. Initially, the project had a limited aim – to stop theft and pilferage from India’s social welfare programmes by correctly identifying the beneficiaries using their biometrics. But now, the use of Aadhaar is expanding into newer areas, including business applications.

Aadhaar authenticates a person by matching demographic and biometric data (fingerprints, images of the face and iris of both eyes) with the records stored in the database. The social security number was never designed for authentication on a national scale. Aadhaar is linked to the holder’s biometrics, which does not do the social security number.

As per section 8 of the Aadhaar Act, requesting agencies are required to obtain the consent of individuals before collecting their identity information and inform them of what information will be shared. But as per section 47, a person whose information is collected and shared without their consent cannot invoke the criminal penalty. The Act says such a complaint can only be made by Unique Identification Authority.

The Authority retains the authentication data for six months, and archives it for five years. It also requires the requesting entities – both public agencies and private companies – to maintain the logs, including the Aadhaar number, for two years, and then archive it for five years, and even longer in case of a court order.

The purpose and use of the two identification systems of Indian citizens – Aadhaar and the social security number – are fundamentally different. Please visit http://scroll.in/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Caractéristiques du projet Aadhaar de carte d’identité en Inde

AdhaarLe projet Aadhaar de carte d’identité en Inde concerne l’accès aux services du gouvernement et du secteur privé, liés au contrôle des rations alimentaires, des certificats de mariage, des examens d’entrée, des concessions, des billets de train, des cartes téléphoniques mobiles et des services bancaires. Cette carte d’identité indienne comporte un numéro Aadhaar à 12 chiffres, en relation avec les empreintes digitales et à la numérisation de l’iris du titulaire qui sont stockées dans une base de données centralisée. En septembre 2016, cette base de données contenait déjà les données biométriques de plus de 1 050 millions de personnes, soit plus de 80% de la population de l’Inde et trois fois la population des États-Unis.

Le projet d’identification unique de l’Inde est le plus important programme d’identité biométrique au monde. A l’origine, le projet visait la lutte contre le pillage des programmes sociaux indiens en utilisant les données biométriques des bénéficiaires. Aujourd’hui, le domaine d’action d’Aadhaar a été étendu aux applications d’affaires.
Aadhaar authentifie une personne en faisant correspondre les données démographiques et biométriques (empreintes digitales, images du visage et de l’iris des deux yeux) avec les enregistrements stockés dans la base de données. Le numéro de sécurité sociale n’a jamais été conçu à des fins d’authentification à une échelle nationale. Aadhaar est lié à la biométrie du titulaire, ce que ne fait pas le numéro de sécurité sociale.

Conformément à l’article 8 de la Loi sur l’Aadhaar, les organismes indiens sont tenus d’obtenir le consentement des personnes avant de recueillir les informations d’identité et de les informer de celles qui seront communiquées. Toutefois, selon l’article 47, une personne dont les informations personnelles auraient été diffusées sans leur consentement ne peut réclamer une sanction pénale. Selon la Loi, une telle plainte ne peut être faite que par l’Autorité « Unique Identification ».

L’Autorité conserve les données d’authentification pendant six mois et les archive pendant cinq ans. Elle exige également que les entités requérantes – les organismes publics et les entreprises privées – tiennent les registres, y compris le numéro Aadhaar, pendant deux ans, puis les archivent pendant cinq ans et même plus, selon les décisions de la justice.

Le but et l’usage des deux systèmes d’identification des citoyens indiens – Aadhaar et le numéro de sécurité sociale – sont foncièrement différents.

http://scroll.in/

03 01 2017

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -