Progress of 4G / LTE mobile technology

LTE (Long Term Evolution) technology is often referred as” 4G” for marketing purposes. The LTE represents an advance in the flow of cellular networks, but the term “evolution” reminds us that progress is still awaited. The “real” 4G should reach speeds of 100 Mbps during a displacement and 1 Gbps at a standstill.

LTE mobile communication technology is the fastest growing technology in the world. The historical milestone of 500 commercially open networks was achieved in 77 months from the first launch of the service, nearly 5 years less than the time taken by 3G / WCDMA systems, and 6 months faster than HSPA. The Global Mobile Suppliers Association (GSA) estimates that at least 550 LTE networks were commercially opened in late 2016 in more than 170 countries.

Approximately one-quarter of LTE operators have relied on LTE-Advanced systems. Others have turned to Pro LTE-Advanced technologies, sometimes called 4.5G. The number of LTE and LTE-Advanced subscriptions reached 1,835 billion worldwide in November 2016, including 40% for China’s 4G. The size of the market generates a significant impact on the global mobile ecosystem, not only in the peripheral and infrastructure market, but also in the development of new technologies. In 2017, the focus will be on migrating customers from 2G / 3G to 4G. To accelerate migration, Chinese operators will strengthen their retail chains to provide more clustering options between devices, content and data. They will also be active on the development of NB-IoT (Narrow Band-Internet of Things) and digital services. The Chinese government opens the door to private companies investing in state-owned telecoms operators. If the big Internet giants, such as Baidu, Alibaba or Tencent, invest in China Unicom, they also shake the Chinese telecommunications industry.

LTE networks are evolving at different rates around the world. Download speeds in LTE in Singapore, South Korea and Hungary reach more than 40 Mbp s. Globally, the average LTE connection is 17.4 Mbps. In India, the average LTE bit rate is 6.4 Mbps, compared to 14 Mbps for the United States.

In France, much of the territory is now covered in 4G. At the end of 2016, 27,090 sites are in use in France out of a total of 31,180 sites. For the metropole, the distribution of 4G sites in service is first Bouygues Telecom (11,100 sites), then SFR (10,565 sites), Orange (10,300 sites) and Free Mobile (7,838 sites). The number of 4G antennas active in the DOM-TOM increased from 179 to 815 in one year. For now, apart from local players, only Orange and Outremer Telecom (SFR Group) have deployed their network there. 4G has therefore made good progress in France and efforts still need to be made to ensure full coverage of the territory. See also www.anfr.fr/ www.cellular-news.com/

 

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Progression de la technologie mobile 4G/LTE

La technologie LTE (Long Term Evolution) est souvent évoquée sous le sigle 4G à des fins de marketing. La LTE représente une avancée dans les débits des réseaux cellulaires, mais le terme «évolution» rappelle que des progrès sont encore attendus. La «vraie» 4G devrait atteindre des débits de 100 Mbit/s pendant un déplacement et de 1 Gbit/s à l’arrêt.

La technologie de communication mobile LTE est celle qui s’est développée le plus rapidement dans le monde. L’étape historique de 500 réseaux ouverts commercialement a été atteinte en 77 mois à partir du premier lancement du service, soit près de 5 ans de moins que le temps pris par les systèmes 3G / WCDMA, et 6 mois plus rapidement que les systèmes HSPA. L’Association GSA (Global mobile Suppliers Association) estime qu’au moins 550 réseaux LTE ont été ouverts commercialement à la fin 2016 dans plus de 170 pays. Environ le quart des exploitants de réseau LTE se sont appuyés sur l’option des systèmes LTE-Advanced. D’autres se sont orientés vers des technologies Pro LTE-Advanced, parfois appelées 4.5G.

Le nombre d’abonnements LTE et LTE-Advanced avait atteint 1,835 milliard dans le monde en novembre 2016, dont 40 % pour la 4G de la Chine. La taille du marché génère un impact significatif sur l’écosystème mobile mondial, non seulement sur le marché des périphériques et des infrastructures, mais aussi sur le développement des nouvelles technologies. En 2017, l’accent sera mis sur la migration des clients de 2G / 3G vers 4G. Pour accélérer la migration, les exploitants chinois renforceront leurs chaînes de vente au détail pour offrir davantage d’options de regroupement entre les périphériques, le contenu et les données. Ils seront également actifs sur le développement NB-IoT (Internet des Objets à bas débit) et les services numériques. Le gouvernement chinois ouvre la porte à des entreprises privées investissant dans des exploitants télécoms appartenant à l’État. Si les grands géants de l’Internet, tels que Baidu, Alibaba ou Tencent, investissent dans China Unicom, ils secouent aussi l’industrie chinoise des télécommunications.

Les réseaux LTE évoluent à des rythmes différents à travers le monde. Les débits de téléchargement en LTE à Singapour, en Corée du Sud et en Hongrie atteignent plus de 40 Mbit/s. Sur le plan mondial, la connexion LTE moyenne atteint de 17,4 Mbps. En Inde, le débit moyen en LTE est de 6.4 Mbit/s, à comparer aux 14 Mbit/s pour les États-Unis.

En France, une bonne partie du territoire est désormais couverte en 4G. A la fin de 2016, 27 090 sites sont en service en France sur un total de 31 180 sites. Pour la métropole, la répartition des sites 4G en service s’établit ainsi Bouygues Telecom (11 100 sites), SFR (10 565 sites), Orange (10 300 sites) et Free Mobile (7 838 sites). Le nombre d’antennes 4G en activité dans les DOM-TOM est passé de 179 à 815 en un an. Pour l’instant, hormis les acteurs locaux, seuls Orange et Outremer Telecom (groupe SFR) y ont déployé leur réseau. La 4G a donc bien progressé en France et il demeure encore des efforts à accomplir pour que la couverture totale du territoire soit assurée. Voir aussi www.anfr.fr/ www.cellular-news.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -