Afghanistan’s Digital Future

The new government of Afghanistan has not yet decided on the timing of entering new biometric identity cards in operation. The project is born in 2010 and came after the episodes of violence that followed the 2009 presidential elections marred by corruption.

The launch of a biometric identity card has been considered a crucial step towards electoral transparency and progress towards democracy because votes will be based on information relating to each registered voter. But a sensitive issue appeared which blocked the launch of the ID Card, because of ethnicity.

Some believe that only the word “Afghan” should be mentioned in the nationality field, while others require that ethnicity would be mentioned. Others, again, believe that all references to nationality or ethnic origin should be omitted by only showing the official name of the country, the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan.

In fact, Afghanistan is a multi-ethnic society of 31 million citizens, but members of the Pashtun group (42% of the population) regard themselves as the true heirs of the name “Afghan”. As a result, they want to be distinguished from members of other small ethnic groups such as Tajiks, Hazaras and Baloch. Afghanistan’s history has been marked by a series of bloody conflicts between different tribal groups and the opposition still continues in today’s society, rural or urban, wanting to emphasize the difference with any radical group supported by fundamentalist ideas related to Islam.

The government plans to link the ethnicity of every person on the chip of the card, without making it visible on the ID Card. The declaration of nationality would also be deleted. These arrangements would nevertheless be consistent with international standards.

But the Pashtuns of Afghanistan feel frustrated to be left out of decision-making at the national level. For their part, ethnic minorities argue that the use of “Afghan” (historically synonymous with Pashtun) allows a tribe to strengthen its dominant position. Tempers flare and the question of nationality (and national IDentity Card) has become a “life or death” matter. In short, what is proposed to improve the lives of citizens in the frame work digital future has become one of the toughest battles ahead. See more in www.equaltimes.org/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

L’avenir numérique de l’Afghanistan

Le nouveau gouvernement d’Afghanistan n’a pas encore décidé du calendrier d’introduction des nouvelles cartes d’identité biométrique. Le projet date pourtant de 2010 et il fait suite aux épisodes de violence qui ont suivi l’élection présidentielle en 2009 entachée par la corruption.

Le lancement d’une carte d’identité biométrique a été considéré comme une étape cruciale vers la transparence électorale et la marche vers la démocratie, car les votes reposent sur les informations relatives à chaque électeur inscrit. Mais une question sensible est apparue, qui a bloqué le lancement de la carte, relative à l’appartenance ethnique.

Certains estiment que seulement la mention «Afghan» devrait figurer dans le champ de la nationalité, alors que d’autres exigent que l’appartenance ethnique soit mentionnée. D’autres, encore, pensent que toutes les références relatives à la nationalité ou à l’origine ethnique devraient être omises, en ne mettant en évidence seulement que le nom officiel du pays, la République islamique d’Afghanistan.

En réalité, l’Afghanistan est une société multi-ethnique de 31 millions de citoyens, mais les membres du groupe Pachtounes (42 % de la population) se considèrent comme les véritables héritiers de la dénomination «afghane». En conséquence, ils souhaitent être distingués des membres des autres petits groupes ethniques, tels que les Tadjiks, Hazaras et Baloutches. L’histoire de l’Afghanistan a été marquée par une série de conflits sanglants entre les différents groupes tribaux, et cette opposition se prolonge encore dans la société aujourd’hui, rurale ou urbaine, voulant souligner la différence avec  un quelconque groupe radical soutenu par des idées fondamentalistes liées à l’Islam.

Le gouvernement envisage relier l’origine ethnique de chaque personne sur la puce de la carte, sans la rendre visible sur la carte. La déclaration de nationalité serait également supprimée. Ces dispositions seraient néanmoins conformes avec les normes internationales.

Mais les Pachtounes d’Afghanistan se sentent frustrés d’être mis à l’écart du processus de prise de décision au niveau national. Pour leur part, les minorités ethniques font valoir que l’utilisation du terme «afghane» (historiquement synonyme de Pachtounes), permet à une tribu de renforcer sa position dominante. Les esprits s’échauffent et la question de la nationalité (et de la carte nationale d’identité) est devenue une question de «vie ou de mort». En bref, ce qui est proposé pour améliorer la vie des citoyens dans le cadre d’un futur numérique est devenu l’une des plus dures batailles à venir. Voir aussi www.equaltimes.org/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -