“First class” biometric identity cards for Ghanaians

Although the identity card service is currently confronted with logistical constraints, Professor Attafuah felt that these challenges are not insurmountable. Speaking to the Ghanaian Times in Accra, the director of the NIA confirmed that he was working to coordinate and oversee the registration and issuance of national identification cards to more than 27 million people this year.

Professor Attafuah confirmed that the President has brought together the Social Security, National Insurance Trust (SSNIT), National Information Technology Authority (NITA), Death and Birth Registry, National Health Insurance Authority, the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority (DVLA) and the Electoral Commission (EC) to seek their views on the progress of biometric registration.

The technical committees must determine the best parameters in order to ensure greater efficiency and harmonization of the identification process. The NIA was established in 2003 under the auspices of the Office of the President with the mandate to issue national identity cards and manage the National Identification System (NIS). The National Identity Authority Act, 2006 (Law 707) on Legal Support and the National Identity Registry Act (Law 750) were also enacted to authorize the collection of personal biometric data and to ensure the privacy and personal information of registrants.

The registration of Ghanaians for biometric cards began about 14 years ago and the process has stagnated. Of the 25 million cards expected, only a handful have been distributed.

The government must be able to reliably identify citizens in order to ensure public security, issue social benefits, control immigration and facilitate national planning. A national identification system will help address national security issues, credit information, revenue collection, passport and driver’s license, and voter registration.

Other public service delivery and human development activities such as registration of births, deaths and marriages, social security and the national health insurance system will then use a comprehensive system of identification. See also www.ghanaiantimes.com.gh/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Des cartes d’identité biométriques « de première classe » pour les Ghanéens

Bien que le service des cartes d’identité se heurte actuellement à des contraintes logistiques, le professeur Attafuah a estimé que ces défis ne sont pas insurmontables. S’exprimant devant le Ghanaian Times à Accra, le directeur du NIA a confirmé qu’il travaillait à coordonner et superviser l’enregistrement et la délivrance des cartes nationales d’identification à plus de 27 millions de population au cours de cette année.

Le Professeur Attafuah a confirmé que le Président a réuni les responsables  de la Sécurité sociale, de la National Insurance Trust (SSNIT), de l’Autorité nationale des technologies de l’information (NITA), de Death and Birth Registry, de National Health Insurance Authority, de Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority (DVLA) et de la Commission électorale (CE) afin de solliciter leur avis sur l’avancement de l’enregistrement biométrique.

Les comités techniques doivent déterminer les meilleurs paramètres afin d’assurer une plus grande efficacité et une meilleure harmonisation du processus d’identification. La NIA a été créée en 2003 sous l’égide du Bureau du Président avec le mandat de délivrer des cartes d’identité nationales et de gérer le Système national d’identification (NIS). Les Lois de 2006 sur l’Office national d’identification (Loi 707) relatives au soutien juridique et celle de 2008 relative au Registre national d’identité (loi 750) ont également été adoptées pour autoriser la collecte de données biométriques personnelles et pour assurer la protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels des inscrits.

L’enregistrement des Ghanéens pour les cartes biométriques a commencé il y a environ 14 ans et le processus a stagné. Sur les 25 millions de cartes attendues, seulement une poignée ont été distribuées.

Le gouvernement se doit de pouvoir identifier de manière fiable les citoyens afin d’assurer la sécurité publique, émettre des prestations sociales, contrôler l’immigration et faciliter la planification nationale. Un système d’identification national aidera à régler les questions de sécurité nationale, l’information sur le crédit, la perception des recettes, l’acquisition du passeport et du permis de conduire, ainsi que l’inscription des électeurs.

Les autres activités de prestation de services publics et de développement humain, telles que l’enregistrement des naissances, des décès et des mariages, la sécurité sociale et le système national d’assurance maladie utiliseront alors un système complet d’identification. Voir aussi www.ghanaiantimes.com.gh/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -