Mobile & Proximity Services

All about the mobile proximity technologies: NFC as well as QR Code, Bluetooth, Cloud-based services, LBS… and their applications, services, players and products

Atlas Mara to launch mVisa across African footprint

Africa-focused financial services group Atlas Mara signed a partnership deal with Visa to launch mobile payment system mVisa into several countries across sub-Saharan Africa. London-listed Atlas Mara holds interests or controlling stakes in banks across […]

Gemalto and Microsoft facilitate connectivity of devices under Windows 10

In cooperation with Microsoft, Gemalto has upgraded its On Demand Connectivity technology and eSIM for Windows 10-based devices. This version is compatible with the latest specifications and guidelines for remote SIM card management, as validated […]

Mobile banking and small businesses

The 28 million small US companies are far from reaching the attention of mobile banking. Some FinTechs have identified the existing gaps in this market. For example, the UK start-up Monizo opens the first targeted […]

Ofcom publishes the 5G Beginner’s Guide

Mobile phones have taken an important role in everyday life. This is why the UK Ofcom has decided to publish the booklet “5G Spectrum Update in the UK”. Ofcom plays a leading role internationally in […]

Infineon joins GSMA: security and broadband expertise for mobile industry

Infineon Technologies AG has joined the GSMA, the association of the mobile industry to actively shape mobile communications of tomorrow. The GSMA unites nearly 800 mobile network operators worldwide with almost 300 companies in the […]

All RFID measurements from one box

Leveraging its UHF RFID test and measurement expertise, CISC enhanced its RFID Xplorer with latest SDR (software defined radio) technology and software to a new level of UHF RFID / RAIN RFID / EPC Gen2 […]

Progress of 4G / LTE mobile technology

LTE (Long Term Evolution) technology is often referred as” 4G” for marketing purposes. The LTE represents an advance in the flow of cellular networks, but the term “evolution” reminds us that progress is still awaited. […]

About the risk of 5G fragmentation prior to deployment

It is recalled that the fragmentation of 4G has opened several difficulties. Different specifications and implementation models have increased costs to meet individual market demands. This has complicated and slowed the progression of 4G. As […]

About the recent Bluetooth 5 standard

The Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) has officially adopted Bluetooth 5 as the latest version of the Bluetooth core specification. Key updates to Bluetooth 5 include longer range, faster speed, and larger broadcast message capacity, […]

Fraud Protection for Prepaid Cards

The Federal Reserve has issued guidance applying the Customer Identification Program (CIP) to prepaid cards in March of this year. Customers are able to reload prepaid cards, use direct deposit and in some cases, receive […]

London phone booths replaced with WiFi kiosks

Following a partnership between BT and the specialist in digital media, Intersection, ad-funded LinkUK will open high bitrate Wi-Fi kiosks in London to replace the old phone booths. This public free-of-charge Wi-Fi is in the […]

An “easy to use tablet” the perfect Christmas gift for grandparents!

Everyone is in agreement: access to the Internet has become easier thanks to ergonomic advances in portable terminals and in particular tablets. Space-saving, lightweight, connectable to public and private Wi-Fi, and sometimes in 3G cellular […]

Universal power-supply for laptops

ITU, the International Telecommunications Union, has approved an environmentally friendly standard for a universal charger for laptops and other portable devices. The new standard provides for improved energy efficiency and reduced greenhouse gas emissions and […]

LTE and 5G infrastructure to hit $32 billion by 2020

According to the recently published analysis by RnRMarketResearch agency, investment in LTE and 5G infrastructure of wireless network technology should represent a global market of $ 32 billion. This figure includes spending on distributed macrocells, […]

Improvement of the manufacturing process of silicon-on insulator (FD-SOI) over 12 nm

After 22 nm launched in 2015, the chipmaker Globalfoundries launches the actual manufacturing FD-SOI 12nm components process, which will be available from 2019 for the Internet of Things and 5G. The FD-SOI technology was developed […]

The Challenge of the 5G’s Marathon

A triple competition (technical, economic and political) is open between Europe, Asia and North America on the implementation plan of the “5G”. Who will be the most technically astute and will be the most able […]

More Than Half of Mobile Requests are Now IPv6 based

A mobile IPv6 network milestone was passed last week as Facebook and Akamai reported that more than half the requests from the four largest U.S. mobile networks were IPv6-based. IPv6 was used in around 70 […]

What category of biometrics for secure payments?

According to a study conducted for Visa in seven European countries, the majority of respondents believes that the two-factor authentication, that is to say the combination of biometrics to a payment tool (support possessed by […]

500 million mobile subscribers in Africa

According to a study published by the Association of mobile professionals, the GSMA, Africa now comprises more than half a billion of subscribers to mobile services. The mobile connectivity is actually associated with essential services […]

Fraud and insecurity in mobile communications

The specialized Working Group on Fraud and insecurity of the GSM Association (FASG) was created to study the problems related to technology GSM networks, with the objective of increasing the level of protection. FASG provides […]

Czech Republic and Poland Are Leaders in Contactless Payments

Countries have been adopting contactless slowly but two countries in the European Union stand out – the Czech Republic and Poland. These countries have adopted the system so quickly since its introduction that currently, there […]

Be Carefull: Bluetooth 5 arrives !

The Bluetooth SIG (Special Interest Group) has announced that its next release, coming late 2016 to early 2017, will be called Bluetooth 5. It will quadruple range, double speed (4 Mbps), and increase data broadcasting […]

Contactless Wristband from Gemalto for Euro 2016

On the occasion of the Euro 2016, Gemalto, expert in digital security, has developed, in cooperation with the operator of public transport, Keolis Lille, a ticket in the form of a contactless wristband. The use […]

Gemalto deploys Secure Element based applet for Mobile Payments on Wearables

Gemalto, the world expert in digital security, has provided a secure element based applet for smart wearables launched by China UnionPay Co. (CUP), one of the world’s major payment associations with total transactions reaching USD […]

Electronic Financial Transfers in the Developing World

With the fast pace of technology development and improving digital experience, electronic transfers globally are being adopted at a rapid pace. The Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP), an independent policy and research center […]

Mobile phones give a Fast track to financial activities in Sub-Saharan Africa

In sub-Saharan Africa, many customers face significant barriers to accessing financial services on mobile phones. According to the report “Financial services for everyone,” written by Ericsson ConsumerLab, in sub-Saharan Africa, more than half of consumers […]

A Thermal Imaging Smartphone

Bullitt Group, expert in rugged smartphones manufacturing will integrate the micro camera FLIR Lepton in the new Cat S60. This Android mobile terminal belongs to the range of Cat Phones rugged terminals. The Cat S60 […]

Volvo introduces virtual car key

No car key, no driving. This simple rule for generations of car drivers is approaching the end of its lifetime. At least for Volvo drivers: The Swedish carmaker plans to offer cars without keys from […]

Let us be discovering the Fintechs!

In the digital sector, new actors have emerged, the Fintechs. Fintechs are young financial services companies, experts in cryptography software, anti-fraud systems, bank card editors, which combine financial activity, new technologies and the legal aspets. […]

China UnionPay Launches Mobile Payment Solution

China UnionPay (CUP), the world’s largest bank cards issuer, enters the mobile payment space by launching QuickPass in Beijing in cooperation with over 20 commercial banks. QuickPass is powered by contactless payment technologies centered on […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Mobile & sans-contact

Les marchés des technologies sans contact et de proximité (NFC, RFID, Bluetooth, en ligne…) et leurs applications, services, acteurs et produits

Atlas Mara lance « mVisa » en Afrique

Atlas Mara, groupe de services financiers axé sur l’Afrique, a signé un accord de partenariat avec Visa pour lancer le système de paiement mobile « mVisa » dans plusieurs pays d’Afrique subsaharienne. Atlas Mara, coté à Londres, […]

Gemalto et Microsoft facilitent la connectivité des appareils sous Windows 10

En coopération avec Microsoft, Gemalto a amélioré sa technologie On Demand Connectivity et eSIM pour les appareils fonctionnant sous Windows 10. Cette version est compatible avec les dernières spécifications et directives relatives à la gestion […]

La banque mobile et les petites entreprises

Les 28 millions de petites entreprises américaines sont loin d’avoir atteint l’attention des services bancaires mobiles. Des FinTechs ont identifié les lacunes existantes de ce marché. Par exemple, la start-up britannique Monizo ouvre la première […]

Ofcom publie le guide du débutant en 5G

Les téléphones mobiles ont pris un rôle important dans la vie quotidienne. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’Ofcom britannique a jugé opportun  de publier le guide «Mise à jour relative au spectre 5G au Royaume-Uni». […]

Infineon rejoint GSMA, centre de l’expertise en sécurité et en haut débit pour l’industrie mobile

Infineon Technologies AG a rejoint la GSMA, l’association de l’industrie mobile pour dynamiser les communications mobiles de demain. La GSMA réunit près de 800 exploitants de réseaux mobiles dans le monde ainsi que près de […]

Toutes les mesures RFID en une seule boîte

Grâce à son expertise en RFID et en mesure UHF, la société CISC a amélioré son appareil de mesure RFID Xplorer qui, comme son logiciel SDR, relèvent des technologies les plus récentes (UHF RFID / […]

Progression de la technologie mobile 4G/LTE

La technologie LTE (Long Term Evolution) est souvent évoquée sous le sigle 4G à des fins de marketing. La LTE représente une avancée dans les débits des réseaux cellulaires, mais le terme «évolution» rappelle que […]

A propos du risque de fragmentation de la 5G avant son déploiement

On se souvient que la fragmentation de la 4G a ouvert plusieurs difficultés. Des spécifications et des modèles de réalisation différents ont augmenté les coûts afin de répondre aux demandes des marchés individuels. Ceci a […]

A propos de la récente norme Bluetooth 5

Le groupe de travail Bluetooth (SIG) a officiellement adopté le noyau de la dernière version de la spécification Bluetooth 5. Cette mise à jour attribue au système une portée plus étendue, une vitesse plus rapide, […]

Protection contre la fraude relative aux cartes prépayées

La Banque centrale des Etats-Unis (Federal Reserve) a publié en mars 2016 une suite de directives relatives au Programme d’identification du client (CIP) applicable à la gestion des cartes prépayées. Les clients qui disposent de […]

Les cabines téléphoniques londoniennes remplacées par des kiosques Wi-Fi

Suite à un partenariat entre BT et le spécialiste des médias numériques, Intersection, la société LinkUK va ouvrir des kiosques Wi-Fi à haut débit gratuit à Londres pour remplacer les anciennes cabines téléphoniques. Ce Wi-Fi […]

Une “Tablette facile d’emploi”, le cadeau de Noël idéal pour les grands parents !

Tout le monde est bien d’accord : l’accès à l’Internet est aujourd’hui devenu facile grâce aux progrès en ergonomie des terminaux portables et en particulier, des tablettes. Peu encombrantes, légères,  connectables en Wi-Fi public et […]

Chargeur universel pour équipements portables

L’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) vient d’approuver une norme pour un chargeur universel adapté aux ordinateurs et à tout appareil portable. Cette nouvelle norme devrait conduire à une réduction des gaz à effets de serre […]

Investissement de 32 milliards de dollars pour les infrastructures LTE et 5G d’ici 2020

Selon l’analyse publiée récemment par l’agence RnRMarketResearch, les investissements en infrastructure des technologies de réseau sans fil LTE et 5G devraient représenter un marché mondial de 32 milliards de dollars. Ce chiffre inclut les dépenses […]

Amélioration du procédé de fabrication Silicium sur isolant (FD-SOI) sur du 12 nm

Après le 22 nm lancé en 2015, le fondeur Globalfoundries se lance dans la fabrication dite FD-SOI en 12 nm de composants, qui seront disponibles dès 2019 pour l’Internet des Objets et la 5G. La […]

L’enjeu du marathon de la 5G

Une triple compétition (technique, économique et politique) est ouverte entre l’Europe, l’Asie et l’Amérique du Nord sur le plan de la mise en œuvre de la «5G ». C’est à qui sera le plus astucieux techniquement […]

IPv6 concerne maintenant plus de la moitié des terminaux mobiles américains

Selon Akamai, plus de la moitié des appels des quatre plus grands réseaux mobiles américains utilisent des adresses IPv6. IPv6 est mis en œuvre sur 70 % des appels des terminaux Android et sur 30 […]

Quelle biométrie choisir pour sécuriser les paiements ?

Selon une étude réalisée pour Visa dans sept pays européens, la majorité des personnes interrogées estime que l’authentification à deux facteurs, c’est-à-dire l’association de la biométrie à un outil de paiement (support possédé par la […]

500 millions d’abonnés mobiles en Afrique

Selon une étude publiée par l’Association des professionnels de la téléphonie mobile, la GSMA, l’Afrique compterait actuellement plus d’un demi-milliard de personnes abonnées aux services mobiles. Cette connectivité mobile est en réalité associée à des […]

La fraude et l’insécurité au sein des communications mobiles

Le Groupe de travail spécialisé sur la Fraude et l’insécurité de l’Association GSM (FASG) a été créé pour étudier ces problèmes liés à la technologie des réseaux GSM, avec l’objectif d’accroître le niveau de protection. […]

Succès des paiements sans contact en République tchèque et en Pologne

Si la technique des paiements sans contact  progresse en Union Européenne, les progrès ont été particulièrement rapides en République Tchèque et en Pologne. Le taux de cartes de paiement sans contact par personne est en […]

Attention, Bluetooth 5 arrive !

Le Groupe d’intérêt industriel Bluetooth SIG (Special Interest Group) fait savoir que sa prochaine version, appelée Bluetooth 5, sera commercialisée fin 2016 ou début 2017. La gamme de fréquences de Bluetooth 5 sera quadruplée, le […]

Bracelet sans contact de Gemalto pour l’Euro 2016

A l’occasion de l’Euro 2016, Gemalto, expert en sécurité numérique, a développé, en coopération avec l’opérateur de transports en commun, Keolis Lille, un titre de transport sous forme d’un bracelet sans contact. L’utilisation de ces […]

Secure Element de Gemalto pour les paiements mobiles sur éléments portables intelligents

Gemalto, expert en sécurité numérique, a fourni une application sécurisée pour éléments portables intelligents commercialisés par UnionPay Co (CUP), l’une des principales associations chinoises de paiement. Les dispositifs portables intelligents gagnent en popularité à l’échelle […]

Transfert de fonds électroniques dans les pays en développement

Avec le rythme rapide du développement technologique et l’amélioration de l’expérience numérique, les transferts électroniques à l’échelle mondiale sont en cours d’adoption à un rythme rapide. Le Groupe consultatif d’assistance aux pauvres (CGAP), un centre […]

Les téléphones portables au secours des activités financières en Afrique sub-saharienne

En Afrique subsaharienne, de nombreux clients rencontrent des obstacles importants pour accéder aux services financiers sur téléphone mobile. Selon le rapport intitulé « Les services financiers pour tout le monde », rédigé par Ericsson ConsumerLab, en Afrique […]

Un smartphone à imagerie thermique

Bullitt Group, expert en fabrication de smartphones renforcé, intégrera la microcaméra Lepton de FLIR au nouveau Cat S60. Ce terminal mobile sous Android, appartient à la gamme des terminaux robustes de Cat Phones. Le Cat […]

Volvo introduit la clé de voiture virtuelle

Sans clé de voiture, pas de conduite. Cette règle simple qui a concerné des générations de conducteurs, se rapproche de la fin de sa vie. Volvo envisage en effet de proposer des voitures sans clé […]

Découvrons les Fintechs !

Dans le secteur du numérique, sont apparus de nouveaux acteurs, les Fintechs. Ce sont des jeunes sociétés de services financiers, expertes en logiciels de cryptographie, en systèmes anti-fraudes, éditrices de cartes bancaires, qui associent à […]

China UnionPay étend sa solution de paiement mobile

China UnionPay (CUP), l’émetteur le plus important de cartes bancaires au monde, pénètre dans le domaine du paiement mobile en lançant son service QuickPass à Beijing en coopération avec une vingtaine de banques commerciales. Quickpass […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -