Analytics and the ‘Internet of Things’

gareth-noyesAnalytics has become a major buzzword these days, whether in the realm of connected devices, the Internet of Things, web analytics or big data business analytics. In the context of the Internet of Things, I thought I’d share some observations on different analytics paradigms and use cases.

By Gareth Noyes – Chief Strategy Officer, Wind River

One common analytics model is what could be termed “store-and-analyze-later,” where massive amounts of data are streamed up to cloud servers and Hadoop clusters for later analysis. The problem with this approach, especially given the ever increasing amounts of data, is that it doesn’t scale, the amount of data quickly overwhelms our ability to make sense of it. Compare that to a model where intelligence (gained from analytics) is tailored to the use case and system topology, leading to “intelligence where and when you need it”– the notion of multi-tiered intelligence where edge devices have a configurable amount of autonomy and decision making authority, and no longer act as “dumb data generators.”

Clearly the right architecture is largely driven by the use case being addressed, and context matters. Take for example a predictive modeling scenario, where complex machine learning algorithms on powerful servers crunch through huge amounts of collected operational data to build a predictive failure model, for example, of a wind turbine. Once the model is generated “in the cloud” it can be exported to the turbine control system for more autonomous execution and refinement.

More and more startups appear in the analytics space, from real-time in-memory databases to full analytics platforms. One area of particular interest is around streaming analytics engines, quite opposite to the store-and-analyze-later scenario described earlier. Data is being processed and analyzed “on the fly.” This technology generally scales better to a multi-tiered analytics use case.

Yet another perspective of analytics, and one that’s becoming increasingly important for the Internet of Things, is what I would term one-way vs. closed-loop analytics. One-way analytics is effectively up streaming of data to the cloud for storage and visualization, largely requiring humans to make intelligent interpretations. Where it gets really interesting, is the closed-loop use case, where analytics either in the cloud or in aggregation points in the network, drive changes and control back to the edge device, or devices exchange analytics intelligence between each other. Regardless of the type of analytics paradigm or use case, the one constant is that data and the ability to make sense of it, is becoming a critical differentiator for the Internet of Things.

Gareth Noyes is responsible for Wind River corporate strategy and mergers and acquisitions (M&A) activities as well as for leading the chief technology office. In this capacity, he has led all acquisitions for Wind River since 2005, including the acquisition of Wind River by Intel® in 2009. Since then, he has also worked closely with M&A colleagues at Intel and Intel Capital on joint deals and investments. He joined the company in January 1999 and has held roles in various areas, including engineering, product management, business development, and strategic alliances. Prior to joining Wind River, he was a research scientist working at various European laboratories and universities, where he developed expertise in complex embedded control and data acquisition systems. He holds a Ph.D. in high-energy particle physics from the University of Birmingham (UK) and a B.Sc. in physics from Royal Holloway at the University of London.

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

L’analytique et l’Internet des Objets

 

gareth-noyesDepuis quelque temps l’analytique s’est imposé comme le concept à la mode, dans des domaines aussi variés que la valorisation des Big Data en entreprise, l’analyse des données du web, les équipements connectés ou même l’Internet des Objets. Sur ce dernier point, observons les différents paradigmes de l’analytique et ses exemples d’utilisation.

Par Gareth Noyes, Chief Strategy Officer, Wind River

Un des modèles analytiques courant est ce que l’on peut appeler le « stocker-et-analyser-plus tard », qui consiste à transférer d’énormes quantités de données vers des serveurs Cloud et des clusters Hadoop afin d’être analysées plus tard. Le problème avec cette approche, en particulier  compte tenu de la quantité d’informations qui croît sans cesse, est qu’il est impossible d’en réduire l’échelle et nous sommes donc rapidement submergés par une masse d’informations auxquelles nous sommes incapables de donner du sens. Imaginons a contrario un modèle où l’intelligence –permise par l’analytique–  est adaptée à chaque cas d’usage particulier et à la topologie d’un système donné, produisant de  l’ « intelligence où et quand on en a besoin ». Ce modèle implique la notion d’intelligence à plusieurs niveaux où chaque dispositif connecté dispose d’une dose d’autonomie configurable et d’autorité dans la de prise de décisions, ne se contentant plus d’agir en simple « générateur de données aveugle ».

A l’évidence, la bonne architecture dépend fortement de chaque cas d’utilisation et de son contexte. Prenons comme exemple un scenario de modélisation prédictif dans lequel des algorithmes complexes auto-apprenants à partir des données terrain tourneraient sur des serveurs puissants pour passer au crible des quantités énormes de données opérationnelles afin de construire un modèle prédictif de défaillance, applicable disons à une éolienne. Une fois le modèle généré « dans le cloud », il peut être transféré vers le système de contrôle de l’éolienne pour l’améliorer et lui conférer une plus grande autonomie de fonctionnement sans pannes.

De plus en plus de startups émergent dans le domaine de l’analytique, allant des bases de données temps réel en mémoire aux plates-formes entièrement dédiées à l’analytique. Les moteurs dédiés à l’analyse des flux de données en continu constituent un domaine particulièrement intéressant. Il s’agit d’un aspect de l’analytique diamétralement opposé au scenario du stockage immédiat et de l’analyse tardive de l’information, décrit plus haut. Les données sont traitées pour être analysées sur le vif. Cette technologie s’adapte mieux en général à des situations où l’analytique s’effectue à plusieurs niveaux.

Une autre approche de l’analytique, qui devient de plus en plus importante pour l’Internet des Objets, est ce que j’appellerai l’analytique à sens-unique par opposition à l’analytique en circuit fermé. L’analytique à sens unique est le transfert efficace de données vers le cloud à des fins de stockage et de virtualisation, nécessitant une intervention humaine pour en faire des interprétations intelligentes. L’utilisation en circuit fermé constitue un cas vraiment intéressant car l’analytique – aussi bien dans le cloud que dans des points d’agrégation au sein du réseau –   y contrôle les changements ainsi que les retours des machines connectées, chaque dispositif échangeant de l’intelligence analytique avec les autres.

Quel que soit le paradigme analytique ou son contexte d’utilisation, on peut retenir que les données et la capacité de leur donner un sens sont en train de devenir un facteur de différenciation déterminant de l’Internet des Objets.

 

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -