ETSI issues new specification for M2M modules

ETSI’s Industry Specification Group for Surface Mount Technique has released its Group Specification for Embedded Communication Modules for Machine to Machine Communications (M2).  ETSI’s specification for embedded communication modules, “GS SMT 001”, provides common physical specifications or form factors and common electrical characteristics for modules. This will enable widespread adoption of common form factors allowing easier transition to next generation communication modules, will ease development for device vendors due to consistent designs and offer a second source option for integrators.

Embedded communication modules based on surface mount technology, where the module is soldered directly on the main circuit board, offer significant advantages in terms of cost and flexibility of the manufacturing process when integrating communications functionality into a larger device or system.

Any Machine to Machine application, whether it be a tablet, eReader, personal health monitoring device or a smart utility meter, relies on a hardware module that provides 2G, 3G or 4G connectivity. These modules must be very small and must withstand extreme temperatures, vibrations or other physical conditions. As wireless devices proliferate, the market for such modules expands and a specification was needed.

The specification covers electrical as well as mechanical aspects including the I/O interfaces, their assignment to pads, pad placement and module dimensions. It also takes into account environmental considerations which affect electrical and mechanical aspects. The group specification covers the majority of use cases for embedded wireless modules.  Yet not every pad or function is fully characterized thus leaving room for custom flexibility and future functionalities. Module suppliers may select which interfaces, capabilities, and configuration they intend to supply, based on their market demand.

ETSI GS SMT 001 will facilitate economies of scale, allowing communication capabilities to be integrated into more and more devices and products, and will become an important hidden enabler for widespread adoption of Machine to Machine communications, leading to the Internet of Things. See more in www.etsi.org/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Normalisation du M2M par l’ETSI

L’ETSI vient de publier une nouvelle spécification relative aux modules intégrés pour les communications de Machine à Machine (M2M). Ces spécifications pour modules de communication intégrés, référencées GS SMT 001, fournissent une description des aspects physiques communs, des facteurs de forme et des caractéristiques électriques communes relatifs aux modules M2M. Ces textes devraient permettre une adoption plus large de ces équipements et une transition plus facile vers les modules de communication de prochaine génération. Ils devraient également faciliter le développement de périphériques de conception cohérente et offrir une seconde option de fourniture pour les intégrateurs.

Les modules de communication intégrés sont soudés directement sur la carte principale du circuit de montage, ce qui offre des avantages significatifs en termes de coût et de flexibilité du processus de fabrication lors de l’intégration des fonctionnalités de communication dans un dispositif ou système plus large.

Que ce soit une application de machine à machine, ou un dispositif de surveillance de la santé personnelle ou un sous ensemble de compteur d’énergie relié à un module qui fournit la connectivité 2G, 3G ou 4G, ces modules sont très petits et ils doivent résister à des températures extrêmes, aux vibrations et à d’autres conditions physiques. Compte tenu du développement de la téléphonie sans fil, le marché de ces modules s’étend et un cahier des charges a paru indispensable.

Les spécifications couvrent l’aspect électrique et mécanique, les interfaces d’entrées, leur affectation à des bornes, le positionnement des électrodes et les dimensions des modules. Elles prennent également en compte les considérations environnementales qui affectent les aspects électriques et mécaniques. La spécification générale couvre la majorité des cas d’utilisation pour les modules sans fil intégrés. Les marges de manœuvre d’emploi et des fonctionnalités futures ont été précisées.

La norme ETSI GS 001 SMT facilitera les économies d’échelle, autorisant des capacités de communication et d’intégration dans un grand nombre d’appareils et de produits, dans le cadre de l’internet des objets. Voir aussi www.etsi.org/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -