Attack on 900,000 Deutsche Telekom users

In the afternoon of 27 November 2016, Internet connection difficulties, slowing down or stopping throughput were recorded in Germany in approximately 900,000 Deutsche Telekom subscribers. It appears that the router suffered an external attack that prevented it from connecting to the network.

Subscribers found that the connection with the help desk was not operational in several geographical areas of the country. Users were prompted to unplug and reactivate their router after 30 seconds of waiting, in order to update their router. In the event that problems are not resolved, subscribers must disconnect from the network. On Monday 28 November at 12 noon, the number of people affected fell by half, reaching around 400,000 clients.

Deutsche Telekom says that specialists in its group as well as manufacturers of routers have already worked all night from Sunday to Monday in search of a solution.

Deutsche Telekom investigates the trail of a cyberattack. The site SANS ISC InfoSec Forums evokes the vulnerability of port 7547, present on the Deutsche Telekom routers, but also on 41 million devices of different brands. If the track of a cyberattack was proven, it would be the most important piracy suffered to date.

The attacks responsible for such a widespread disruption of Internet traffic are rare. The event follows allegations made by German intelligence about international cyberattack campaigns conducted by the intelligence services for espionage or sabotage and through cyber attacks or misinformation. See also www.lefigaro.fr/  https://en.sputniknews.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Attaque informatique chez 900.000 utilisateurs de Deutsche Telekom

Au cours de l’après-midi du 27 novembre 2016, des difficultés de connexion à Internet, avec ralentissement ou arrêt du débit, ont été constatées en Allemagne chez environ 900 000 abonnés de Deutsche Telekom. Il semble que le routeur ait subi une attaque externe qui l’a empêché de se connecter au réseau.

Les abonnés ont constaté que la connexion avec le service d’assistance n’était pas opérationnel dans plusieurs zones géographiques du pays. Les utilisateurs ont été invités à débrancher et réactiver leur routeur après 30 secondes d’attente, afin de permettre la mise à jour de leur routeur. Dans le cas où les problèmes ne sont pas résolus, les abonnés doivent se déconnecter du réseau. Le lundi 28 novembre à 12 heures, le nombre de personnes touchées a diminué de moitié, pour avoisiner les 400.000 clients.

Deutsche Telekom précise que des spécialistes de son groupe ainsi que des fabricants des routeurs ont déjà travaillé toute la nuit du dimanche au lundi à la recherche d’une solution.

Deutsche Telekom enquête sur la piste d’une cyberattaque. Le site SANS ISC InfoSec Forums évoque la vulnérabilité du port 7547, présent sur les routeurs Deutsche Telekom, mais également sur 41 millions d’appareils de marques différentes. Si la piste d’une cyberattaque était avérée, il s’agirait du plus important piratage subi à ce jour.

Les attaques responsables d’une perturbation aussi généralisée du trafic Internet sont rares. L’événement fait suite aux accusations émises par les renseignements allemands au sujet de campagnes internationales de cyberattaques menées par les services secrets à des fins d’espionnage ou de sabotage et par le biais de cyberattaques ou d’actions de désinformation. Voir aussi www.lefigaro.fr/ https://fr.sputniknews.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -