Universal access to information communications technology: Mood and stress-related challenges

Moods are essential to how people experience the world. When moods become disturbed or when people are very stressed the consequences can be profound and accompanied by considerable distress. Their ability to accurately judge others and situations, to be alerted to threats, and on the flip side, to recognise opportunities becomes somewhat compromised. A disturbance in mood can be acute when we experience overwhelming grief, sadness, anxiety or stress. Also, mood disturbances can be long lasting as is the case with those affected by mental health conditions such as depression and anxiety. This disturbance is typically triggered by upsetting life experiences ranging from a lack of sleep or minor illness to job loss or the death of a loved one.

Regardless of where an individual is positioned along this continuum their use of information communications technology (ICT) in everyday life is often essential. ICTs are an effective means of gathering information to support decision making relating to our work, travel, health and finances. These technologies also provide a useful and convenient way to maintain relationships with others and offer many opportunities to engage in recreational activities including online shopping, gaming, watching movies and listening to music.

People with mental health conditions are poised to gain even more benefit from ICTs. They use ICTs as an informational resource to learn more about their conditions and to access help when necessary. They are also increasingly using ICTs as tools for convenient monitoring and treatment of their conditions. Additionally, there are many ICT services, which enlist friends, family and others affected by these conditions, such as forums, mental health communities and social networks, that are useful platforms of support.

However, some features of ICTs can potentially produce barriers to use for people when they are experiencing a disturbance in mood or are stressed. Using ICTs can be a very cognitively demanding activity requiring the ability to quickly analyse, synthesise, evaluate and apply information. From booking an emergency flight at short notice to visit a severely ill relative to making a large last-minute financial transaction that could result in penalties if past due, online interactions can be especially difficult, even when not accounting for the distraction of adverts or perils of online fraud. Also, the lack of non-verbal and social-context cues (e.g., facial expressions) featured in ICTs provides little guidance for behaviour and can make interaction difficult for those experiencing a disturbance in mood.

As the age of automation increasingly advances and human-to-human interaction is replaced or mediated by ICTs, there is a need to reconsider the scope of the designs of the ICTs that people interact with. The focus can no longer be solely on efficiency but must also be on accommodating users when they are experiencing mood and stress-related challenges among other psychological problems. Developing appropriate standards and policies that support and encourage the protection of ICTs users when they are not feeling their best would be an important step towards improving ICT accessibility for all.

Renaldo Bernard, Intern of ITU-TSB.

Doc 294 in JCA-AHF 2017. (Extract from a study called BETTER “Web accessibility for persons with mental health conditions” prepared in partnership with the WHO). Please visit http://better-project.eu/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Accès universel aux technologies de l’information et de la communication: Effets négatifs liés à l’humeur et au stress

Les humeurs sont liées à la façon dont les gens vivent leur vie. Lorsque le moral est perturbé ou lorsque les gens sont très stressés, les conséquences peuvent être graves et cela peut engendrer une détresse considérable. La capacité à juger autrui avec clarté ou à évaluer les situations, à être alerté des menaces et, d’autre part, à reconnaître les opportunités devient un peu compromise. Une perturbation de l’humeur peut être aiguë lorsque nous éprouvons un chagrin accablant, de la tristesse, de l’anxiété ou du stress. En outre, les troubles de l’humeur peuvent être durables comme c’est le cas avec les personnes touchées par des troubles de santé mentale, telles que la dépression et l’anxiété. Cette perturbation est généralement déclenchée par des expériences de vie bouleversantes allant de l’absence de sommeil ou d’une maladie mineure à la perte d’emploi ou la mort d’un être cher.

Indépendamment de l’endroit où une personne peut se trouver dans ces circonstances, l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) dans la vie quotidienne est souvent essentielle. Les TIC sont un moyen efficace de recueillir des informations pour appuyer la prise de décisions relatives à notre travail, nos voyages, notre santé et nos finances. Ces technologies offrent également un moyen pratique de maintenir des relations avec les autres et offrent de nombreuses occasions de s’engager dans des activités récréatives, y compris les achats en ligne, les jeux, la projection de films et l’écoute de la musique.

Les personnes affectées par des problèmes de santé mentale sont encore plus disponibles pour tirer profit des TIC. Ils utilisent les TIC comme une ressource d’information pour en apprendre davantage sur leurs conditions et pour accéder à une aide personnalisée. Ils utilisent aussi de plus en plus les TIC comme outils pratiques de surveillance et de traitement de leurs conditions. En outre, il existe de nombreux services de TIC, qui les mettent en contact avec des amis, avec la famille et avec d’autres personnes touchées par ces conditions, comme les forums, les communautés de santé mentale et les réseaux sociaux, qui peuvent constituer des plates-formes de soutien utiles.

Cependant, certaines caractéristiques des TIC peuvent potentiellement créer des barrières à l’usage des personnes lorsqu’elles éprouvent une perturbation de l’humeur ou lorsqu’elles sont stressées. L’utilisation des TIC peut être une activité très exigeante sur le plan cognitif, nécessitant la capacité d’analyser, de synthétiser, d’évaluer et d’appliquer l’information rapidement. De réservation d’un vol d’urgence à court préavis pour visiter une personne gravement malade par rapport à faire une grosse transaction financière de dernière minute qui pourrait entraîner des pénalités après un délai défini, les interactions en ligne peuvent être particulièrement difficiles, même en ne tenant pas compte de la distraction des annonces ou des dangers de la fraude en ligne. En outre, l’absence de signaux non verbaux et de contextes sociaux (par exemple, les expressions faciales) présentées dans les TIC fournit peu de conseils pour le comportement et peut rendre l’interaction difficile pour ceux qui éprouvent une perturbation de l’humeur.

Au fur et à mesure que l’âge de l’automatisation progresse et que l’interaction homme-homme est remplacée ou médiatisée par les TIC, il est nécessaire de reconsidérer la portée des conceptions des TIC avec lesquelles les gens interagissent. L’accent ne peut plus être uniquement sur l’efficacité, mais doit également être sur l’accueil des utilisateurs lorsqu’ils éprouvent des problèmes d’humeur et de stress liés à d’autres problèmes psychologiques.

L’élaboration de normes et de réglementations appropriées susceptibles de protéger les utilisateurs des TIC lorsqu’ils ne sont pas au meilleur de leur forme constituerait une étape importante en faveur de l’amélioration de l’accessibilité des TIC pour tous.

Renaldo Bernard, Intern of ITU-TSB.

Doc 294 du JCA-AHF 2017. (Extrait d’une étude intitulée BETTER « Accessibilité du Web pour les personnes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale » préparée en partenariat avec l’OMS). Visiter http://better-project.eu/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -