How to deal with a card fraud

Make sure you type the address of the bank rather than use a hyper-link and make sure there is an ‘s’ at the end of the ‘http’ as in ‘https’ which denotes that it is a secure site

The worst ever security breach of financial data in India involving 3.2 million debit cards has brought the issue of cyber-security into the open. While banks and financial institutions beef up their security systems, there is a lot that individual customers can do to protect themselves from turning into sitting ducks for hackers.

First, you must use an up-to-date bank card and periodically change your passwords. Do not use unique passwords for all your relationships, and select a complex password with uppercase, lowercase letters and figures, and punctuation.

In the case of on-line transactions, it is always advisable to use a temporary password (OTP, one-time-password) because the bank will provide details only on SMS messaging of mobile email.

In the event of losses incurred by customers due to cyber-attacks, the client’s primary responsibility is to report the loss, theft or unauthorized use of the card as soon as he (she) is informed. The customer is not responsible for fraudulent banking, provided that he has not acted intentionally or negligently. The bank is supposed to reimburse and compensate for the loss of the customer.

Many banks have become more sensitive to the dangers of cyber-attack and have proactively instituted processes to prevent fraudulent abuse of sensitive client information and to make clients more vigilant about illegal transactions, optionally. SMS alerts are sent to clients by the bank to verify their transactions during any suspicious activity. www.dnaindia.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La fraude par carte bancaire

Assurez-vous que vous tapez l’adresse de la banque et vérifiez bien qu’il y a un «s» à la fin du sigle «http» soit «https» qui désigne l’adresse d’un site sécurisé.

La défaillance de sécurité des données financières en Inde de 3,2 millions de cartes de débit a mis en lumière la question de la cybersécurité. Alors que les banques et les institutions financières renforcent leurs systèmes de sécurité, les clients doivent aussi apprendre à se protéger.

D’abord, il faut utiliser une carte bancaire à jour et changer périodiquement vos mots de passe. N’utilisez pas de mots de passe unique pour toutes vos relations et sélectionnez un mot de passe complexe comportant majuscules, minuscules et signes de ponctuation.

Dans le cas de transactions en ligne, il est toujours conseillé d’utiliser un mot de passe temporaire (OTP, one-time-password) car la banque fournit en retour des détails uniquement sur la messagerie SMS du courrier électronique mobile.

En cas de pertes subies par les clients en raison de cyber-attaques, la responsabilité principale du client est liée à la signalisation de la perte, du vol ou de l’utilisation non autorisée de sa carte dès qu’il en est informé. Le client n’est pas responsable d’une opération bancaire frauduleuse, pour autant qu’il n’ait pas agi de manière intentionnelle ou par négligence. La banque est censée rembourser et compenser la perte du client.

Beaucoup de banques sont devenues plus sensibles aux dangers d’une cyber-attaque et ont institué des processus de manière proactive pour empêcher l’abus d’informations sensibles des clients par les fraudeurs et pour rendre les clients plus vigilants sur les transactions illicites, le cas échéant. Les alertes sous forme de SMS sont envoyées aux clients par la banque pour vérifier leurs transactions lors de toute activité suspecte. www.dnaindia.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -