Standards

Ofcom publishes the 5G Beginner’s Guide

Mobile phones have taken an important role in everyday life. This is why the UK Ofcom has decided to publish the booklet “5G Spectrum Update in the UK”. Ofcom plays a leading role internationally in […]

Infineon joins GSMA: security and broadband expertise for mobile industry

Infineon Technologies AG has joined the GSMA, the association of the mobile industry to actively shape mobile communications of tomorrow. The GSMA unites nearly 800 mobile network operators worldwide with almost 300 companies in the […]

The Zigbee Alliance speaks to Objects in “dotdot” language

The industrial companies of the Internet of Things market and members of the Zigbee Alliance have agreed on the use of the Dotdot communication protocol to make it an universal language usable by all, through […]

About the risk of 5G fragmentation prior to deployment

It is recalled that the fragmentation of 4G has opened several difficulties. Different specifications and implementation models have increased costs to meet individual market demands. This has complicated and slowed the progression of 4G. As […]

About the recent Bluetooth 5 standard

The Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) has officially adopted Bluetooth 5 as the latest version of the Bluetooth core specification. Key updates to Bluetooth 5 include longer range, faster speed, and larger broadcast message capacity, […]

IoT Official and Proprietary Standards

Driven by dynamic and ambitious industrialists, Internet of Things technology with low consumption and long radio range (LPWA) has recently been the subject of successive announcements. The GSMA has approved, with the 3GPP, standardization of […]

Fraud and insecurity in mobile communications

The specialized Working Group on Fraud and insecurity of the GSM Association (FASG) was created to study the problems related to technology GSM networks, with the objective of increasing the level of protection. FASG provides […]

Be Carefull: Bluetooth 5 arrives !

The Bluetooth SIG (Special Interest Group) has announced that its next release, coming late 2016 to early 2017, will be called Bluetooth 5. It will quadruple range, double speed (4 Mbps), and increase data broadcasting […]

PCI facing online fraud

ECPA (European Association for the payment card *) has partnered with the international organization that sets card safety standards. The European Association of payment networks will contribute its expertise on smart card domaine. ECPA is […]

Digital identity card relies on the use of standards

Each year, million of identity thefts are made on the web with detrimental consequences for people who have been targeted. According to a recent SafeNet study, identity theft is in first line in the ranking […]

Standardization of Internet of Things interconnection

“oneM2M” is the global standards initiative that covers requirements, architecture, API specifications, security solutions and interoperability for Machine-to-Machine and IoT technologies. oneM2M was formed in 2012 and consists of eight of the world’s preeminent standards […]

Connecting M2M To The Car

The mobile operators Association, the GSMA, has announced that automobile manufacturers have adopted the specifications for embedded SIM cards. Over a twenty automotive manufacturers, including General Motors, Jaguar Land Rover, Renault Nissan, Volvo and Scania […]

Two new IoT recommandations in the ITU-T domaine

The telecoms industry is built on globally accepted and recognised standards, to be without them are unthinkable. So its little surprise that the Wild West of the Internet of Things (IoT) is about to get […]

The HTTP protocol is not suitable for IoT

HTTP belongs to the old Internet. The world of the Internet of Things (IoT) is for small devices that require only very small interactions and consume very little power. An HTTP request uses complex headers […]

The IoT looking for an universal OS

According to Idate, the world of the Internet of Things (IoT) is expected to grow annually by 40% on average until 2020. In order to develop the IoT should have a universal operating system (OS). […]

Standardization of the Internet of Things

The Internet of Things (IoT), for its prospects, mobilizes the large industries that have agreed to standardize this area. According to the New York Times, IBM, Intel, Cisco, General Electric and AT & T network […]

ETSI issues new specification for M2M modules

ETSI’s Industry Specification Group for Surface Mount Technique has released its Group Specification for Embedded Communication Modules for Machine to Machine Communications (M2).  ETSI’s specification for embedded communication modules, “GS SMT 001”, provides common physical specifications […]

Bluetooth 4.2 targets IoT

Bluetooth 4.2 boasts improved privacy, higher speed, and a profile that has just been approved, enabling IP connectivity. Bluetooth 4.2 is all about continuing to make Bluetooth Smart the best solution to connect all the […]

In Nigeria, the ID card will improve security

Nigeria is to launched the pilot phase of the national identity card (13 million cards are planned). Proposed with the help of MasterCard, the electronic identity card will be identifying Nigerian citizens, just like it […]

ITU Workshop on ICT Security Standardization Challenges for Developing Countries

From 15 to 16 September 2014, a Workshop was held in Geneva on the topic of ICT security on the Internet. The objective of this symposium, organized by the Telecom International Union, was to present […]

Cyber security in Africa

The Observatory on Information Systems, Networks and Information Highways in Senegal (OSIRIS) is publishing an update very regularly on events affecting the information technology and communication in Senegal and Africa. On active standby, OSIRIS which […]

Normative rivalry between Bluetooth and Thread

The Internet of Things has opened up a debate between two systems of radio communications at low power Bluetooth Smart (specially designed for IoT) and a new Zigbee low power protocol (also called Thread). The […]

WiGig, a complement to Wi-Fi?

The WiGig sytem for “Gigabit Wireless”, is a local wireless communication system of Wi-Fi type developed by the Israeli company Wilocity. The project which was launched in 2009 by the Wireless Gigabit Alliance and submitted […]

Huawei and the M2M technology

Communication technology from machine to machine (M2M) is related to ICT applications in different sectors where industry is combined with data processing. ICT used to associate real-time measurements and control in order to achieve various […]

Finally, a real security online!

The partnership created between Ultra Electronics AEP and OpenTrust allows them to offer Trust Open Client security application. This application meets the criteria of FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standard) 140-2 Level 4 standard and thus […]

ITU and short range radiocommunications

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is considering holding a meeting in early June to achieve harmonization of the use of short range devices (SRD) and those of the ultra wideband (UWB). The objective is to […]

OpenSSL Software Vulnerability

This Internet spoil our lives. It is a toy for teenagers that is rich in errors and IT weaknesses. The proof is still made today with the weakness of OpenSSL, computer process called “high security”, […]

M2M Standards

Present in many areas, M2M technology is the subject of intense activity in several standardization’s entities. The dynamic enthusiasm shown by the industry towards this future technology explains that these standardization activities are not only […]

European Standards for Cybersecurity prepared by ETSI

ETSI, the leading ICT standards organization, has opened a new technical committee on Cybersecurity to address the growing demands for standards in this field. Today the Internet has become a critical infrastructure for a population […]

The IoT is interested in the Health Sector

The IEEE Standards Association and MEMS Industry Group trade association have signed a memorandum of understanding to establish a Working Group to develop standards for e-health and the Internet of things (IoT). Previous collaboration between […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -

Normalisation/Standards

Ofcom publie le guide du débutant en 5G

Les téléphones mobiles ont pris un rôle important dans la vie quotidienne. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’Ofcom britannique a jugé opportun  de publier le guide «Mise à jour relative au spectre 5G au Royaume-Uni». […]

Infineon rejoint GSMA, centre de l’expertise en sécurité et en haut débit pour l’industrie mobile

Infineon Technologies AG a rejoint la GSMA, l’association de l’industrie mobile pour dynamiser les communications mobiles de demain. La GSMA réunit près de 800 exploitants de réseaux mobiles dans le monde ainsi que près de […]

L’alliance Zigbee parle aux objets en langage « dotdot »

Les industriels du marché de l’Internet des Objets et membres de l’alliance Zigbee se sont accordés sur l’emploi du protocole de communication Dotdot pour en faire un langage universel utilisable par tous, à travers le […]

A propos du risque de fragmentation de la 5G avant son déploiement

On se souvient que la fragmentation de la 4G a ouvert plusieurs difficultés. Des spécifications et des modèles de réalisation différents ont augmenté les coûts afin de répondre aux demandes des marchés individuels. Ceci a […]

A propos de la récente norme Bluetooth 5

Le groupe de travail Bluetooth (SIG) a officiellement adopté le noyau de la dernière version de la spécification Bluetooth 5. Cette mise à jour attribue au système une portée plus étendue, une vitesse plus rapide, […]

Normes officielles et normes propriétaires pour l’IoT

Poussée par des industriels dynamiques et ambitieux, la technologie de l’Internet des Objets à basse consommation et à longue portée radioélectrique (LPWA) a fait récemment l’objet d’annonces successives. La GSMA vient d’approuver, ainsi que le […]

La fraude et l’insécurité au sein des communications mobiles

Le Groupe de travail spécialisé sur la Fraude et l’insécurité de l’Association GSM (FASG) a été créé pour étudier ces problèmes liés à la technologie des réseaux GSM, avec l’objectif d’accroître le niveau de protection. […]

Attention, Bluetooth 5 arrive !

Le Groupe d’intérêt industriel Bluetooth SIG (Special Interest Group) fait savoir que sa prochaine version, appelée Bluetooth 5, sera commercialisée fin 2016 ou début 2017. La gamme de fréquences de Bluetooth 5 sera quadruplée, le […]

La norme PCI face à la fraude en ligne

L’ECPA (Association européenne pour la carte de paiement *) a noué un partenariat avec l’organisation internationale qui définit les normes de sécurité. L’association européenne des réseaux de paiement y apportera son expertise en matière de […]

Les normes au secours de la carte d’identité numérique

Chaque année, plusieurs millions de vols d’identités sont réalisés sur le web avec des conséquences préjudiciables pour les personnes qui ont été ciblées. Ainsi, selon une récente étude de SafeNet, le vol d’identité arrive en […]

Normalisation de l’interconnexion de l’Internet des Objets

L’entité appelée « oneM2M » est un groupe de travail constitué en 2012 sur le thème de l’IdO par plusieurs ensembles de normalisation régionales, dont l’ARIB (Japon), l’ATIS (Amérique du Nord), le CCLAT (Chine), ETSI (Europe), TIA […]

Le M2M se connecte à l’automobile

L’association des opérateurs mobiles, la GSMA, vient d’annoncer que des constructeurs automobiles ont adopté les spécifications relatives aux cartes SIM embarquées. Plus d’un vingtaine d’industriels de l’automobile, dont General Motors, Jaguar Land Rover, Renault Nissan, […]

Deux nouvelles normes sur l’IoT à l’UIT-T

Les normes de l’industrie des télécommunications sont édifiées sur des bases communes, acceptées et reconnues sur le plan mondial. La Commission d’étude 20 (SG20) de l’UIT-T s’est réunie la semaine dernière à Singapour pour étudier […]

Le protocole HTTP n’est pas adapté à l’IdO

Le protocole HTTP appartient à l’ancien Internet. Le monde de l’Internet des Objets (IdO) concerne des petits dispositifs qui ne nécessitent que de très faibles interactions et consomment très peu d’énergie. Une requête HTTP utilise […]

L’IdO en quête d’un OS universel

Selon l’Idate, le monde de l’Internet des Objets (IdO) devrait connaître une croissance annuelle de 40% en moyenne jusqu’en 2020. Pour se développer l’IdO devrait se doter d’un système d’exploitation universel (OS). Le système d’exploitation […]

Normalisation de l’Internet des Objets

L’Internet des Objets (IdO), par ses perspectives, mobilise les grands de l’industrie qui s’allient en vue de normaliser ce domaine. Selon le New York Times, IBM, Intel, Cisco, General Electric et l’exploitant de réseau AT&T, […]

Normalisation du M2M par l’ETSI

L’ETSI vient de publier une nouvelle spécification relative aux modules intégrés pour les communications de Machine à Machine (M2M). Ces spécifications pour modules de communication intégrés, référencées GS SMT 001, fournissent une description des aspects […]

Bluetooth 4.2 vise l’Internet des Objets

La norme Bluetooth 4.2 bénéficie de nombreux avantages. Elle permet une meilleure protection des données  personnelles et une vitesse plus élevée, et elle présente un profil permettant la connectivité IP. Bluetooth 4.2 constitue la meilleure […]

Au Nigeria, la carte d’identité améliorera la sécurité

Le Nigéria se prépare à la réalisation à la phase pilote du projet de carte d’identité nationale (13 millions de cartes sont prévues). La carte d’identité électronique proposée avec l’aide de MasterCard, permettra dès cette […]

La sécurité des TIC considérée par les pays en développement (Atelier UIT)

Du 15 au 16 septembre 2014, a eu lieu à Genève un Colloque sur la sécurité des TIC mise en place sur l’Internet. L’objectif de ce Colloque de l’Union Internationale des Télécommunications était de présenter […]

La cybersécurité en Afrique

L’Observatoire sur les Systèmes d’Information, les Réseaux et les Inforoutes au Sénégal (OSIRIS) fait le point très régulièrement sur les évènements touchant les technologies de l’information et de la communication au Sénégal et en Afrique. […]

Rivalités normatives entre Bluetooth et Thread

L’Internet des objets a ouvert un débat entre deux systèmes de communications radioélectriques à faible puissance, Bluetooth Smart (spécialement étudié pour l’IdO) et Zigbee à faible puissance (aussi appelé Thread). Le Groupe d’intérêt économique pour […]

WiGig, un complément au Wi-Fi ?

Le sytème WiGig, pour « Wireless Gigabit », est un système local de communication radioélectrique du type Wi-Fi développé par la société israélienne Wilocity. Le projet qui a été lancé en 2009 par la Wireless […]

Huawei et la technologie M2M

La technologie de communication de machine à machine (M2M) est liée aux applications des TIC dans les différents secteurs où l’industrie se combine avec l’informatique. Les TIC permettent d’associer des mesures en temps réel et […]

Enfin, une réelle sécurité en ligne !

Le partenariat créé entre Ultra Electronics AEP et OpenTrust permet d’offrir l’application de sécurité Open Trust à la clientèle. Cette application répond aux critères de la norme FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standard) 140‐2 Level 4 […]

L’UIT et les radiocommunications à courte portée

L’Union Internationale des Télécommunications (UIT) envisage la tenue d’une réunion au début du mois de juin prochain afin de parvenir à harmoniser les usages des dispositifs à courte portée (SRD, short range devices) et de […]

Vulnérabilité logicielle d’OpenSSL

Cet Internet nous gâche la vie. C’est un jouet pour adolescents qui est riche en erreurs et en faiblesses informatiques. La preuve en est encore apportée aujourd’hui avec la faiblesse d’OpenSSL, procédure informatique dite de […]

Les normes du M2M

Présente dans de nombreux domaines, la technologie M2M fait l’objet d’une intense activité au sein des cercles de normalisation. L’enthousiasme dynamique dont témoigne l’industrie à l’égard de cette technologie d’avenir explique que ces travaux de […]

Des normes européennes pour la cybersécurité rédigées par l’ETSI

L’ETSI, le principal organisme de normalisation des TIC, vient de créer un nouveau comité technique sur la cybersécurité afin de répondre aux exigences croissantes en matière de normes dans ce domaine. Aujourd’hui, l’Internet est devenu […]

L’IdO s’intéresse au secteur de la santé

L’IEEE Association et l’Association de commercialisation des MEMS ont signé un accord pour la création d’un groupe de travail commun chargé d’élaborer des normes sur le thème de l’e-santé et de l’Internet des objets (IdO). […]

Articles précédents

© 2015 Strategies Telecoms & Multimedia | Contact |  -