Facial recognition challenge

Facial recognition allows biometric verification in all situations. It is the subject of much research for safety-related applications (criminal identification, verification of traveler identity, security control in companies). For commercial applications, facial recognition should enable secure online transactions.

It is based on automatic feature recognition of faces (distance between the eyes, the edges of the nose, corners of the mouth, ears, chin, etc.) compared with those registered in advance in a database. The development of 3D sensors, of softwares associated with the study of moving faces, profile views, the aging models still opens the hope of many improvements.

The effectiveness of the facial recognition depends on several key factors, including the quality of the image, identification algorithms and the availability of reliable databases. The most interesting application seems to be the buyer authentication in online shopping, instead of communicating a password. But there is still some reluctance to overcome, notably that of protection of personal privacy. Nevertheless, the Russian site FindFace offers the opportunity to find a person on the Internet using a single photograph taken with a smartphone. A basic 300 million photos of data would achieve a similar accuracy of 70%, say the managers of the Russian social network Vkontakte and of N-Tech.Lab creator. China is no exception in this area, but international copyright rules forbid us to say more about the revolutionary application that is being developed for online shopping. See also www.morpho.com/  https://fr.sputniknews.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Le défi de la reconnaissance faciale

La reconnaissance faciale permet d’effectuer une vérification biométrique dans toutes les situations. Elle fait l’objet de nombreuses recherches pour des applications liées à la sécurité (identification de criminels, vérification de l’identité des voyageurs, contrôle de sécurité dans les entreprises). Pour les applications commerciales, la reconnaissance faciale devrait permettre la sécurisation des transactions en ligne.

Elle repose sur la reconnaissance automatique des caractéristiques des visages (écartement des yeux, des arêtes du nez, des commissures des lèvres, des oreilles, menton, etc.) avec comparaison avec celles déposées au préalable dans une base de données. Le développement de capteurs 3D, des logiciels associés à l’étude des visages en mouvement, aux vues de profil, aux modèles de vieillissement ouvre encore l’espoir de nombreux perfectionnements.

L’efficacité de la reconnaissance faciale dépend de plusieurs facteurs clés, dont la qualité de l’image, des algorithmes d’identification et de la disponibilité de bases de données fiables. L’application la plus porteuse sur le plan commercial semble être celle de l’authentification pour les achats en ligne, à la place de la communication d’un mot de passe. Mais il demeure encore des réticences à vaincre, notamment celle de protection de la vie privée. Malgré tout, le site russe FindFace offre la possibilité de retrouver sur Internet une personne à l’aide d’une simple photographie prise avec un Smartphone. Une base de données de 300 millions de photos permettrait d’atteindre une précision proche de 70%, estiment les gestionnaires du réseau social russe Vkontakte et le créateur de N-Tech.Lab. La Chine n’est pas en reste dans ce domaine, mais les règles internationales du copyright nous interdisent d’en dire plus sur l’application révolutionnaire qui est en cours de développement pour les achats en ligne. Voir aussi www.morpho.com/   https://fr.sputniknews.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -