Sweden could issue a national digital currency

Sweden is considering whether to launch its “ekrona”, an electronic or digital version of the Swedish krona. The Riksbank was the first central bank in the world to issue paper notes in the 1660s, thanks to the development of the newest printing technology. Today, new technologies exist for payments. Sweden explores all the possibilities (technological, legal …) and the consequences of such an initiative. The Central Bank is very pragmatic in considering all possibilities, recognizing that it has never embarked on such an ambitious project.

However, the “e-krona” will not replace the krona, but would be its complement. The Bank of Sweden will continue to issue banknotes and coins as long as there is a demand. Swedes use less and less tickets and coins.

The volume of banknotes and coins in circulation has decreased by 40% since 2009, due to the growth of online purchases and card payments. This pushed the Riksbank to think about new ways of issuing money in Sweden. In more or less advanced stages, many other countries (United Kingdom, Singapore, China, Russia, the Baltic countries …) are considering the idea of launching a digital or electronic version of their currency. Countries want to launch their own electronic currency in order to retain control over it rather than adopt the new currencies that have been created over the last three years. Issues such as traceability, method of delivery and interest in electronic money need to be addressed in advance.

The World Economic Forum thinks the technology will fundamentally alter the way financial institutions do business around the world. The Bitcoin, whose value is 710 dollars, is too small (11.5 billion dollars), and still too volatile to be able to pretend to play the role of currency of a State. Its annual volatility is 77% against 9% for the Euro-dollar. Bitcoin develops especially in countries in great economic difficulties (Venezuela …). See also www.lesechos.fr/  www.economist.com/   http://uk.businessinsider.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

La Suède pourrait émettre une monnaie numérique nationale

La Suède réfléchit à l’opportunité de lancer sa « ekrona » (« e-couronne »), une version électronique ou digitale de la couronne suédoise. La Riksbank a été la première banque centrale dans le monde à émettre des billets en papier, dans les années 1660, grâce au développement de la toute nouvelle technologie de l’imprimerie. Aujourd’hui, de nouvelles technologies existent pour des paiements. La Suède explore toutes les possibilités, enjeux (technologiques, légaux..) et conséquences d’une telle initiative. La Banque centrale se dit très pragmatique en envisageant toutes les possibilités, en reconnaissant qu’elle ne s’était jamais lancée dans un projet aussi ambitieux.

Toutefois, la « e-couronne » ne remplacera pas la couronne, mais constituerait son complément. La Banque de Suède continuera d’émettre des billets et pièces tant qu’il y aura une demande. Les Suédois utilisent de moins en moins les billets et pièces.

Le volume de billets et de pièces en circulation a diminué de 40% depuis 2009, du fait de la croissance des achats en ligne et des paiements par carte. Cela a poussé la Riksbank à réfléchir à de nouvelles façons d’émettre de l’argent en Suède. A des stades plus ou moins avancés, beaucoup d’autres pays (le Royaume-Uni, Singapour, la Chine, la Russie, les Pays baltes…) réfléchissent à l’idée de lancer une version digitale ou électronique de leur monnaie. Les pays veulent lancer leur propre devise électronique afin d’en conserver le contrôle plutôt que d’adopter les nouvelles monnaies qui se sont créées depuis trois ans. Des questions telles que la traçabilité, la méthode de livraison et l’intérêt sur l’argent électronique doivent être examinées au préalable.

Le Forum économique mondial pense que la technologie devrait changer fondamentalement la façon dont les institutions financières gèrent leurs relations dans le monde entier. Le Bitcoin, dont la valeur est de 710 dollars, est trop petit (11,5 milliards de dollars), et encore bien trop volatile pour pouvoir prétendre jouer le rôle de monnaie d’un Etat. Sa volatilité annuelle est de 77% contre 9% pour l’euro-dollar. Le bitcoin se développe surtout dans les pays en grandes difficultés économiques (Venezuela…). Voir aussi www.lesechos.fr/ www.economist.com/  http://uk.businessinsider.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -