Emergency Call Standards (911 and 112 Services)

In IP protocol networks, it has been agreed, for emergency calls, to set up special infrastructures so that the public can transmit text, images, videos and data from the terminal used to the 9-1- 1 in North America and 112 Centers in Europe.

However, the adoption of these evolved technologies in emergency communications between citizens and public authorities faces a series of barriers, including the lack of harmonized and interoperable solutions. Different initiatives worldwide are addressing the need for specifying a stable IP-based next generation emergency communications framework.

The National Emergency Number Association (NENA) initiated development activities in 2003 and in March 2016, a public consultation was opened in the United States to define the services that should be offered. In 2015, the FCC launched a national working group.

The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) Special Committee (SC) on Emergency Communications (EMTEL) has been specifically focused on emergency communications, including emergency call services, caller location enhanced emergency services, and public safety communication systems.

It is estimated that approximately 320 million emergency calls are made every year in the European Union. At the same time, multimedia applications and voice over IP (VoIP)-based devices have become commonplace, and citizens use them to conveniently communicate, sending and receiving multi-modal information. Among several standardized and proprietary over-the-top (OTT) VoIP solutions available today, voice over LTE (VoLTE) seems to be playing a significant role in the near future, as predominant access to emergency services from fourth generation (4G) broadband mobile networks. In fact, more than 60 percent of emergency calls are already from mobile devices in the EU.

Nevertheless, the existing legacy emergency services infrastructure (circuit switched telephony for 112 telephone calls, not data) is not designed in a way that enables interaction with enhanced services, or current and future communications and operational requirements to be met.

NG911

NG911/NG112 systems are designed to close the gap between the quickly evolving technologies (fixed and mobile IP-based communications) and the more conservative approaches required by the emergency communications industry (including public administrations).

Tin North America, the NG9-1-1 vision is based on a specific application functionality on an ESInet (Emergency Services IP Backbone Network) to provide voice, video, Text and data to PSAP, a “Public Safety Answering Point”. The protocol used to provide these “calls” will be Session Initiation Protocol (SIP), or IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS, which incorporates SIP). The functional and interface standards developed by NENA describe general SIP and IMS architectures that allow 9-1-1 managers flexibility in developing an infrastructure to support the intended functionality of the NG9-1-1.

In the current 9-1-1 environment introduced in the 1960s, the public can only dial emergency calls and teleprinter calls (for deaf or hard of hearing people). Only the minimum data is provided with these calls, such as automatic identification of numbers, subscriber name and automatic location identification, where available.
Progress in the implementation of NG communication services based on these specifications is slow. Many technical challenges will have to be resolved, as will many political and financial issues.

Progress in the implementation of NG communication services based on these specifications is slow. Many technical challenges will have to be resolved, as will many political and financial issues.

The planning and pre-deployment of NG911 in Illinois rural area in the United States shows how collaboration between industry, academia and standards and regulatory bodies was used to modernize emergency services, providing a template for similar efforts expected in the future.

NG112

In recent years, a large number of “SOS” and “Help” applications have been created. Almost all European emergency services have been contacted by developers who wanted to send data and establish a voice connection directly to 112. Different solutions have been built on heterogeneous technologies that are not generally interoperable. This may explain why some public authorities have already developed their own official applications that can only be used by citizens living in a certain geographic area and may not work properly if they are used outside the boundaries of a certain PSAP.

Two Classes of Standard

The use of standardized or industry-adopted technologies may help to overcome this heterogeneity in emergency apps and OTT VoIP services. Different technologies can be identified as prevailing candidate solutions, including the use of WebRTC or the mobile industry supported Rich Communications Suite (RCS). However, none of the solutions have really gained the required wide support in the emergency communications world.

In the future, the public will be able to launch voice, text or video emergency calls from any communication device via networks using the Internet protocol. The PSAP of tomorrow will also be able to receive data from personal security devices such as Advanced Automatic Collision Notification systems, medical alert systems, and sensors of various types. The new infrastructure envisaged by Project NG9-1-1 will support the national interconnection of 9-1-1 services, as well as the transfer of emergency calls to other PSAPs, including related data. The PSAP should be able to issue emergency alerts to wireless devices in an area through voice or text messages, and to road alert systems.

The Next Generation 911 (NG911) technology will be enriched with the challenges and solutions implemented by providing emergency NG communications to communities, as well as validation and new services such as Emergency Services In vehicles.

In summary, it can be observed that the major standardization efforts concerning next generation citizen-to-PSAP communications (from ETSI, IETF, etc.) are based on IP-based networks and SIP communications, with different flavors and architectural specifications.

It must be noted that the scopes of the EENA NG112 and ETSI NTECH working groups are different. ETSI NTECH is focused on the standardization of a general solution for emergency caller location acquisition and transport, which is valid for heterogeneous deployment alternatives including current and next generation communications systems. While NENA and EENA architectures are based on the concept of a unified ESInet with a common SIP-based signaling suite, ETSI NTECH develops its solution taking into account the complex deployment context where each European PSAP may be served by one or more national network operators. Due to national regulatory requirements, network-provided location information is used, and the voice service provider (VSP) gets the routing information from the location server (LS) based on a new extension to HTIP-enabled location delivery (HELD).

European Test Bed

In March 2016, ETSI and EENA co-organized the first emergency communications interoperability test in Europe. Thirteen vendors participated in the tests, providing different FEs including different types of user equipments (UEs) and PSAPs, mobile apps, IP/IMS/UC/PSTN access networks and different ESInet elements such as BCF, LIS, ESRP, and ECRF. In addition to NG112 industry partners, seven external international observers attended the event in order to get first-hand experience from the current situation of the NG112 developments.

Conclusions

Mobile broadband technologies are quickly evolving, adding the possibility for end users to adopt enhanced multi-modal communications in their daily communications. However, the use of these novel multimedia capabilities is hardly incorporated into the overall management of emergency services due to the lack of standardized solutions.

The EENA NG112 LTD solution has now been passed to a first testing phase, where different interoperability events will be organized under the auspices of ETSI and with the support of the EC.

In Europe, the European Emergency Number Association released the NG112 Long Term Definition document, which is targeted to close the gap between the evolved needs of the end users and the public authorities in emergency management.

The EENA NG112 LTD solution has now passed to a first testing phase, where different interoperability events will be organized under the auspices of ETSI and with the support of the EC. As a result of these interoperability events, it is expected to validate the maturity of the architectural solution and the associated commercial products. Additionally, these events will provide valuable feedback to re-design and fine-tune the NG112 architecture.

As a step toward the adoption of the NG112 LTD document as a European-wide solution, and after the experimental validation of the proposal, it is expected that the document will be submitted for consideration as an ETSI standard. In this sense, the NG112 LTD solution needs to fulfill the specifications related to caller location procedures provided by the ETSI NTECH working group, with special focus on the ESInet-based deployment. See also www.comsoc.org/ [IEEE Communications Magazine, vol 55/1, January 2017]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Les normes relatives aux appels d’urgence (911 et 112)

Dans les nouveaux réseaux qui utilisent le protocole IP, des infrastructures spécifiques aux appels d’urgence doivent être mises en place, afin que le public puisse transmettre, à partir du terminal utilisé, du texte, des images, des vidéos et des données. En Amérique du Nord, ce service d’urgence s’appelle le 9-1-1 et en Europe, il s’agit du service 112.

L’adoption des technologies évoluées liées aux communications d’urgence entre les citoyens et les autorités publiques rencontre une série d’obstacles, notamment du fait de l’absence de solutions interopérables. Différentes initiatives ont été lancées à travers le monde afin de définir un cadre de communications d’urgence de prochaine génération basé sur IP.

Aux Etats-Unis, la National Emergency Number Association (NENA) a entamé des travaux de développement en 2003. En mars 2016, une consultation publique a été ouverte afin de définir les services qui devraient être offerts. En 2015, la FCC a lancé un groupe de travail national.

De même, en Europe, le Comité spécial sur les communications d’urgence (EMTEL) de l’Institut Européen des Normes de Télécommunications (ETSI) s’est concentré sur le thème des communications d’urgence, y compris pour les services d’appel d’urgence, les services d’urgence améliorés et les systèmes de communication de sécurité publique.

On estime qu’environ 320 millions d’appels d’urgence sont lancés chaque année au sein de l’Union européenne. Dans le même temps, les applications multimédias et les dispositifs basés sur la voix sur IP (VoIP) sont devenus monnaie courante, et les citoyens les utilisent pour communiquer, envoyer et recevoir des informations multimodales. Parmi les solutions VoIP disponibles aujourd’hui, la voix sur LTE (VoLTE) semble jouer un rôle important dans un proche avenir, car l’accès prédominant aux services d’urgence de la quatrième génération (4G) de réseau mobile. En effet, plus de 60% des appels d’urgence dans l’UE proviennent d’appareils mobiles.

Néanmoins, l’infrastructure existante des services d’urgence existants (téléphonie par circuits commutés pour les appels téléphoniques 112) n’est pas conçue de manière à permettre une interaction avec des services améliorés ou en relation avec des exigences actuelles et futures en matière de communications et d’exploitation.

NG911

Les nouveaux systèmes NG911 / NG112 sont conçus pour combler l’écart entre les technologies en évolution rapide (communications IP fixes et mobiles) et les approches plus conservatrices requises par l’industrie des communications d’urgence (y compris les administrations publiques).

En Amérique du Nord, la vision NG9-1-1 s’appuie sur une fonctionnalité d’application sur un réseau IP de services d’urgence (ESInet, Emergency Services IP Backbone Network) pour fournir des «appels» vocaux, vidéo, textuels et de données au point PSAP de réponse de sécurité publique (Public Safety Answering Point). Le protocole défini pour fournir ces «appels» est le protocole SIP (Session Initiation Protocol), ou IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS, qui incorpore le SIP). Les normes fonctionnelles et d’interface développées par NENA décrivent des architectures SIP et IMS générales qui permettent une souplesse dans le développement d’une infrastructure pour supporter les fonctionnalités envisagées du NG9-1-1.

Dans l’environnement 9-1-1 mis en place dans les années 1960, le public ne peut composer que des appels vocaux d’urgence et des appels de téléimpression (pour des personnes sourdes ou malentendantes). Seules, des données minimales sont fournies avec ces appels, telles que l’identification automatique des numéros, le nom de l’abonné et l’identification automatique des emplacements, lorsqu’ils sont disponibles.

Les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre des services de communication NG911 basés sur ces spécifications sont lents. De nombreux défis techniques devront être résolus, de même que de nombreux enjeux politiques et financiers.

La planification et le pré-déploiement du NG911 dans un exemple rural aux États-Unis (Illinois) a montré comment la collaboration entre l’industrie, le milieu universitaire et les organismes normatifs a été utilisée pour moderniser les services d’urgence régionaux, fournissant un modèle pour des efforts similaires attendus à l’avenir.

NG112

Ces dernières années, un grand nombre d’applications « SOS » et « Help » ont été créées. Presque tous les services d’urgence européens ont été contactés par des développeurs qui souhaitaient envoyer des données et établir une connexion vocale directement vers le 112. Différentes solutions reposent sur des technologies hétérogènes qui ne sont généralement pas interopérables. Cela peut expliquer pourquoi certaines autorités publiques ont déjà élaboré leurs propres demandes officielles qui ne peuvent être utilisées que par des citoyens vivant dans une certaine zone géographique et peuvent ne pas fonctionner correctement s’ils sont utilisés en dehors des limites de certains PSAP.

Deux familles de normes

L’utilisation de technologies normalisées ou adoptées par l’industrie peut aider à surmonter cette hétérogénéité dans les applications d’urgence et les services VoIP OTT. Différentes technologies peuvent être identifiées comme des solutions candidates présentes, y compris l’utilisation de WebRTC ou le support de l’industrie mobile Rich Communications Suite (RCS). Cependant, aucune des solutions n’a vraiment gagné le large soutien requis dans le monde des communications d’urgence.

Dans le futur, le public pourra lancer des appels d’urgence vocaux, textuels ou vidéo à partir de n’importe quel appareil de communication via des réseaux utilisant le protocole Internet. Le PSAP de demain sera également en mesure de recevoir des données de dispositifs de sécurité personnelle tels que les systèmes « Advanced Automatic Collision Notification », les systèmes d’alerte médicale, et les capteurs de différents types. La nouvelle infrastructure envisagée par le projet NG9-1-1 soutiendra l’interconnexion nationale des services 9-1-1, ainsi que le transfert des appels d’urgence à d’autres PSAP, y compris les données connexes. Le PSAP devra être en mesure d’émettre des alertes d’urgence à des appareils sans fil dans une zone par le biais de messages vocaux ou texte, et aux systèmes d’alerte routière.

La technique de la prochaine génération 911 (NG911), s’enrichira des défis et des solutions mis en œuvre en apportant des communications d’urgence NG aux communautés, ainsi qu’en matière de validation et de nouveaux services tels que Services d’urgence à bord des véhicules.

En résumé, on remarque que les principaux efforts de normalisation (ETSI, IETF, etc.) concernant la prochaine génération de communications citoyennes-PSAP sont basés sur des réseaux en protocole IP et des communications SIP, avec des spécificités architecturales et des montages différents.

Il convient de noter que les champs de compétence des groupes de travail EENA NG112 et ETSI NTECH sont également différents. ETSI NTECH se concentre sur la standardisation d’une solution générale pour l’acquisition et le transport d’emplacement d’appel d’urgence, qui est valable pour des solutions de déploiements hétérogènes incluant les systèmes de communication actuels et de prochaine génération. Alors que les architectures NENA et EENA sont basées sur le concept d’un ESInet unifié avec une suite de signalisation SIP commune, ETSI NTECH développe sa solution en tenant compte du contexte de déploiement complexe où chaque PSAP européen peut être desservi par un ou plusieurs exploitants de réseaux nationaux. En raison des exigences réglementaires nationales, des informations de localisation fournies par le réseau sont utilisées, et le fournisseur de services vocaux (VSP) obtient les informations de routage à partir du serveur de localisation (LS) en fonction d’une nouvelle extension à HELD.

Essais européens

En mars 2016, l’ETSI et EENA ont organisé le premier test d’interopérabilité des communications d’urgence en Europe. Treize fournisseurs ont participé aux tests, fournissant différents, y compris différents types d’équipements utilisateur (UE) et PSAP, applications mobiles, réseaux d’accès IP / IMS / UC / RTC et différents éléments ESInet tels que BCF, LIS, ESRP et ECRF. En plus des partenaires de l’industrie NG112, sept observateurs internationaux externes ont assisté à l’événement afin d’acquérir une expérience directe de la situation actuelle des développements NG112.

Conclusions

Les technologies à large bande mobile évoluent rapidement. Cependant, l’utilisation de ces nouvelles capacités multimédias n’est guère intégrée à la gestion globale des services d’urgence en raison du manque de solutions normalisées.

La solution EENA NG112 LTD est maintenant passée à une première phase de test, où différents événements d’interopérabilité seront organisés sous les auspices de l’ETSI et avec le soutien de la CE.

En Europe, l’European Emergency Number Association a publié le document « NG112 Long Term Definition », qui vise à combler l’écart entre les besoins évolués des utilisateurs et les autorités publiques en matière de gestion des urgences.

La solution EENA NG112 LTD est maintenant passée à une première phase de test, où différents événements d’interopérabilité seront organisés sous les auspices de l’ETSI et avec le soutien de la CE. À la suite de ces événements d’interopérabilité, il est prévu de valider la maturité de la solution architecturale et des produits commerciaux associés. De plus, ces événements fourniront de précieux commentaires pour redessiner et affiner l’architecture NG112.

Comme étape vers l’adoption du document NG112 LTD comme une solution à l’échelle européenne, et après la validation expérimentale de la proposition, il est prévu que le document sera soumis pour examen comme une norme ETSI. Dans ce sens, la solution NG112 LTD devrait répondre aux spécifications relatives aux procédures de localisation des appelants fournies par le groupe de travail ETSI NTECH, en mettant l’accent sur le déploiement ESInet. Voir www.comsoc.org/ [IEEE Communications Magazine, vol 55/1, 2017]

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -