Personal liability and “secure tunnel” for sensitive data

The transmission of sensitive data is sanctioned by the HIPAA Privacy and Security Rules. The perpetrator of this type of offense and his / her employer risk a large fine because the sensitive data often belong to third parties. This is true for medical data and will also be valid for data from the Internet of Things.

The use of an unsecured wireless network is a common practice for physicians and business executives who spend a lot of time in airports, hotel rooms or in Wi-Fi cafés. Risk of infection by malicious software or interception of a message containing protected health information (PHI) by an unauthorized third party is very real. If you do not take precautions, anyone can take control of your mobile device when using a public Wi-Fi connection. The hacker can open, view and download information.

There are several ways to protect the sending of a PHI (Physiological Healthcare Information) health message that uses a public Wi-Fi system. The first, and the best method would be to never use a public Wi-Fi connection. Otherwise, a secure tunnel must be established.

In medical practice with a limited IT budget, the use of a virtual private network (VPN) can be considered because it encrypts the sensitive information that is sent or received. Providers offer VPN services that do not require setting up the network from the base. It is also possible to encrypt the data from the mobile terminal

Theft of laptops with unencrypted data entails very large fines for the hospital or for the owner of the terminal responsible. Many health care organizations have been cited on the “Wall of Shame” for being negligent in this regard. Sensitive health data should not be disclosed to unauthorized third parties. The same applies to all sensitive data on the Internet of Things. See also www.medpagetoday.com/  www.imedicalapps.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Responsabilité personnelle et «Tunnel sécurisé» pour données sensibles

La transmission de données sensibles est sanctionnée par le code américain de la santé (HIPAA Privacy and Security Rules). L’auteur de ce type d’infraction et son employeur risquent une amende importante car les données sensibles appartiennent souvent à des tiers. Ceci est vrai pour les données médicales et sera aussi valable pour les données de l’Internet des Objets.

L’utilisation d’un réseau sans fil non sécurisé constitue une pratique fréquente pour les médecins et les dirigeants d’entreprise qui passent beaucoup de temps dans les aéroports, les chambres d’hôtel ou dans les cafés équipés en Wi-Fi. Mais le risque d’infection par un logiciel malveillant ou d’interception d’un message contenant des informations de santé protégées (PHI) par un tiers non autorisé est très réel. Si l’on ne prend pas certaines précautions, n’importe qui peut prendre le contrôle de votre appareil mobile lorsqu’il utilise une connexion Wi-Fi publique. Le pirate peut ouvrir, visualiser et télécharger des informations.

Il y a plusieurs façons de protéger l’envoi d’un message de santé PHI (physiological healthcare information) qui emprunte un système Wi-Fi public. La première, et la meilleure méthode consisterait à ne jamais utiliser une connexion Wi-Fi public. A défaut, il faut établir un tunnel sécurisé.

Dans la pratique médicale disposant d’un budget informatique limité, l’utilisation d’un réseau privé virtuel (VPN) peut être envisagée, car celui-ci chiffre les informations sensibles qui sont envoyées ou reçues. Des fournisseurs offrent des services VPN qui ne nécessitent pas de mettre en place le réseau à partir de la base. Il est aussi possible de chiffrer les données à partir du terminal mobile

Le vol d’ordinateurs portables à données non cryptés entraîne des amendes très importantes pour l’hôpital ou pour le propriétaire du terminal responsable. De nombreuses organisations de soins de santé ont été citées sur le « Mur de la Honte » pour avoir été négligentes à cet égard. Les données sensibles de santé ne doivent pas être divulguées à des tiers non autorisées. Il en est de même pour toutes les données sensibles de l’Internet des Objets.Voir aussi www.medpagetoday.com/  www.imedicalapps.com/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -