Centralized ID database scares the French

The project of a personal database common to passports and national identity cards, linked to a single file, called “Secure Electronic Securities” (TES), should be put in force.

This new database should gather all information related to the digitized photo of the face, fingerprints, eye color, physical and digital addresses, etc. of all incumbent citizens. From a technical point of view, both possibilities can be envisaged: creation of a single centralized file, or reading individual files contained on the electronic chips of identity cards or passports.

Some African countries have even pushed the economy further, since at home, a single smart card serves as a bank card, identity card, health-Card, transport card or access to the pool or library entrance. A versatile and secure system puts information and access controls in the hands of the competent administration or department. Interfacing with other control systems, for example, at the international level, is carried out directly by the national computer system. Everything is possible in computing, even the reinforcement of security and everything depends on what the legislator is asking for and the amount of credit available for that development.

But a centralized Database frightens a number of lawyers and parliamentarians, probably traumatized by memories from the past and probably they are unaware of the benefits and opportunities offered by new digital technologies.

The purpose of the “mega-database” is to combat identity fraud and to improve the effectiveness of control systems. The fears are based on the possibility that abuses may be perpetrated by pirates, or sometimes by certain agents of the State, or that a super blackout block this beautiful and tricolor directory a few days before an election deadline.

Despite the difficulty of identifying people deemed potentially dangerous when moving, our decision makers still have to make their decision. It is clear that both ammunition and firearms are potentially dangerous, so it is preferable, in the name of the main principles, to close down all weapons-making factories. See also http://www.bbc.com www.lemonde.fr/

 

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La base de données des fichiers d’identité centralisés effraie les Français

Le projet de base de données à caractère personnel commun aux passeports et aux cartes nationales d’identité, lié à un fichier unique, baptisé « Titres Electroniques Sécurisés » (TES), devrait être mis en place.

Cette nouvelle base de données devrait rassembler toutes les informations relatives à la photo numérisée du visage, aux empreintes digitales, à la couleur des yeux, aux adresses physiques et numériques, etc. de tous les citoyens titulaires. Sur le plan technique, les deux possibilités peuvent être envisagées : constitution d’un fichier unique centralisé, ou lecture de fichiers individuels contenus sur les puces électroniques des cartes d’identité ou des passeports.

Certains pays africains ont même poussé l’économie plus loin puisque chez eux, une seule carte à puce sert de carte bancaire, de carte d’identité, de santé, de carte de transport ou d’accès à la piscine ou à la bibliothèque. Un système polyvalent et sécurisé aiguille les contrôles d’information et d’accès vers l’administration ou le service compétent. L’interfaçage avec d’autres systèmes de contrôle, par exemple, sur le plan international, est effectué directement par le système informatique national. Tout est possible en informatique, même le renforcement de la sécurisation et tout dépend de ce que demande le législateur et du montant des crédits dont il dispose.

Mais le fichage centralisé fait peur à un certain nombre de juristes et de parlementaires, traumatisés sans doute des souvenirs du passé et probablement ignorants des avantages, et aussi des possibilités offertes par les technologies numériques nouvelles.

L’objectif de la « méga-base de données » vise à lutter contre la fraude d’identité et cherche à améliorer l’efficacité des systèmes de contrôle. Les craintes reposent sur la possibilité que des abus soient perpétrés par des pirates, ou parfois, par certains agents de l’État, ou encore qu’une super panne ne bloque ce bel annuaire tricolore quelques jours avant une échéance électorale.

Malgré la difficulté d’identifier les personnes jugées potentiellement dangereuses lors de leur déplacement, nos décideurs tardent encore à prendre leur décision. Il est clair que les munitions comme les armes à feu présentant des risques potentiels de dangerosité, il est préférable, au nom des grands principes, de fermer toutes les usines de fabrication d’armes. Voir aussi http://www.bbc.com/    www.lemonde.fr/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -