European eDriving license and security

The Digital Agenda for Europe (DAE) aims to reboot Europe’s economy and help Europe’s citizens and businesses to get the most out of digital technologies. This flagship initiative under Europe 2020 would benefit the internal market, i.e. the free flow of goods, people, services and capital. One key element on this agenda is the electronic identification of citizens. Many regulations of the European Commission underline this, such as:

In eight of the 27 Member States of the European Union (EU) there is no mandatory or optional national identity document in use. For example, the United Kingdom has not issued any ID document since 1951. Given these circumstances, the driving license often takes over the role of a ‘de facto’ identity document. It is used for example for check-in in hotels, to open a new bank account, as an identity document on the road and in many other cases.

In late 2005 the European Commission and the related Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE) registered 110 different valid driving license documents in use that differ in design, material, data set, optical security and validity period. Most of them are written in the national language of the country of issue. In 2006 the European Commission published the new directive 2006/126/EC in order to harmonize the driving license document in format, data set, optical security and validity period. The deadline for issuing this new document was set for 19 January 2013, the use of an electronic driving license (with a chip) being optional. In the case of electronic driving licenses, a full-face photo must be stored on the card; two fingerprint images are optional. A validity period of 5 years is provided for professional and commercial drivers. The objective is to avoid outdated photos on the license to ensure a reliable authentication. The desired form of this license is that of credit card: ISO 18013. Different organizations and companies from different countries (USA, Japan, Korea, Australia, South Africa and Europe in particular) are working on this achievement. For more information, see www.id-world-magazine.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Identité européenne et sécurité routière

L’agenda numérique pour l’Europe (DAE) vise à relancer l’économie européenne et à aider les citoyens et les entreprises d’Europe à prendre le meilleur parti des technologies numériques. Cette initiative de la stratégie appelée « Europe 2020 » devrait bénéfique pour le marché intérieur, et faciliter la libre circulation des marchandises, des personnes, des services et des capitaux. Un élément clé de ce programme concerne l’identification électronique des citoyens. La règlementation européenne porte à ce sujet sur différents documents :

• les passeports électroniques
• les permis de séjour électroniques
• les cartes de conducteur pour camions et autobus (tachygraphe)
• les cartes d’immatriculation des véhicules électroniques.

Dans huit des 27 États membres de l’Union européenne (UE), il n’existe pas de document d’identité nationale obligatoire ou facultative. Par exemple, le Royaume-Uni n’émet pas de document d’identité depuis 1951. Compte tenu de cet état de chose, le permis de conduire prend souvent le rôle d’un document d’identité «de facto». Il est utilisé par exemple pour l’enregistrement dans les hôtels, pour ouvrir un nouveau compte bancaire, comme un document d’identité sur la route et dans de nombreux autres cas.

À la fin de 2005, la Commission européenne et la Direction générale liées à la mobilité et des transports (DG MOVE) a recensé 110 documents différents qui jouent le rôle de permis de conduire qui diffèrent dans la conception, la nature, l’ensemble de données, la sécurité optique et la période de validité. La plupart d’entre eux sont écrits dans la langue nationale du pays d’émission. En 2006, la Commission européenne a publié la nouvelle directive 2006/126/CE afin d’harmoniser les permis de conduire. Le délai pour la délivrance de ce nouveau document a été fixé au 19 Janvier 2013, la forme électronique (avec une puce) étant facultative. Dans le cas de ces permis de conduire électroniques, une photo de face doit être stockée sur la carte et en option, deux images d’empreintes digitales. Une durée de validité de 5 ans est prévue pour les conducteurs professionnels et commerciaux. L’objectif est d’éviter les photos obsolètes sur le permis de conduire de façon à assurer une authentification fiable. La forme souhaitée de ce permis de conduire est celle de carte de crédit: ISO 18013. Différentes organisations et entreprises de différents pays (États-Unis, le Japon, la Corée, l’Australie, l’Afrique du Sud et l’Europe en particulier) travaillent à cette réalisation. Pour en savoir plus, voir www.id-world-magazine.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -