Personal Data Security : Fears and proposed cure

According to the recent study, State of Privacy, published by Symantec, the quality of customer service focuses on data security, a decisive factor in the purchase for 88% of consumers. Most French believe that businesses and the state do not take sufficient steps to protect their data. Only 20% of Europeans who trust in the retail sector for the protection of their data. Social networks that inspire confidence deal with 8% of French as regards to the management of private data. The French expect measures primarily from the state and businesses to better protect their data.

The recent report by Symantec “State of Privacy” led with seven thousand people, representative of the population in seven European countries including France, shows that 57% of Europeans are worried that their data is not secure. Nearly 59% of them have experienced a problem with the protection of their data in the past. The report highlights the growing consumer caution on this issue, their expectations in terms of protection and information, as well as for companies and for States, the increasing value of data. Given the results, Symantec believes that the reluctance of individuals to share their data will grow and will change their online behavior.

Elements, shown by Symantec study are revealing: 57% of Internet users avoid posting personal information online in order to protect their privacy. Data security has evolved to become a real priority for consumers and as soon as they fully realize, companies can gain a competitive advantage.

To address this concern, the European Regulation (GDPR, General Data Protection Regulation) concerning data protection should be effective in 2015. This legislation is little known companies and yet it should change the management and protection of data at European level. It concerns all businesses collecting, managing, and storing data and will primarily simplify and harmonize data protection in the 28 countries of the European Union. In case of non-compliance with the regulation by companies, fines of up to EUR 100 million or 5% of worldwide revenue will apply. The GDPR should clarify the responsibilities of each business contact data, facilitating compliance. The objective of GDPR is to face the new realities of the market, particularly in terms of data protection linked to social or cloud computing networks. Among the key measures: the right to be forgotten, stricter sanctions, the obligation for companies to communicate on cyber attacks they suffered, the importance of compliance at the design of a service / tool, the one-stop shop in companies that will be in charge of discussions in order to lead to a co-decision with legal effect throughout Europe. Once the process put in place, the company will apply for a European certificate, valid for five years, evidencing its compliance with GDPR. Also see www.symantec.com/ www.ipswitch.com/   www.globalsecuritymag.fr/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Sécurité des données privées : craintes et remède proposé

Selon l’étude récente, State of Privacy, publiée par Symantec, la qualité du service client porte sur la sécurité des données, facteur décisif dans l’acte d’achat pour 88 % des consommateurs. La plupart des Français estiment que les entreprises et l’Etat ne prennent pas suffisamment de mesures pour protéger leurs données. Il n’y a que 20 % des Européens qui font confiance au secteur de la distribution pour la protection de leurs données. Les réseaux sociaux n’inspirent confiance qu’à 8 % des Français pour ce qui concerne la gestion des données privées. Les Français attendent des mesures essentiellement de l’Etat et des entreprises pour une meilleure protection de leurs données.

Le récent rapport de Symantec « State of Privacy », conduit auprès de sept mille personnes, représentatives de la population de sept pays européens dont la France, montre que 57 % des Européens s’inquiètent du fait que leurs données ne soient pas sécurisées. Près de 59 % d’entre eux ont fait l’expérience d’un problème lié à la protection de leurs données dans le passé. Le rapport met en évidence la circonspection grandissante des consommateurs sur ce thème, leurs attentes en termes de protection et d’information, ainsi que, pour les entreprises comme pour les Etats, la valeur grandissante des données. Au vu des résultats, Symantec pense que la réticence des individus à partager leurs données va croître et va modifier leurs comportements en ligne.

Des éléments, montrés par l’étude de Symantec, sont révélateurs : 57 % des Internautes évitent de poster des informations personnelles en ligne afin de protéger leur vie privée. La sécurité des données a évolué pour devenir une véritable priorité pour les consommateurs et dès qu’elles le réaliseront pleinement, les entreprises pourront en tirer un avantage concurrentiel.

Pour répondre à cette inquiétude, le Règlement Européen (GDPR, General Data Protection Regulation) relatif à la protection des données devrait être effectif en 2015. Cette législation est peu connue des entreprises et devrait pourtant changer la gestion et la protection des données au niveau européen. Elle concerne toutes les entreprises collectant, gérant, ou stockant des données et aura pour but principal de simplifier et harmoniser la protection des données dans les 28 pays de l’union européenne. En cas de non-respect du règlement par les entreprises, des amendes allant jusqu’à 100 millions d’euros ou 5% du chiffre d’affaire mondial seront applicables. Le GDPR devrait clarifier les responsabilités de chaque entreprise en contact avec les données, facilitant ainsi la mise en conformité. L’objectif du GDPR est de faire face aux nouvelles réalités du marché, notamment en matière de protection des données liée aux réseaux sociaux ou encore au cloud computing. Parmi les mesures phares : le droit à l’oubli, des sanctions plus strictes, l’obligation pour les entreprises de communiquer sur les cyber-attaques dont elles ont été victimes, l’importance de la conformité dès la conception d’un service/outil, le guichet unique au sein des entreprises qui sera en charge des discussions afin d’aboutir à une codécision avec effets juridiques dans toute l’Europe. Une fois les processus mis en place, l’entreprise pourra demander un certificat européen, valable cinq ans, attestant sa conformité au GDPR. Voir également  www.symantec.com/  www.ipswitch.com/  www.globalsecuritymag.fr/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -