The Identity Card under ICT Indian Ministry Authority

The Indian Aadhaar Numbering System is used to establish proof of identity and address of citizens. Aadhaar is a 12-digit number used for the digital ID. It is issued by the administration as part of the “Digital India” program. The government is considering linking the Aadhaar refernce to the SIM cards telephone access to government services.

The Ministere of Information Technology and Communications (ICT) will take over management of Aadhaar under the National Identification citizens project. Today, the Indian government is able to provide accurate and updated figures on its population. Nearly 750 million people, or 61% of the population, received Aadhaar numbers. In 15 states, the percentage enrollment reached more than 90% and 140 million bank accounts are associated with Aadhaar numbers.

Aadhaar is also used to check the presence of government officials and to establish proof of the identity of those who try to take advantage of belonging to government services. As part of the Digital India project, the government plans to link Aadhaar with driving licenses, passports, mobile SIM cards, bank pension accounts, etc. Currently Aadhaar is considered as an optional field, but it will soon be mandatory.

The government is considering linking biometric voting cards at the Aadhaar identification numbers to allow instant secure voting and delete the mail vote of the eleven million of non-resident Indians (NRI) worldwide. This measure will also have the effect of eliminating fictitious voters nationwide. See also www.business-standard.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La carte d’identité passe sous l’autorité du Ministère indien des TIC

Le système indien de numérotation Aadhaar sert à établir la preuve de l’identité et de l’adresse des citoyens. Aadhaar est un numéro à 12 chiffres utilisé pour l’identification numérique. Il est délivré par l’administration dans le cadre du programme « Digital India ». Le gouvernement envisage lier la référence numérique Aadhaar aux cartes SIM d’accès téléphonique aux services gouvernementaux.

Le ministère des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) va prendre en charge la gestion de Aadhaar dans le cadre du projet national d’identification des citoyens. Aujourd’hui, le gouvernement indien est en mesure de fournir des chiffres précis et actualisés sur sa population. Près de 750 millions de personnes, soit 61 % de la population, ont reçu des numéros Aadhaar. Dans 15 États, le pourcentage de scolarisation atteint plus de 90 % et 140 millions de comptes bancaires ont été associés à des numéros Aadhaar.

Aadhaar est également utilisé pour vérifier la présence des représentants du gouvernement et pour établir une preuve de l’identité de ceux qui se prévalent d’appartenir à des services gouvernementaux. Dans le cadre du projet Digital India, le gouvernement prévoit de lier Aadhaar avec le permis de conduire, les passeports, les cartes SIM mobiles, les comptes de prévoyance bancaire, etc. Actuellement, Aadhaar est considéré comme champ facultatif, mais il prendra bientôt un caractère obligatoire.

Le gouvernement envisage relier les cartes biométriques d’électeur à la numérotation d’identification Aadhaar afin de permettre un vote instantané sécurisé et de supprimer le vote par correspondance des onze millions d’Indiens non résidents (NRI) à travers le monde. Cette mesure aura également pour effet d’éliminer les électeurs fictifs à l’échelle nationale. Voir aussi www.business-standard.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -