Infineon joins GSMA: security and broadband expertise for mobile industry

Infineon Technologies AG has joined the GSMA, the association of the mobile industry to actively shape mobile communications of tomorrow. The GSMA unites nearly 800 mobile network operators worldwide with almost 300 companies in the broader mobile ecosystem. As an associate member, Infineon will contribute its expertise in security and data transmission technologies to develop mobile standards used by billions of consumers globally.

The advanced Infineon semiconductor solutions are the key to a smart, secure and energy efficient cellular infrastructure connecting consumers, homes, vehicles and factories to the Internet. As a member of GSMA Infineon will contribute its high-frequency and security expertise to the mobile industry and enable commercial deployment of 5G.

An increasingly critical aspect of communication in the era of the Internet of Things (IoT) is secured identification of consumers, devices and machines. Infineon has been supplying security chips for SIM (subscriber identification module) cards since the beginnings in the 1990s. In its role as a GSMA member, Infineon will drive further development of next-generation embedded SIM (eSIM) standards.

SIM cards are used to authenticate mobile subscribers to their mobile networks. However, form factors are now evolving from removable plug-ins to embedded solutions which are significantly smaller in size and consume less power. eSIMs offer additional advantages: they are integrated into phones, wearables, machines or cars during the manufacturing process. As such they allow remote SIM provisioning and management and are not tied to a single mobile network. The GSMA expects up to 10.5 billion mobile connected devices by 2020 leading to a huge market opportunity for eSIMs, predominantly in the machine to machine (M2M) and mobile consumer devices sectors.

Infineon provides a comprehensive eSIM product portfolio that fully complies with the newly defined GSMA specifications. Having introduced first specialized eSIMs in 2008, Infineon is a pioneer and market leader, particularlyfor automotive applications. The world’s major car makers trust Infineon’s certified eSIM security controllers for their emergency call (eCall) implementations that will become common standard in the European Union in 2018. Besides industrial and automotive applications, eSIMs are also increasingly used for connecting consumer devices to mobile networks. Infineon offers miniaturized versions for smart phones or wearables such as the Samsung Gear S2 smart watch. The world’s smallest eSIM measures only 1.5 mm x 1.1 mm x 0.37 mm and will be exhibited at Mobile World Congress (Barcelona, February 27 – March 2, 2017).

Besides voice communication, mobile devices are increasingly used for broadband access. But current cellular infrastructure will reach its limits within the next years with billions of devices getting connected to the Internet. Whether for entertainment or IoT applications – compared to the preceding 4G infrastructure, 5G is 100 times faster and able to transmit 1000 times more data in real-time. Enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) at multi-gigabit speeds requires advanced semiconductor solutions. Infineon provides high-frequency components that receive, amplify and transmit data while components for antenna tuning and switching enable an unmatched user experience.

At Mobile World Congress 2017 (hall 6, booth 6C41), Infineon will demonstrate semiconductor solutions for secured and energy efficient communication in the connected world. Highlights include intelligent street lamps for a smart traffic infrastructure, security gateways to protect connected devices in the smart home as well as new concepts for facilitating the interaction of humans and machines by using voice and gesture recognition. Further information is available at: www.infineon.com/5G

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Infineon rejoint GSMA, centre de l’expertise en sécurité et en haut débit pour l’industrie mobile

Infineon Technologies AG a rejoint la GSMA, l’association de l’industrie mobile pour dynamiser les communications mobiles de demain. La GSMA réunit près de 800 exploitants de réseaux mobiles dans le monde ainsi que près de 300 entreprises de l’écosystème mobile. En tant que membre associé, Infineon apportera son expertise dans les technologies de sécurité et de transmission de données pour développer des normes mobiles utilisées par des milliards de consommateurs dans le monde.

Les solutions avancées de semi-conducteurs Infineon constituent la clé d’une infrastructure cellulaire intelligente, sécurisée et éconergétique reliant les consommateurs, les maisons, les véhicules et les usines à Internet. En tant que membre de la GSMA, Infineon apportera son expertise en haute fréquence et en sécurité à l’industrie mobile et permettrons le déploiement commercial de 5G.

Un aspect de plus en plus critique de la communication à l’ère de l’Internet des objets (IoT) est l’identification sécurisée des consommateurs, des appareils et des machines. Infineon fournit des puces de sécurité pour les cartes SIM (module d’identification d’abonné) depuis les débuts des années 1990. En tant que membre de la GSMA, Infineon continuera à développer des normes SIM (eSIM) intégrées de nouvelle génération.

Les cartes SIM sont utilisées pour authentifier les abonnés mobiles à leurs réseaux mobiles. Cependant, les facteurs de forme évoluent désormais de plug-ins amovibles vers des solutions intégrées qui sont nettement plus petites et consomment moins d’énergie. Les eSIM offrent des avantages supplémentaires: ils sont intégrés dans les téléphones, les portables, les machines ou les voitures pendant le processus de fabrication. En tant que tels, ils permettent le provisionnement et la gestion SIM à distance et ne sont pas liés à un seul réseau mobile. La GSMA prévoit jusqu’à 10,5 milliards d’appareils mobiles connectés d’ici 2020, ce qui ouvrira une énorme opportunité de marché pour les eSIM, principalement dans les secteurs de la machine à la machine (M2M) et des appareils mobiles de consommation.

Infineon fournit un portefeuille de produits eSIM complet qui est entièrement conforme aux spécifications GSMA nouvellement définies. Après avoir introduit les premiers eSIM spécialisés en 2008, Infineon est un pionnier et un leader du marché, en particulier pour les applications automobiles. Les principaux constructeurs automobiles du monde entier font confiance aux contrôleurs de sécurité eSIM certifiés Infineon pour leurs implémentations d’appel d’urgence (eCall) qui deviendront une norme commune dans l’Union européenne en 2018. Outre les applications industrielles et automobiles, les eSIM sont de plus en plus utilisés pour connecter des appareils grand public aux réseaux mobiles. Infineon propose des versions miniaturisées pour téléphones intelligents ou portables comme la montre Samsung Gear S2. Le plus petit eSIM du monde mesure seulement 1,5 mm x 1,1 mm x 0,37 mm et sera exposé au Mobile World Congress (Barcelone, 27 février – 2 mars 2017).

Outre la communication vocale, les appareils mobiles sont de plus en plus utilisés pour l’accès à large bande. Mais l’infrastructure cellulaire actuelle atteindra ses limites au cours des prochaines années avec des milliards de périphériques connectés à Internet. Que ce soit pour le divertissement ou les applications IoT – par rapport à l’infrastructure 4G précédente, 5G est 100 fois plus rapide et capable de transmettre 1000 fois plus de données en temps réel. Le haut débit mobile (eMBB) à des vitesses de plusieurs gigabits nécessite des solutions avancées de semi-conducteurs. Infineon fournit des composants haute fréquence qui reçoivent, amplifient et transmettent des données tandis que les composants pour l’accord et la commutation d’antenne permettent une expérience utilisateur inégalée.

Au Mobile World Congress 2017 (hall 6, stand 6C41), Infineon présentera des solutions de semi-conducteurs pour une communication sécurisée et économe en énergie dans le monde connecté. Les points saillants comprennent les lampadaires intelligents pour une infrastructure de trafic intelligent, des passerelles de sécurité pour protéger les appareils connectés dans la maison intelligente ainsi que de nouveaux concepts pour faciliter l’interaction des humains et des machines en utilisant la reconnaissance vocale et gestuelle. De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur: www.infineon.com/5G

 

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -