Atlas Mara to launch mVisa across African footprint

Africa-focused financial services group Atlas Mara signed a partnership deal with Visa to launch mobile payment system mVisa into several countries across sub-Saharan Africa.

London-listed Atlas Mara holds interests or controlling stakes in banks across the region – including Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Tanzania, Mozambique, Rwanda and Nigeria – all of which will have access to Visa’s mobile payment facility and money transfer service Visa Direct.

MVisa is the company’s mobile payment service aimed at developing markets. Announced in 2015, it was first made available in India and since launched in several markets around the world including Nigeria and Kenya through the company’s banking partners.

POS apparently refers to the checkout counter. It also refers to ability to accept payment via the customer’s mobile phone and this is already being conquered at traditional checkout counters by Apple Pay and Android Pay with their partnership with credit card companies and banks.

If however mobile POS refers also to the use of cloud based POS on smartphones by retailers, most of these in the market cater to businesses with a relatively small inventory and simple checkout requirements. POS as the back end system will continue to be indispensable particularly to large & medium sized businesses. www.mobileworldlive.com/

 

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Atlas Mara lance « mVisa » en Afrique

Atlas Mara, groupe de services financiers axé sur l’Afrique, a signé un accord de partenariat avec Visa pour lancer le système de paiement mobile « mVisa » dans plusieurs pays d’Afrique subsaharienne.

Atlas Mara, coté à Londres, détient des participations ou des participations majoritaires dans des banques de la région – dont le Botswana, le Zimbabwe, la Zambie, la Tanzanie, le Mozambique, le Rwanda et le Nigeria qui auront accès au service de paiement mobile Visa Direct.

MVisa est le service de paiement mobile de l’entreprise visant à développer les marchés. Annoncé en 2015, il a d’abord été mis à service en Inde et depuis lancé dans plusieurs marchés dans le monde, y compris le Nigeria et le Kenya par l’intermédiaire des partenaires bancaires de l’entreprise.

POS se réfère au compteur de caisse du point de vente. Il se réfère également à la capacité d’accepter le paiement via le téléphone mobile du client et cela est déjà été acquis sur les comptoirs de caisse traditionnelle par Apple Pay et Android Pay avec leur partenariat avec les sociétés de carte de crédit et les banques.

Cependant, si les POS mobiles se réfèrent également à l’utilisation de POS basés sur les téléphones intelligents par les détaillants, la plupart de ceux-ci s’adressent aux entreprises ayant un inventaire relativement restreint et des conditions de caisse simples. POS comme le système de back-end continuera d’être indispensable, en particulier pour les grandes et moyennes entreprises. www.mobileworldlive.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -