Huawei and the M2M technology

Communication technology from machine to machine (M2M) is related to ICT applications in different sectors where industry is combined with data processing. ICT used to associate real-time measurements and control in order to achieve various goals concerning efficiency, cost reduction, safety, energy consumption, rapid decision making, etc.

M2M is using available communication systems: SMS / USSD / CDMA / GPRS / 2G or 3G. It is involved in computer applications related to the production, process monitoring and control, planning, data collection remote measurement and remote diagnostics. The development of M2M is faced with the following three issues.

1 – The standards are complex and diversified by country and by sector of activity. They affect indeed the smart home, smart grid, electronic health care, smart buildings and intelligent transport. Various international standardization bodies related to communications (3GPP, IEEE, ETSI, ITU, IETF and China CCSA and CESI) endeavor to develop common standards for M2M.

2 – Most of these smart applications result in high costs that are not compatible with an innovative business model. We must find financing solutions or cross subsidy systems of limited duration.

3 – The development of a new system requires the intervention of an integrator who must coordinate different industrial stages and to invest accordingly. This is the case of road and rail transport systems, health projects, protection of the environment, etc.

On its part, Huawei participates in M2M standardization works. On the other hand, Huawei implements industrial alliances to foster the development of the M2M sector. See also

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Huawei et la technologie M2M

La technologie de communication de machine à machine (M2M) est liée aux applications des TIC dans les différents secteurs où l’industrie se combine avec l’informatique. Les TIC permettent d’associer des mesures en temps réel et le contrôle afin d’atteindre des objectifs variés qui concernent l’efficacité, la réduction des coûts, la sécurité, l’économie d’énergie, la prise de décision rapide, etc.

Le M2M utilise les techniques de mise en relation disponibles : SMS / USSD / CDMA / GPRS / 2G ou 3G. Il intervient dans les applications informatiques liées à la production, au processus de contrôle et de commande, la planification, la collecte de données à distance, la mesure et le diagnostic à distance. Le développement du M2M est confronté aux trois problématiques suivantes.

1 – Les normes sont complexes et diversifiées, selon les pays et selon les secteurs d’activité. Elles touchent en effet à la maison intelligente, au réseau électrique intelligent, aux soins médicaux électroniques, aux bâtiments intelligents et au transport intelligent. Les divers organismes de normalisation internationales liés aux communications (3GPP, IEEE, ETSI, UIT, IETF et pour la Chine le CCLAT et le CESI) s’efforcent d’élaborer des normes communes en M2M.

2 – La plupart de ces applications intelligentes aboutissent à des coûts élevés qui ne sont pas compatibles avec un modèle d’affaires innovant. Il faut donc trouver des solutions de financement croisées ou des systèmes de subvention à durée limitée.

3 – La mise au point d’un système nouveau demande l’intervention d’un intégrateur qui doit assurer la coordination des différentes étapes industrielles et investir de façon correspondante. C’est le cas des systèmes de transports routiers ou ferroviaires, du domaine de la santé, de la protection de l’environnement, etc.

Pour sa part, Huawei participe aux travaux de normalisation en M2M. D’autre part, Huawei met en place des alliances industrielles, afin de favoriser le développement du secteur du M2M. Voir également www.huawei.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -