Child safety

The safety of children is at the heart of the work of bodies of ISO and IEC, is a major concern for the company because the child and adolescent injuries are a major cause of death and disability in most countries. The World Report Joint WHO / UNICEF on preventing child injuries identifies unintentional injuries as the leading cause of death among young children. In this regard, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) have just completed the revision of the “ISO / IEC Guide 50: 2014, Aspects of Security- Guidelines for child safety in standards and other specifications. ”

The objective of the ISO / IEC Guide is to provide guidelines for standards writers by compiling a list of dangers to which children may be exposed and proposing prevention strategies. It aims to address potential sources of injury for children, sources that are present in the products they use or with which they may come in contact. When addressing the safety of children, the following factors should be special attention on risk:

a) their interactions with people and products
b) development and behavior
c) the level of awareness, knowledge, and the child’s experience
d) the social, economic and environmental
e) the degree of supervision and monitoring of the child

The ISO / IEC Guide 50: 2014 explains why children are more vulnerable to hazards such as traffic accidents, falls, burns and drowning, given their different stages of development and how they interact with products and environments. Injury prevention is a shared responsibility. The Challenge of ISO / IEC Guide 50 is to establish guidelines to follow to develop products, packaging, structures, facilities, built environments or other items with which children can interact that are safe to reduce the causes of death or serious injury to children. An important aspect of this challenge is to balance security with the need for children to explore a stimulating and supportive learning environment. Injury prevention can be resolved by including the design, engineering, manufacturing controls, legislation, education and awareness.

However, the Guide does not provide guidelines for the prevention of intentional damage such as violence against children or other non-physical forms of damage such as psychological damage as bullying. It is not reserved only for standard setters. It contains important information that can be useful for information to government agencies, manufacturers, consumer associations, service providers, educators and policy makers. For more information, see : www.iso.org/  www.lernf.org/  www.reseauexpertsengages.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La sécurité des enfants

La sécurité des enfants, qui est au cœur des travaux des comités de l’ISO et de l’IEC, est une préoccupation majeure pour la société parce que l’enfant et les blessures adolescentes sont une cause majeure de décès et d’invalidité dans la plupart des pays. Le Rapport mondiale conjoint OMS / UNICEF sur la prévention des traumatismes chez l’enfant identifie les blessures non intentionnelles comme la principale cause de décès chez les enfants en bas âge. A ce propos, l’Organisation internationale de Normalisation (ISO) et la Commission électrotechnique internationale (IEC) viennent de terminer la révision du « Guide ISO/IEC 50:2014, Aspects liés à la sécurité- Principes directeurs pour la sécurité des enfants dans les normes et autres spécifications ».

L’objectif de ce Guide ISO/IEC est de fournir des lignes directrices à l’intention des rédacteurs de normes en dressant une liste complète des dangers auxquels les enfants peuvent être exposés et en proposant des stratégies de prévention. Il vise à traiter des sources potentielles de dommages corporels pour les enfants, sources qui sont présentes dans les produits qu’ils utilisent ou avec lesquels ils sont susceptibles d’entrer en contact. Quand on aborde la sécurité des enfants, les facteurs suivants doivent avoir une attention particulière concernant les risques:

a)       leurs interactions avec des personnes et des produits

b)      leur développement et leur comportement

c)       le degré de sensibilisation, les connaissances et l’expérience de l’enfant

d)      les facteurs sociaux, économiques et environnementaux

e)      le degré de supervision et de surveillance de l’enfant

Le Guide ISO/IEC 50:2014 explique en quoi les enfants sont plus vulnérables aux dangers tels que les accidents de la circulation, les chutes, les brûlures et les noyades, compte tenu de leurs différents stades de développement et de leur façon d’interagir avec les produits et les environnements. La prévention des blessures est une responsabilité partagée. Le défi du  Guide ISO/IEC 50 est de mettre en place des lignes à suivre pour développer des produits, des emballages, des structures, des installations, des environnements bâtis ou autres éléments avec lesquels les enfants peuvent entrer en interaction qui sont sécuritaires afin de réduire les causes de décès ou de graves blessures aux enfants. Un aspect important de ce défi est d’équilibrer la sécurité avec la nécessité pour les enfants d’explorer un environnement stimulant et propice à l’apprentissage. La prévention des blessures peut être résolue notamment par la conception, l’ingénierie, les contrôles de fabrication, la législation, l’éducation et la sensibilisation.

Cependant, le Guide ne fournit pas de lignes directrices concernant la prévention des dommages intentionnels tels que les violences faites aux enfants ou autres formes non physiques de dommages comme les dommages psychologiques telle que l’intimidation. Il n’est pas réservé aux seuls normalisateurs. Il contient des informations importantes qui peuvent être utiles à titre d’information aux organismes publics, aux fabricants, aux associations de consommateurs, aux prestataires de services, aux éducateurs et aux décideurs politiques.Pour de plus amples informations, voir:www.iso.org/ www.lernf.org/ www.reseauexpertsengages.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -