Dossier Technologique 10 – Electronic Health: concepts and achievements in 2017

Electronics was introduced in the medical field in 1915 with radioscopy (Marie Curie) and the electrocardiogram was transmitted by telephone in 1920. Today, remote medical applications (telemedicine) are developing thanks to the performance of technologies Information and communication (ICT), while the Internet Web disseminates Health information to Internet users (cyber-medicine). The evolution of this triple area is diversified.

I – Medicine and ICT

Medicine associated with ICT uses different names (E-Health, e-Health, m-Health, telehealth, telemedecine, etc.). Three categories of use can be distinguished: e-health, telemedicine and cyber-medicine. The association of ICTs and the Internet (fixed and mobile networks) makes it possible to envisage a wider dissemination of health uses for the benefit of the greatest number in all countries.

1.1 – Panorama of today’s medicines

Worldwide, available therapies generally come in three categories: conventional medicines, CAMs (alternative and complementary medicines, sometimes called alternative medicines) and pseudo-sciences (those of healers and charlatans). Each country carries out its own national selection and classification of therapies, so that what is admitted or tolerated in some countries is totally proscribed in others. Due to genetic inheritance, dietary habits, climatic variations and cultural traditions, the development of a single computer system for health management may seem somewhat utopian. On the other hand, while conventional medicine uses drugs based on chemical molecules, CAMs resort to what are sometimes called “alternative medicines”.

The traditional pharmaceutical industry is therefore faced with the rise in the latter (especially in favor of Asia and the Far East), while on the other hand recent research proposes electronic medical aids, while encouraging the participation of patients in the maintenance of their own health.

1.2 – Medical Research Framework

Today, research is focused on two axes:

– Helping current medicine to cope with the management of pathologies and aging populations, while reducing medical errors and the price level of treatments;

– Improving the development of new treatments by expanding knowledge through scientific research and population studies.

The current trend is guided by the reduction of state spendings on health management. To this end, computerization of the health system is essential. Limits should be set compatible with defined objectives. Medical standards can improve health care in three areas: simplifying administrative tasks, strengthening management infrastructures and monitoring the health status of populations, training and improving the quality of care through participatory collaboration.

II – Standards related to medical activities

2.1 – Problems of medical standards

Investment in public health is high for low economic interest. Health spending often represents a significant share of GDP that is difficult to reduce. If 5% of the GDP devoted to the public health budget allows a healthy life expectancy of 42 years, it would be necessary to reach the 30% of the GDP to obtain an average life expectancy of 81 years. From one country to another, health status, epidemiology, the essential criteria of social policy and the level of available resources are very different. Emergencies are often linked to local or professional conditions. In the field of medicine, the effort of standardization and management is linked to the political will of the State.

The management of data processing and secure data processing adds to the complexity of the art of medicine and the formulation of diagnostics. In general, the overall expenditure of the health system is reduced by management (on average 10% of frauds and 30% of administrative losses or errors), improved quality of care and better choice of care decision-makers towards urgent social measures.

The objective, expressed by the American project HIE (health information exchange) and in the French project of the DMP (Dossier Médical du Patient), is a triple challenge on the regulatory, organizational and economic levels. The DMP (or EHR), introduced in France by the Law of 2004, concerns the whole population and mobilizes all the actors of health, even in situation of mobility. It responds to the legitimate desire of the patient to have information about him.

2.2 – The current standardization effort in telemedicine

The study of telemedicine standards requires a structured and homogeneous approach and the updating of the list of relevant standards. The CEN, ISO, IEEE, etc. have been invited, together with SDOs (Standard Development Organization), to join the eHealth Standardization Coordination Group (eHSCG). The European Commission funds some 100 R & D projects related to medical activities (Horizon 2020).

The study project “Telemedicine of all countries of the world”, led by IEC (TC25), ISO (TC12) and ITU-T (CE17), is concerned in health management with the help of an expert system and telebiometric correlations involving cares offered by the various well-known medical approaches (Allopathy, homeopathy, phytotherapy, acupuncture, CAM, etc.). This vast study reflects the concern to associate the use of western medicine medicines with phytotherapy and the practices of alternative oriental medicines, including acupuncture.

2.3 – Main players in telemedecine standardization

Within their own field of competence, the three global standards entities, IEC, ISO and ITU-T, are involved in the standardization of telemedicine with the assistance of WHO experts. WHO has no responsibility for standardization. It monitors the level of health in each country and evaluates the level of epidemics (Sentinel networks).

Entity

Group

Standard Thema

Examples

ISO

TC 215 Health Informatics Five Working groups

CIM-10 and CIM-11 Standardization

« Médecine de tous les pays du monde » (ISO)

UIT

CE 16 et 17 UIT-D Telemédecine

Question 28

Multimédia applications  – Electronic transactions  cyphering  (Rec. X.1080 et X.1081 – H.810 à H.860 Interoperability)

ICE

CEI 80001 Electrical Aspects Interop Commitee

CEN

TC 251 Health Informatics Health on-line

Cenelec

TC62 Medical devices

ETSI

EG-eHealth Frequences and

terminals

Insulin pumps, neurological, muscular, cardiac pacemakers, blood pressure measuring devices, etc.

SDOs

60 entities All aspects Medical and  Surgical fields

The ICD-10 (International Codification of Diseases) standard consists of 14,400 codes divided into 27 chapters. The new update, ICD-11, should appear in 2018. The French Carte Vitale uses the ICD-10 databases. Note the success of the computerized sorting with RFID tags of medical emergencies.

Among the best known of the 60 medical SDOs are:

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) – This commercial laboratory network develops technical standards on systems products and services. It brings together 30,000 members from 100 countries and is active in 130 areas of activity. Its Committee E31 deals with “Healthcare Informatics”.

DICOM was created by the American College of Radiology (ACR) and the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) to define standards for the transmission of medical images and associated information. DICOM standards are de facto standards used by a large number of medical equipment manufacturers and image professionals: dentistry, endoscopy, mammography, ophthalmology, orthopedics, pathology, pediatrics, surgery, veterinary surgery, etc. Mainly for the purposes of radiology and cardiology.

HL7 (Health Level 7) – This committee, accredited by ANSI for all of North America, has developed a comprehensive messaging standard between Health Professionals. HL7 is a management standard in telemedicine for the transfer of files. Messages are encoded in ASCII, with redundancy. Version 3 of the standard encompasses application messages in the RIM form “Reference Information Model” and uses XML encoding.

IHE (Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise) – This group works to homogenize the profiles and interfaces of medical equipment – especially for RFID tags used by the US Army. In 1996, RSNA (Radiological Society of North America) and the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) integrated healthcare (Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise) to streamline tools and equipment offered by industry, to simplify the tasks of the nursing staff and to improve the quality of the services provided. The need for standards throughout the range of activities in this area is obvious.

IHTSDO (International Health Terminology SDO) – Terminology bank dedicated to the medical field.

III – The four electronic medicines (e-Health)

Electronic health, or medicine through web-based applications and most often associated with the mobile phone terminal, involves voluntary commitment by the patient to access information and to act accordingly. Among specialized companies take care of these volunteers, we note Intel’s digital health group and social networks, and iTunes, with its 65,000 health applications available on the iTunes Store (of which 12,000 applications related to diabetes care). With ICT, the relationship between physician and patient is strengthened. Virtual consultation, personalized and more frequent, saves time. Another challenge is the progressive aging of the world’s population. Specialized agencies assess the quality of these tools and services (AHRQ, agency healthcare research and quality).

3.1 – For sport and well-being

These medium precision materials are designed for 2-3 years of life for e-Care activities, with the support of ISO / ICE / ITU / ETSI standards and possible accreditation of devices by the FDA. The massive dissemination of these devices has brought very useful information to sportsmen and doctors. Temporal temperature measurement is part of these achievements.

3.2 – For the Hospital

These are improved versions of previous articles and more specialized equipment with a life span of ten years. Among these embodiments, numerous implantable implementations of diagnostic aids (glucometer, sensors, stroke detector, defibrillator, pacemaker, etc.) are to be cited.

3.3 – Assistance to dependent persons

These achievements are more specialized. They are designed for longer-term uses for people with disabilities (surveillance, company robot or pre-defined tasks, exercises on alertness, limb prostheses) or for virtual reality exercises.

3.4 – Special aid

These developments are of interest to patients on a case-by-case basis, for example for surgical procedures with a “virtual haptic” interface in 3D virtual reality, computer-guided, for the governance of an 8-finger humanoid robot, for the development of exoskeleton, artificial heart, & c. On another level, research is organized to produce 3D impressions of living cells (pancreas, liver, hair roots).

3.5 – Ongoing Research and Development

1 – to define better means of treatment;
2 – integrate therapies combining drugs and behavior (coaching with ICT and sensors).

IV – Telemedicine

According to French article L.6316-1 of the Public Health Code [October 2010], “Telemedicine is a medical practice that brings together, through new technologies, the patient and one or more Health professionals, (including at least one medical professional). It makes it possible to establish a diagnosis, to provide medical follow-up, to request specialized advice, teleconsultation (videoconferencing or messaging), tele-expertise, prescribe acts, perform a remote monitoring of the patient’s condition , or medical assistance, etc. “.

For example, the SAMU of Paris is in liaison with the French airplanes, TGV and Consulates, to provide medical assistance from a distance if necessary. “Medical support” covers several disciplines, including telemonitoring of kidney dialysis, telecardiology, monitoring of fetal well-being, etc. For the WHO and ITU-T, Telemedicine is divided into five families of uses:

A – Regional health alerts (eg pandemics);
B – Medical emergencies at a distance (absence of doctor on site: islands, places of fighting, ambulance patients’ journey, workplace relief, etc.)
C – Hospitalization at home (HAD) for “seniors” and persons with disabilities, Cardiac and renal remote monitoring,;
D – “Cybersanté”, free information portals of the “Medical Wikipedia” type in the context of self-medication or simple information, etc. Teleconsultation, tele-expertise, teletraining, tele-assistance and telecommunication;
E – Structured national projects using ICT and the Cloud in the practice of medical care based on the holding of a Personal Medical Record (DMP) and a Pharmaceutical File (DP) in France and by the Electronic Health Record (EHR ) Or EPR (electronic patient record) in the United States.

V – Cyber-medicine

5.1 Medical Information

5.2 Social health networks

5.3 Uberization

VI – First experiences

6.1 Developing countries

Less than 54 per cent of the population in developing countries have access to health services. There are about one doctor per 6,670 inhabitants in the world (against one doctor per 390 inhabitants in industrialized countries – and one doctor per 310 inhabitants in France). In developing countries, the maternal mortality rate is twenty times higher and the overall mortality rate is 4 to 5 times higher than in the OECD countries. Several priority telemedicine projects have been launched, some of which are of modest size, but their results show undeniable benefits.

6.2 Other experiments

The UK stopped its DMP / EHR project in 2011 due to financial problems. Australia, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Canada, the UAE, Estonia, Denmark, New Zealand, Singapore and the Netherlands are working on the generalization of DMP.

6.3 United States

ICTs in the health sector represent a strong growth opportunity for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act introduced the Electronic Health Record (EHR) or Electronic DMP project. Health expenditure is twice as high in the United States as it is in France, because the price level is high because there is no regulation of medical procedures. Health spending accounts for 27% of the annual budget of the United States. Alongside the two government health insurance services: one for veterans, the elderly, the disabled (Medicare) and the other for the poorest citizens (Medicaid), the 2009 HITECH law imposed on citizens The need to join a private health insurance system of their choice. The move to DMP has become mandatory. The political controversy persists.

6.4 France

6.5 – Outside France

Standards are placed in the face of cultural traditions.

VII – Conclusions

The use of ICT in medical practices aims to:

The priority of investments remains to be defined (Fiber, informatics or medical tools) as well as the place to be given to the Internet (teleconsultations, Internet care, electronic prescriptions, car and teletherapy via the Internet, confidentiality). The rapid development of medical technologies and ICTs makes it difficult to rapidly build a comprehensive system at the national level. The approach can only be achieved gradually and pragmatically.

References

• Basil Strategies http://www.basilstrategies.com/
• WHO  – International Classification of Functioning and Disability www.who.int/icidh/]
• Wikipedia – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sant%C3%A9
• EHTEL Association (European Health Telematics Association) [www.ehtel.org]

Techniques de l’Ingénieur, Daniel BATTU, 2015

Online on January the 16th, 2017

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Dossier Technologique 10 – Santé électronique et TIC: concepts et réalisations en 2017

L’électronique s’est introduite dans le domaine médical en 1915 avec la radioscopie (Marie Curie) et l’électrocardiogramme était transmis par téléphone en 1920. Aujourd’hui, les applications médicales à distance (télémédecine) se développent grâce aux performances des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC), alors que la Toile Internet diffuse des informations de santé aux Internautes (cybermédecine). L’évolution de ce triple domaine est diversifiée.

I – Médecine et TIC

La médecine associée aux TIC utilise différentes appellations (E-Santé, e-Health, m-Health, Télésanté, telemedecine, etc.). Trois catégories d’usages peuvent être distinguées : la santé électronique, la télémédecine et la cybermédecine. L’association des TIC et de l’Internet (réseaux fixe et mobile) permet d’envisager une plus grande diffusion des usages de santé pour le bénéfice du plus grand nombre dans tous les pays.

1.1  – Panorama des médecines d’aujourd’hui

Dans le monde, les thérapies disponibles se présentent en général en trois catégories : les médecines conventionnelles, les CAM (médecines alternatives et complémentaires, parfois appelées médecines alternatives) et les pseudo-sciences (celles des guérisseurs et des charlatans). Chaque pays effectue sa propre sélection nationale et son classement des thérapies, de sorte que ce qui est admis ou toléré dans certains pays est totalement proscrit dans d’autres. Du fait de l’héritage génétique, des habitudes alimentaires, des variations climatiques et des traditions culturelles, la mise au point d’un système informatique unique pour la gestion de la santé peut sembler quelque peu utopique. D’autre part, alors que la médecine conventionnelle utilise des médicaments à base de molécules chimiques, les CAM ont recours à ce qui est parfois appelées « médecines douces ».

L’industrie des médicaments classiques doit donc faire face à la montée ces dernières (surtout en faveur en Asie et en Extrême Orient), alors que d’autre part, des travaux de recherche récents proposent des aides médicales de type électronique, tout en encourageant par ailleurs la participation des patients à l’entretien de leur propre  santé.

1.2 – Cadre des recherches médicales

Les travaux de recherche s’orientent aujourd’hui sur deux axes :

–        Aider la médecine courante à faire face à la gestion des pathologies et du vieillissement des populations, tout en réduisant les erreurs médicales et le niveau de prix des traitements ;

–        Améliorer la mise au point de nouveaux traitements par l’élargissement des connaissances, grâce à la recherche scientifique et à l’étude des populations.

La tendance actuelle est orientée par la réduction des dépenses des États attachées à la gestion de la santé. Dans ce but, l’informatisation du système de santé est indispensable. Il convient d’en fixer des limites compatibles avec des objectifs définis.

Les normes du domaine médical peuvent améliorer les soins de santé dans les trois domaines suivants : simplification des tâches administratives, renforcement des infrastructures de gestion et surveillance de l’état sanitaire des populations, formation et amélioration de la qualité des soins grâce à des structures de collaboration participative.

II – Les normes liées aux activités médicales

2.1 – Problématique des normes en médecine

L’investissement en santé publique est élevé pour un intérêt économique faible. Les dépenses de santé représentent souvent une part importante du PIB difficile à réduire. Si 5 % du PIB consacré au budget de la santé publique permettent une espérance de vie en bonne santé de 42 ans, il faudrait atteindre les 30 % du PIB pour obtenir une espérance de vie moyenne de 81 ans. Or, d’un pays à un autre, l’état sanitaire, l’épidémiologie, les critères essentiels de la politique sociale et le niveau des ressources disponibles sont très différents. Les urgences relevées sont souvent liées aux conditions locales ou professionnelles. Dans le domaine de la médecine, l’effort de normalisation et de gestion est lié à la volonté politique de l’Etat.

La gestion de l’informatique et du traitement des données sécurisées s’ajoute à la complexité de l’art de la médecine et à la formulation des diagnostics. En général, sont visées une réduction des dépenses globales du système de santé par la gestion (en moyenne 10 % de fraudes et 30 % de pertes administratives ou d’erreurs), une amélioration de la qualité des soins et une meilleure orientation des choix des décideurs vers les mesures sociales urgentes.

L’objectif, exprimé par le projet américain HIE (health information exchange) et dans le projet français du DMP (Dossier Médical du Patient), constitue un triple enjeu sur les plans réglementaire, organisationnel et économique. Le DMP (ou EHR), instauré en France par la Loi de 2004, concerne l’ensemble de la population et mobilise tous les acteurs de santé, même en situation de mobilité. Il répond au désir légitime du patient à disposer des informations le concernant et à réduire le nombre d’erreurs médicales par un contrôle plus strict des identités des patients. Il doit être accessible et interopérable avec les autres systèmes d’informations du domaine médical. Il constitue une réponse concrète à la coordination des soins entre médecine de ville et médecine hospitalière et il permet le respect de la confidentialité des données de santé. La carte à puce (Carte Vitale2) et la technologie RFID jouent un rôle clé sur le plan de l’authentification des patients et des personnes autorisées à accéder aux dossiers médicaux (carte et certificat CPS des professionnels de santé).

2.2 – L’effort actuel de normalisation en télémédecine

L’étude des normes en télémédecine impose une approche structurée et homogène, ainsi que la mise à jour de la liste des normes pertinentes. Les organisations CEN, ISO, IEEE, etc. ont été invitées, avec les SDOs (Standard Development Organisation), à se joindre au Groupe de travail dédié “eHealth Standardization Coordination Group (eHSCG)”. La Commission européenne finance une centaine de projets de R&D liés à des activités médicales (Horizon 2020).

Le projet d’étude des « Télémédecines de tous les pays du monde », conduit par la CEI (TC25), l’ISO (TC12) et l’UIT-T (CE17), s’intéresse à la gestion de la santé avec l’aide d’un système expert et de corrélations de télébiométrie avec les moyens de soins offerts par les différentes approches médicales connues (allopathie, homéopathie, phytothérapie, acupuncture, CAM, etc.). Cette vaste étude reflète le souci d’associer le recours aux médecines des pays occidentaux à la phytothérapie et aux pratiques des médecines alternatives orientales, y compris l’acupuncture.

2.3 – Les principaux acteurs de la normalisation en télémédecine

Dans leur propre domaine de compétence, les trois entités mondiales de normalisation, la CEI, l’ISO et l’UIT-T, sont impliquées dans la normalisation de la télémédecine, avec le concours des experts de l’OMS. L’OMS n’a pas de responsabilité en normalisation. Elle veille à l’état de santé et évalue le niveau des épidémies (réseaux Sentinelles).

Entité

Groupe

Thème d’étude

Exemples

ISO

TC 215 Informatique de santé Cinq groupes de travail

Normalisation de CIM-10 et CIM-11

« Médecine de tous les pays du monde » (ISO)

UIT

CE 16 et 17 UIT-D Télémédecine

Question 28

Applications multimédia et secret des transactions électroniques (Rec. X.1080 et X.1081 – H.810 à H.860 Interopérabilité)

ICE

CEI 80001 Aspects électriques Comité Interop

CEN

TC 251 Informatique de santé Health on-line

Cenelec

TC62 Medical devices

ETSI

EG-eHealth Fréquences et terminaux Pompes à insuline, stimulateurs neurologiques, musculaires, cardiaques, implants de mesure de pression sanguine, etc.

SDO

60 entités Toute activité Domaines médical et chirurgical

La norme CIM (Codification internationale des maladies /ICD-10) est composée de 14 400 codes répartis en 27 chapitres. La nouvelle mise à jour, ICD-11, devrait paraître en 2018. La Carte Vital utilise les bases de la  CIM-10. A noter le succès du tri informatisé avec étiquettes RFID des urgences médicales.Parmi les plus connus des 60 SDO du domaine médical, il faut citer :

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) – Ce réseau commercial des laboratoires rédige des normes techniques sur les produits les systèmes et les services. Il rassemble 30 000 adhérents de 100 pays et s’active dans 130 domaines d’activité. Son Comité E31 traite des “Healthcare Informatics”.

DICOM (Digital Imaging and Communication in Medicine) – Le groupe DICOM a été créé par American College of Radiology (ACR) et le National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) pour la définition de normes de transmission d’images médicales et des informations associées. Les normes DICOM sont des normes de fait utilisées par un grand nombre d’industriels d’équipements médicaux et des professionnels de l’image : dentisterie, endoscopie, mammographie, ophtalmologie, orthopédie, pathologie, pédiatrie, chirurgie, vétérinaire, etc., et principalement pour les besoins de la radiologie et de la cardiologie.

HL7 (Health Level 7) – Ce comité, accrédité par l’ANSI pour l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord, a rédigé une norme de messagerie étendue entre Professionnels de Santé. HL7 est une norme de gestion d’usage courant en télémédecine pour le transfert de fichiers. Les messages sont codés en ASCII, avec de la redondance. La version 3 de la norme englobe les messages applicatifs sous la forme RIM « Reference Information Model » et utilise le codage XML.

IHE (Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise) – Ce groupe travaille pour une homogénéisation des profils et interfaces des équipements médicaux – en particulier pour les étiquettes RFID utilisées par l’Armée américaine. En 1996, la RSNA (Radiological Society of North America) et la HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) intègrent les  soins de santé (IHE, Integrating the Healthcare Entreprise) dans le but de rationaliser les outils et équipements proposés par les industriels, de simplifier les tâches du personnel soignant et d’améliorer la qualité des prestations fournies. La nécessité de disposer de normes dans toute la palette d’activités de ce domaine apparaît comme une évidence.

IHTSDO (International Health Terminology SDO) – Banque de terminologie dédiée au domaine médical.

III – Les quatre médecines électroniques (« e-Health »)

La médecine électronique fournie par les applications de la Toile, et le plus souvent associée au terminal de téléphonie mobile, suppose un engagement volontaire du patient pour accéder à l’information qui le concerne et pour agir en conséquence. Parmi les sociétés spécialisées prennent en charge ces volontaires, il faut citer le groupe de santé numérique d’Intel et les réseaux sociaux, dont iTunes, avec ses 65 000 applications de santé disponibles sur « iTunes Store » (dont 12 000 applications relatives aux soins aux diabétiques). Avec les TIC, la relation entre le médecin et son patient est renforcée. La consultation virtuelle, personnalisée et plus fréquente, fait gagner du temps. Le vieillissement progressif de la population mondiale pose un autre défi. Des agences spécialisées évaluent la qualité de ces outils et des prestations effectuées (AHRQ, agency healthcare research and quality).

3.1 – Pour le sport et le bien être

Ces matériels de précision moyenne, sont conçus pour 2 à 3 ans de durée de vie pour les activités de Fitness (évaluation de soi-même) et de bien-être (« e-Care »), avec le support des normes ISO / ICE / UIT / ETSI et accréditation éventuelle des appareils par la FDA. La diffusion massive de ces appareils a apporté des informations très utiles aux sportifs et aux médecins. La prise de température temporale fait partie de ces réalisations.

3.2 – Pour l’hôpital

Il s’agit de versions améliorées des articles précédents et de matériels plus spécialisés dont la durée d’usage est de l’ordre de dix ans. Parmi ces réalisations, il faut citer de nombreuses réalisations implantables d’aides au diagnostic (glucomètre, capteurs, détecteur d’AVC, défibrillateur, stimulateur cardiaque, etc.).

3.3 – Aide aux personnes dépendantes

Ces réalisations sont plus spécialisées. Elles sont conçues pour des utilisations de plus longues durées pour les personnes handicapées (surveillance, robot de compagnie ou pour tâches prédéfinies, exercices sur la vigilance, prothèses de membres) ou pour des exercices en réalité virtuelle.

3.4 – Aides particulières

Ces développements intéressent des patients de façon ponctuelle, par exemple pour les interventions chirurgicales avec interface « visio haptique » en réalité virtuelle 3D, guidée par ordinateur, pour la gouvernance de robot humanoïde à 8 doigts, pour la mise au point d’exosquelette, du cœur artificiel, etc. Sur un autre plan, la recherche s’organise pour réaliser des impressions 3D de cellules vivantes (pancréas, foie, racines des cheveux).

3.5 – Recherches et développements en cours

IV – Télémédecine

Selon l’article L.6316-1 du Code de la santé publique [Octobre 2010], « la Télémédecine est une pratique médicale qui met en rapport entre eux, par la voie des nouvelles technologies, soit le patient et un ou plusieurs professionnels de santé, soit plusieurs professionnels de santé, (parmi lesquels au moins un professionnel médical). Elle permet d’établir un diagnostic, d’assurer un suivi médical, de requérir un avis spécialisé, une téléconsultation (visioconférence ou messagerie), une télé-expertise, de prescrire des actes, d’effectuer une télésurveillance de l’état des patients, ou une téléassistance médicale, etc. ».

A titre d’exemple, le Samu de Paris est en liaison avec les avions, les TGV et les Consulats français, pour apporter une assistance médicale à distance en cas de besoin. La « téléassistance médicale » recouvre plusieurs disciplines, dont la télésurveillance des dialyses rénales, la télé cardiologie, la surveillance du bien-être fœtal, etc. Pour l’OMS et l’UIT-T, la Télémédecine se divise en cinq familles d’usages :

A – Alertes régionales de santé (pour les pandémies, par exemple) ;

B – Urgences médicales à distance (absence de médecin sur place : îles, lieux de combats, trajet de patients en ambulance, secours sur le lieu de travail, etc.)

C – Hospitalisation à domicile (HAD) pour les  « seniors » et les personnes souffrant d’un handicap, Télésurveillances cardiaques et rénales, ;

D – La « Cybersanté », portails d’informations gratuites de type « Wikipédia médical » dans le cadre de l’automédication ou de la simple information, etc. Téléconsultation, Télé expertise, Téléformation, Télé assistance et Téléconseil ;

E – Projets nationaux structurés utilisant les TIC et le Cloud dans la pratique des soins médicaux reposant sur la tenue d’un Dossier Médical Personnel (DMP) et d’un Dossier Pharmaceutique (DP) en France et par l’Electronic Health Record (EHR) ou EPR (electronic patient record) aux États-Unis.

V – Cybermédecine

5.1 – Informations médicales

5.2 – Réseaux sociaux de santé

5.3 – Uberisation

VI – Premiers résultats

6.1 – Pays en développement

Moins de 54 % de la population des pays en développement peuvent accéder aux services de santé. On y compte environ un médecin pour 6 670 habitants dans le monde (contre un médecin pour 390 habitants dans les pays industrialisés – et un médecin pour 310 habitants en France). Dans les pays en développement, le taux de mortalité maternelle est de vingt fois supérieur et le taux de mortalité globale est entre 4 à 5 fois plus élevé que ceux des pays de l’OCDE. Plusieurs projets prioritaires de télémédecine y ont été lancés, certaines réalisations étant de taille modeste, mais leurs résultats témoignent d’indéniables bénéfices.

6.2 – Premières expériences

Le Royaume-Uni a stoppé son projet de DMP/EHR en 2011 en raison de problèmes financiers. L’Australie, l’Arabie Saoudite, l’Australie, le Canada, les Émirats, l’Estonie, le Danemark, la Nlle Zélande, Singapour et les Pays-Bas travaillent au déploiement du DMP.

 6.3 – Etats-Unis

Les TIC du domaine de la santé représentent une opportunité de croissance forte à laquelle s’intéresse la Food and Drug Administration (FDA). La loi américaine sur les Technologies de l’Information de la Santé ou « Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act », a institué le projet de « Electronic Health Record » (EHR) ou DMP électronique. Si les dépenses de santé sont deux fois plus fortes aux États-Unis qu’en France, c’est parce que le niveau de prix y est élevé, faute de réglementation des actes médicaux. Les dépenses de santé représentent 27 % du budget annuel des États-Unis. A côté des deux services gouvernementaux d’assurance maladie : l’un pour les vétérans, les personnes âgées, les handicapés (Medicare) et l’autre pour les citoyens les plus pauvres (Medicaid), la loi HITECH de 2009 a imposé aux citoyens américains la nécessité d’adhérer à un système privé d’assurance santé de leur choix. Le passage au DMP est devenu obligatoire. La controverse politique perdure.

6.4 – France

6.5 – A l’international

—  Les analyses objectives du couplage TIC/Médecine seront effectuées ultérieurement.

VII – Conclusions

L’usage des TIC dans les pratiques médicales vise à :

La priorité des investissements demeure à définir (Fibre, informatique ou outils médicaux) ainsi que la place à donner à l’Internet (téléconsultations, prises en charge par Internet, ordonnances électroniques, auto et téléthérapies par Internet, consultations avec visio mobile et respect de la confidentialité). L’évolution rapide des technologies médicales et des TIC rend difficile l’édification rapide d’un système global sur le plan national. L’approche ne peut être accomplie que de façon graduelle et pragmatique.

Références

Techniques de l’Ingénieur, Daniel BATTU, 2015

TE 7502 – L’apport des télécommunications et des TIC à l’évolution de la médecine (The contribution of telecommunications and ICT in the evolution of medicine)

TE 7503 – L’apport des télécommunications et des TIC à l’évolution de la médecine (The contribution of telecommunications and ICT in the evolution of medicine)

TE 7504 – Normalisation de la médecine électronique (Standardisation of e-Health)

Mis en ligne le 16 Janvier 2017

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -