Russia Launches Payment Card Against Existing Players MasterCard and Visa

Russia issued its first electronic payment cards on December 15, 2015, aiming to compete with international payment systems such as Visa and MasterCard. The Russian national payment card system—branded Mir, which means “peace” or “world” in Russian—gained momentum after Russia’s parliament passed a law to create a national payment card system. The Russian government has allocated 4.5 billion rubles ($64.2 million) to issue Mir cards, which look similar to international bank cards and feature the Mir logo in the left corner.

Crimea, the peninsula populated by two million people, has faced problems with its banking system since it was annexed from Ukraine. Only a few banks operate there, and cafes and stores in the resort area haven’t been able to accept international bank cards since Visa and MasterCard services were halted.

With the first batch of cards being issued in December 2015, a full commercial rollout is expected to take place in 2016 and it is anticipated that the card will become a major player in the Russian market on par with Visa and MasterCard. The central bank plans to promote the card among state employees in 2016, and further into the future to make it a globally accepted method of payment.

Bank Rossiya, SMP Bank and RNKB Bank—all of which are on the Western sanctions list—will be among the first Russian lenders to issue the plastic cards. Russia’s largest lenders, Sberbank and VTB, have also joined the national payment system.

In a year and a half, The Bank of Russia has been able to create a new national payment. The aim of NPCS was to ensure issuance and operation of cards in Crimea. See also http://letstalkpayments.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Compétition russe face aux cartes de paiement Visa et MasterCard

La Russie a mis en service les premières cartes de paiement électronique le 15 Décembre, 2015, visant à rivaliser avec les systèmes de paiement internationaux de Visa et de MasterCard. La carte de paiement aux couleurs de la Russie porte le nom de Mir, qui signifie «paix» ou «monde». Le principe a été approuvé par le Parlement russe par une loi créant un système de carte de paiement national. Le gouvernement russe a alloué 4,5 milliards de roubles (64,2 millions $) pour cette émission de cartes Mir qui ressemblent à des cartes bancaires et portent le logo Mir dans le coin gauche.

La péninsule de Crimée, peuplée de deux millions de personnes, a été confrontée à des problèmes bancaires, du fait de l’annexion de l’Ukraine. Seules quelques banques opèrent en Crimmée, et les cafés et les magasins de la région n’ont pas été en mesure d’accepter les cartes bancaires internationales, puisque les services Visa et MasterCard étaient interrompues.

Avec le premier lot de cartes publié en Décembre 2015, le déploiement commercial devrait avoir lieu en 2016 et il est prévu que cette carte va devenir un acteur majeur sur le marché russe à égalité avec Visa et MasterCard. La banque centrale prévoit de promouvoir la carte parmi les employés de l’État en 2016, et plus tard, un outil de paiement utilisable à l’échelle mondiale.

Bank Rossiya, SMP Bank et RNKB Bank qui sont toutes concernées par les sanctions occidentales seront les premiers bailleurs de fonds pour cette émission. Les plus grands prêteurs de la Russie, Sberbank et VTB, ont également rejoint le système de paiement national.

En un an, la Banque de Russie a  été en mesure de créer un nouveau système de paiement national. Le but essentiel  était d’assurer l’émission et le fonctionnement des cartes en Crimée. Voir également http://letstalkpayments.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -