Support to the principle of Biometric Identification Card in Mauritius

Legal authorities of Mauritius confirmed the validity of the biometric ID card and have rejected calls that were made in front of the Court. The Law Lords also corrected an inconsistency in the judgment at first instance to the Supreme Court. The Law Lords believe that the records of fingerprints and data constitute a violation of the law relating to privacy and property as stated in Article 9 of the Constitution. However, such interference is justified under Article 9 under the rule on public order and protection of the rights and freedoms of individuals. Reasoning that joints the Supreme Court opinion.

The Privy Council noted that Article 3 of the Constitution, which relates to the rights and freedoms of the individual, requires a broad interpretation. It can create rights which are, first, non-existent. The Law Lords emphasize that the fingerprint records engages in no way respect for the privacy of citizens and does not give rise to any presumption of guilt.

The Privy Council, however, notes that the lack of a database could be an obstacle for the government in its fight against identity theft. But this was neither raised in front of the Supreme Court or on appeal. The Law Lords took the opportunity to correct an editorial inconsistency in the Supreme Court statement.

The argument relating to the limitation of the freedom of movement mentioned in Article 15 of the Constitution was also rejected by the Law Lords who consider that only persons authorized by law, which means the policemen, can require the production of the biometric identity card.

There are still several thousand Mauritians (10% of the adult population) who have not yet completed the formalities for obtaining the identity card and the deadline was set at 31 March 2017. But it remains yet a legal obstacle to settle before on certain aspects of the biometric identity card “that would not be consistent with the principles of a democratic state.” Common agreement between the opposition and government on the use of the new ID card is about to be negotiated. But a new opposition could be presented, some opponents arguing that the way in which consent to this administrative formality has been requested is of an “oppressive” character. The option of an appeal in front of the European Court of Human Rights or to the United Nations is understudied. http://defimedia.info/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Soutien du principe de la carte d’identité biométrique à l’Ile Maurice

Les instances juridiques de l’Ile Maurice ont confirmé la validité de la carte d’identité biométrique et elles ont rejeté les appels qui avaient été formulés devant la Cour. Les Law Lords ont aussi corrigé une incohérence dans le jugement présenté en première instance devant la Cour suprême. Les Law Lords estiment que la prise des empreintes et des données constituent une violation du droit relatif à la vie privée et à la propriété énoncé à l’article 9 de la Constitution. Néanmoins, de telles ingérences sont justifiées sous l’article 9 sous la rubrique relatif à l’ordre public et à la protection des droits et des libertés des individus. Un raisonnement qui va dans le sens de celui de la Cour suprême.

Le Privy Council note que l’article 3 de la Constitution, qui a trait aux droits et aux libertés fondamentales de l’individu, requiert une interprétation large. Il ne peut créer des droits qui sont, au préalable, inexistants. Les Law Lords font ressortir que la remise des empreintes digitales n’engage en aucune façon le respect de la vie privée du citoyen et ne donne pas lieu à aucune présomption de culpabilité.

Le Conseil privé note, toutefois, que l’absence d’une base de données pourrait constituer un obstacle pour le gouvernement dans son combat contre l’usurpation d’identité (identity theft). Mais ce point n’a été soulevé ni devant la Cour suprême, ni en appel. Les Law Lords en ont profité pour corriger une incohérence rédactionnelle dans le jugement de la Cour suprême.

L’argumentaire relatif à la restriction de la liberté de mouvement mentionné à l’article 15 de la Constitution a été également rejeté par les Law Lords qui considèrent que seules les personnes habilitées par la loi, donc les policiers, peuvent exiger la production de la carte d’identité biométrique.

Il demeure encore plusieurs milliers de Mauriciens (10 % de la population adulte) qui n’ont pas encore complété les formalités nécessaires à l’obtention de la carte d’identité et la date butoir a été fixée au 31 mars 2017. Mais il demeure encore un obstacle juridique à régler auparavant relatif à certains aspects de la carte d’identité biométrique « qui ne seraient pas en accord avec les principes d’un État démocratique ». Un terrain d’entente entre les opposants et le gouvernement sur l’usage de la nouvelle carte d’identité serait sur le point d’être négocié. Mais un nouveau recours pourrait être présenté, certains opposants estimant que la manière dont le consentement à cette formalité administrative a été demandée revêt un caractère « oppressif ». L’option d’un recours devant la Cour européenne des Droits de l’Homme ou devant les Nations unies est en cours d’étude. http://defimedia.info/

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -