Embedded Components & Systems

HID Global partners with Infineon Technologies (IFX) to enhance card flexibility for e-ID/Smart Card manufacturers

Partnership with Infineon Technologies AG to incorporate secure microcontroller chips in new HID Global ultra-thin Polycarbonate (PC) ePrelaminate inlay solution. HID Global, an expert in trusted identity solutions, today announced Infineon Technologies AG as a […]

Infineon joins GSMA: security and broadband expertise for mobile industry

Infineon Technologies AG has joined the GSMA, the association of the mobile industry to actively shape mobile communications of tomorrow. The GSMA unites nearly 800 mobile network operators worldwide with almost 300 companies in the […]

Universal power-supply for laptops

ITU, the International Telecommunications Union, has approved an environmentally friendly standard for a universal charger for laptops and other portable devices. The new standard provides for improved energy efficiency and reduced greenhouse gas emissions and […]

Valeo and Gemalto use the smartphone to secure the car key

Thanks to Valeo and Gemalto, drivers can now use their smartphone to lock, unlock and start their car control applications and have remote access via Bluetooth to useful data on the vehicle. This innovation, called […]

Hacking car through the driver’s smartphone

According to researchers from the Universities of New York and George Mason, vulnerabilities of the industry standard MirroLink exist in IVI entertainment connections made by smartphones (in-vehicle infotainment systems) on vehicles. Automakers indeed connect IVI […]

Improvement of the manufacturing process of silicon-on insulator (FD-SOI) over 12 nm

After 22 nm launched in 2015, the chipmaker Globalfoundries launches the actual manufacturing FD-SOI 12nm components process, which will be available from 2019 for the Internet of Things and 5G. The FD-SOI technology was developed […]

Ethics for portable medical devices

The entrance of portable electronics in the medical field is raising different problems and challenges the traditional standards. The mobile phone is now much more widespread than in the past and its computer processing power […]

AMS sells NFC RFID readers to ST

Austrian industrial AMS recently expanded its sensor manufacturer position through the purchase of Cambridge CMOS Sensors (CCMOSS) and MAZeT. Now, while retaining certain wireless products and IP to the next generation of sensors, AMS has […]

Objectives of Automotive IoT Industries

Two attributes that are considered highly desirable in memory for the burgeoning automotive and Internet of Things (IoT) markets are a small footprint and low power consumption, but in the automotive market in particular, simpler […]

Agreement on an European Cyber Security

As a founding member of the European Cyber Security Organization (ECSO), NXP has signed an agreement regarding the public-private partnership in the area of cyber security. Launched by NXP and other enterprises and institutions, ECSO […]

ST, Qualcomm team up on sensors for smartphones

STMicroelectronics NV and Qualcomm Technologies Inc. are set to collaborate on providing sensor subsystems for smart mobile equipment such as smartphones with the aim of extracting maximum performance and power efficiency. ST will provide inertial […]

Security Component for the Internet of Things

STMicroelectronics is selling a security component designed to protect devices connected to the Internet of Things (IoT) at Industrial and consumer levels. The objective of this component is to prevent hackers from making any attempt […]

Small Skin Circuits for e-Health IoT Apps

The University of Wisconsin-Madison has developed integrated circuits associable to the epidermis of the human body as part of the medical Internet of Things. Their work is based on the resources of the 5G wireless […]

Smart applications with SWCNT supercap

Researchers from Aalto University (Finland) and the Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology (Russia) have demonstrated a fully transparent electrochemical double-layer capacitor (EDLC) relying on single-walled carbon nanotube (SWCNT) films for their electrodes. The SWCNT […]

Semiconductors and security applications

The development of component technology led industry leaders to design components adapted to the management of computer systems or applications. Thus, artificial intelligence now require components designed for this activity and even, typical applications such […]

Evolution of vehicle technology and its consequences

The collision avoidance technology and driving support software (ADAS, advanced driver assist systems) will profoundly change our lives. The LIDAR process (Light Detection And Ranging) is a technology that measures the distance by illuminating a […]

Uncertainties over MEMS industry future

Last March, the Congress of Industrial specialized in MEMS & Sensors was held in Munich. It has addressed the issue of the production of MEMS (microelectromechanical sensors) in the coming decade. This theme has raised […]

A Thermal Imaging Smartphone

Bullitt Group, expert in rugged smartphones manufacturing will integrate the micro camera FLIR Lepton in the new Cat S60. This Android mobile terminal belongs to the range of Cat Phones rugged terminals. The Cat S60 […]

New Intel chips feature anti-hacker tech

Chipmaker Intel has announced its 6th-generation Intel Core vPro processor family, which now features the company’s Authenticate – a hardware-enhanced multifactor authentication solution that strengthens identity protection. The latest iteration of Intel Core vPro processors […]

The danger of connected cars

A recently filed class action lawsuit claims that Toyota, Ford and General Motors would knowingly put consumers at risk by selling cars including connected features likely to be controlled remotely by hackers. The complaint filed […]

How to Secure Mobile Transactions by NFC Link

Ams and STMicroelectronics companies have developed a system that combines NFC from ams and a NFC controller to the secure element from ST. This pairing allows reliable and secure contactless transactions, while respecting the constraints […]

Evolution of MEMS, according to Yole

According to market research firm Yole Developpement, a change is underway in the technology options for MEMS sensors. The market for MEMS devices based on 3D packaging, new materials and sensing principles will grow from […]

Magnetic sense for humans

Scientists from Germany and Japan have developed a magnetic sensor that is thin, robust and pliable enough to be smoothly adapted even to the most flexible part of the human palm. The development could allow […]

Atmel Touch screens for industrial tools

Atmel is manufacturing a new generation of capacitive touch controls “maXTouch U” designed for industrial environments. Smart tools for designers no longer have to worry about the touch controls and display performance during the design […]

Infineon Introduces OptiMOS a New Generation of Power MOSFET

Infineon Technologies extends its OptiMOS 5 portfolio with 80V and 100V variants. This latest generation of Power MOSFETs is optimized for high switching frequencies especially used in synchronous rectification applications for telecom and server power […]

NXP Expands its NFC ecosystem to the car

NFC (Near Field Communication) was developed mainly in the context of contactless payments, but the range of potential applications is much broader. The chipmaker NXP decided to open the large field of NFC applications in […]

Simplifying the development of the Internet of Things

Many opportunities are opened to companies of all sizes which are wishing to address the Internet of Things market (IoT). The cost of the sensors has been halved over the past decade, and those related […]

The International CES in Las Vegas wants to help cycling

2014-12-22-volvo-helmetc-web

In developed countries, many people return to cycling either as a sport when going to work or to reduce their transportation budget and avoid time lost in transit. In 2013, globally, 132 millions of bicycles […]

Personal Health Monitoring

The Belgian Research Center in nanoelectronics IMEC and the Holst Centre have developed a kit for monitoring personal health. In this kit, a data acquisition chip equipped with integrated multi-sensors performs the translation of all […]

New sensors based on MEMs

According to the market analysis conducted recently by Yole Developement, technology-based micro-mechanisms electromechanical sensors (or MEMS) is in rapid evolution. The MEMS consist of mechanical microsystems performing sensor functions or activators. They are increasingly used […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Composants & Systèmes Embarqués

HID Global et Infineon Technologies (IFX) améliorent la flexibilité des cartes pour les fabricants d’e-ID / Smart Card

HID Global, expert en solutions d’identité de confiance, collabore avec Infineon Technologies AG pour la fourniture de puces incrustées sur couche ultra-mince en polycarbonate (PC) pour cartes d’identité électroniques (e-ID). Les inserts sont désormais plus […]

Infineon rejoint GSMA, centre de l’expertise en sécurité et en haut débit pour l’industrie mobile

Infineon Technologies AG a rejoint la GSMA, l’association de l’industrie mobile pour dynamiser les communications mobiles de demain. La GSMA réunit près de 800 exploitants de réseaux mobiles dans le monde ainsi que près de […]

Chargeur universel pour équipements portables

L’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) vient d’approuver une norme pour un chargeur universel adapté aux ordinateurs et à tout appareil portable. Cette nouvelle norme devrait conduire à une réduction des gaz à effets de serre […]

Valeo et Gemalto utilisent le smartphone pour sécuriser la clé de voiture

Grâce à Valeo et Gemalto, les conducteurs peuvent désormais utiliser leur smartphone pour verrouiller, déverrouiller et démarrer leur voiture, contrôler les applications et avoir un accès à distance par Bluetooth à des données utiles sur […]

Piratage à travers le smartphone du conducteur

Selon des chercheurs des Universités de New York et George Mason, des vulnérabilités de la norme industrielle MirroLink existent dans les connexions de divertissements IVI établies par les smartphones (in-vehicle infotainment – systèmes embarqués d’infodivertissement) […]

Amélioration du procédé de fabrication Silicium sur isolant (FD-SOI) sur du 12 nm

Après le 22 nm lancé en 2015, le fondeur Globalfoundries se lance dans la fabrication dite FD-SOI en 12 nm de composants, qui seront disponibles dès 2019 pour l’Internet des Objets et la 5G. La […]

Déontologie relative aux dispositifs médicaux portables

L’entrée de l’électronique portable dans le domaine médical pose différents problèmes et remet en cause les normes traditionnelles. Le téléphone mobile est aujourd’hui beaucoup plus répandu qu’autrefois et sa puissance de traitement informatique en fait […]

AMS vend ses lecteurs en NFC et RFID à ST

L’industriel autrichien AMS a étendu récemment sa position de fabricant de capteurs grâce à l’achat des capteurs de Cambridge (CCMOSS) et MAZeT. Maintenant, tout en conservant certains produits sans fil et IP pour la prochaine […]

Les objectifs des industriels en IdO pour l’automobile

Deux facteurs sont à prendre en compte pour l’Internet de l’automobile et de l’Internet des objets (IdO) : un faible encombrement et une faible consommation d’énergie des composants. Pour le marché de l’automobile de demain, le […]

Vers une cybernétique européenne sécurisée

Créé par NXP et par diverses entreprises et institutions, l’ECSO (Organisation européenne de cybersécurité) est un organisme sans but lucratif qui vise à développer un marché de la sécurité paneuropéenne dans des nouveaux domaines d’application, […]

Accord ST, Qualcomm pour les capteurs de smartphone

STMicroelectronics NV et Qualcomm Technologies Inc. vont collaborer en vue de la fourniture de sous-systèmes de capteurs pour les équipements mobiles intelligents, tels que les smartphones. Le but visé consiste à associer à la fois […]

Composant pour la sécurité de l’Internet des objets

STMicroelectronics commercialise un composant de sécurité conçu pour protéger les appareils connectés à l’Internet des objets (IoT) aux niveaux industriel et grand public. L’objectif de ce composant consiste à empêcher les hackers de procéder à […]

Petits circuits électroniques pour l’IdO de santé

L’Université de Wisconsin-Madison a développé des circuits intégrés associables à l’épiderme du corps humain dans le cadre de l’Internet des Objets du monde médical. Leurs travaux s’appuient sur les ressources de la technologie radio 5G. […]

Applications intelligentes à base de supercondensateurs en SWCNT

Des chercheurs de l’Université Aalto (Finlande) et de l’Institut Skolkovo des sciences et de la technologie (Russie) ont mis en évidence les propriétés remarquables des condensateurs électrochimiques à double couche (EDLC) reposant sur des films […]

Semiconducteurs et applications de sécurité

L’évolution de la technologie des composants conduit les capitaines d’industrie à concevoir des composants adaptés à la gestion des systèmes ou des applications informatiques. Ainsi, l’intelligence artificielle nécessitera désormais des composants conçus pour cette activité […]

Evolution de la technologie des véhicules et ses conséquences

La technologie de prévention des collisions et le logiciel d’assistance à la conduite (ADAS, advanced driver assistance systems) vont changer profondément nos vies. Le processus LIDAR (Light Detection And Ranging) est une technologie d’arpentage qui […]

Incertitudes sur l’industrie des MEMS

En mars dernier, le Congrès des industriels spécialisés en MEMS & Sensors s’est tenu à Munich. Il s’est penché sur la problématique de la production des MEMS (capteurs microélectromécaniques) dans les dix années à venir. […]

Un smartphone à imagerie thermique

Bullitt Group, expert en fabrication de smartphones renforcé, intégrera la microcaméra Lepton de FLIR au nouveau Cat S60. Ce terminal mobile sous Android, appartient à la gamme des terminaux robustes de Cat Phones. Le Cat […]

La nouvelle génération de processeurs Intel Core vPro met l’accent sur la sécurité

Intel annonce la disponibilité de la famille de processeurs Intel Core vPro de sixième génération conçue pour les nouveaux environnements professionnels. Elle a été conçu pour une productivité maximale avec une performance jusqu’à 2,5 fois […]

Du danger des voitures connectées

Une action judiciaire en recours collectif actuellement en cours met en cause les industriels Toyota, Ford et General Motors qui auraient sciemment mis les consommateurs en danger en commercialisant des voitures connectés dont les fonctionnalités […]

Sécuriser les transactions mobiles par liaison NFC

Les sociétés ams et STMicroelectronics ont conçu un système qui associe la technologie NFC d’ams au contrôleur NFC à l’élément sécurisé de ST. Ce jumelage permet des transactions sans contact fiables et sécurisées, tout en […]

Evolution des MEMS, selon Yole

Selon le cabinet d’analyse de marchés Yole Developpement, un changement est en cours au sein des options technologiques relatives aux capteurs MEMS. Le marché des dispositifs MEMS reposant sur les boîtiers 3D, de nouveaux matériaux […]

Des lignes magnétiques au creux de la main

Des scientifiques allemands et japonais ont développé un capteur magnétique mince, robuste et suffisamment souple pour être implanté dans la partie la plus flexible de la paume de la main. Ce développement pourrait permettre de […]

Ecrans tactiles pour outils industriels chez Atmel

Atmel commercialise une nouvelle génération de commandes tactiles capacitives « maXTouch U » conçues pour les milieux industriels. Les concepteurs d’outils intelligents n’auront plus à se soucier des commandes tactiles et des performances d’écran d’affichage à l’occasion […]

De nouveaux MOSFET OptiMOS chez Infineon

Infineon Technologies étend la gamme de ses MOSFET de puissance OptiMOS 5 en 80 V et 100 V. Cette dernière génération de MOSFET de puissance est optimisée pour des fréquences de commutation élevées et dédiées […]

NXP étend son écosystème NFC à la voiture

La technologie NFC (Near Field Communication) a été surtout développée dans le cadre des paiements sans contact, mais la gamme d’applications potentielles est beaucoup plus large. Le fabricant de puces NXP a décidé d’ouvrir le […]

Vers un simplification du développement de l’Internet des objets

De nombreuses possibilités s’ouvrent aux entreprises de toute taille qui souhaitent aborder le marché de l’Internet des Objets (IdO). Le coût des capteurs a été réduit de moitié au cours de la dernière décennie, et […]

Le Salon International CES de Las Vegas s’intéresse aux cyclistes

2014-12-22-volvo-helmetc-web

Dans les pays développés, beaucoup de gens reviennent au cyclisme soit pour faire du sport en allant au travail, soit pour réduire leur budget de transport et éviter le temps perdu dans les transports en […]

Surveillance de la santé personnelle

Le centre belge de recherche en nanoélectronique IMEC et le Centre Holst ont développé un kit pour la surveillance de la santé personnelle. Dans ce kit, une puce d’acquisition de données équipée de multi-capteurs intégrés […]

Nouveaux capteurs à base de MEMs

Selon l’analyse de marché effectuée récemment par Yole Developement, la technologie des capteurs à base de micromécanismes électromécaniques (ou MEMs) est en cours d’évolution rapide. Les MEMs sont constitués de microsystèmes mécaniques effectuant des fonctions […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -